We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No warm welcome here”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #13 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We were delighted to find that this hotel was right beside where the bus stops, but disappointed that the first thing that the lady at reception said, that we were to pay the bill straight away. This is really more of a hostel than a hotel.It is o'k for the price but has really nothing going for it.Wifi in the lobby was really good at times & non existing at others. The shower would freeze or roast you at different times. The location is very good & the hammocks iin the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 18Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2015

I recently (12 May 2015) had the pleasure of spending one night in this very comfortable hotel. My room was small but comfortable with excellent A/C and plenty of hot water. The lobby area has several hammocks for guests to relax in. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful about finding/booking tours and excursions to the Galapagos Islands. Based on the other guests, the hotel seemed very accommodating to backpackers. The Hotel is convenient to restaurants and to the port. If requested, the hotel will make arrangements to pick you up at and/or take you to the airport on Baltra. Just a caution that while wifi/internet is available, it can be very slow. That is not the hotel's fault. If you want a convenient, comfortable, inexpensive place to stay on Santa Cruz Island, I fully recommend Hotel Espana!

Room Tip: Free WiFi is available but I could not connect from my room. I was able to connect in the lobby/mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is clean, quiet and has spacious single rooms with shower/toilet and air conditioning. The staff is helpful but not all speak English so try it with Spanish!
Wi-Fi is a pain (extremely slow) and only available in the lobby near the reception.
Breakfast is okay though the only thing that varies is the freshly prepared fruit juice (yummie) every morning. It is also available early 07:00 (usually even a tad earlier) so one can eat before diving for instance.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank RoeschuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Great aircon, clean rooms, Internet didn't work though as the owner was always playing youtube for her kids who were in reception. She was quite unhelpful about it. Good location and reasonably priced though

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Good option in Puerto Ayora if you are looking for a clean and large with air conditioning ( a relief in Santa Cruz hot weather ). I checked some hotels and the price is ok for the island average. The hotels is central located,about 10 minutes walk from the pier, but the town is relative small anyway.

Room Tip: The upper floors have newer rooms but there are no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cybersource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

They charged us 150$ for 2 nights. The TV didn't work. No Wifi inside the rooms, just in the lobby. After the first night when we got to the Hotel and went inside the shower there was NO WATER!!! so I had to get dressed up again and went downstairs to complaint they simply exhaled and said "we're working on it". Besides that the smell of the rooms was unstandable. The sad true it's the worst hotel I have been ever

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015 via mobile

Seems to be a pretty basic accommodation. On the main land I would not pay more then 30 for a such room. Single bed, no shower gel ;( air con too noisy, curtains does not block light. Breakfast is not included;( signs on the door, if you piss mattress, if you soul towels... You'll have to pay. Pretty depressing.

Stayed: February 2015
Thank alexseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
100 reviews
0.4 km away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#14 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
376 reviews
0.9 km away
La  Mirada Del Solitario George
La Mirada Del Solitario George
#2 of 50 in Puerto Ayora
74 reviews
0.7 km away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#6 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga | Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $36 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing