We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
60
131
95
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
131
95
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbudget hoteldouble roompoor wificlean roomssanta cruzone night stayper nightfree drinking waterstayed here for nightsplace to stayyour luggagedarwin centertortuga bayhammockstvpuerto
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 325 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

Great value for money, clean, comfortable beds, air con in all rooms, consistent hot water, friendly staff, nice communal hang out area with hammocks and sofas.
We got one of their smaller double rooms for $30 a night and it was perfect for us. The staff were friendly and even advised us on where to visit while we were on Santa Cruz, providing a map and drawing on all the points of interest that were missing from our existing plan.
There is no kitchen you can use and breakfast isn't included so just pick up some fruit or a pastry and a coffee from the supermarket next door on your way to your activity for the day.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, siempre buscamos que nuestros huéspedes tengan la mejor experiencia durante su estadía con nosotros.

Nos alegramos saber que ha disfrutado de una experiencia inolvidable en Galápagos y queremos contar con una próxima visita de su parte.

Saludos Cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015

I stayed here several times. Good location, day-time reception staff friendly and helpful, single rooms with decent attached bathrooms, hot water, powerful shower, toiletries and towels refreshed every day, cable tv with English speaking channels. Wifi only in reception area and unreliable but this was the same across the island. Only issue is that I had a problem with the night staff. At 10.30pm one night there was a party in the adjoining hotel right above my bedroom and i really needed to get sleep for a diving course the next day. I asked to be moved but was told that it wasn't the hotel's problem as the noise was coming from else where. I could have another room if I paid for it (another $25) and the guy didn't have the phone number to let me speak to someone in charge. After a 20 minute stand off, he decided he did have the number of someone with the authority to let me move rooms without an additional charge. It is a shame as this tinted my overall impression of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards front of the hotel not on the top floor - less rooms on this corridor so less noise from people coming and going.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2015

We were delighted to find that this hotel was right beside where the bus stops, but disappointed that the first thing that the lady at reception said, that we were to pay the bill straight away. This is really more of a hostel than a hotel.It is o'k for the price but has really nothing going for it.Wifi in the lobby was really good at times & non existing at others. The shower would freeze or roast you at different times. The location is very good & the hammocks iin the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 18Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015

I recently (12 May 2015) had the pleasure of spending one night in this very comfortable hotel. My room was small but comfortable with excellent A/C and plenty of hot water. The lobby area has several hammocks for guests to relax in. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful about finding/booking tours and excursions to the Galapagos Islands. Based on the other guests, the hotel seemed very accommodating to backpackers. The Hotel is convenient to restaurants and to the port. If requested, the hotel will make arrangements to pick you up at and/or take you to the airport on Baltra. Just a caution that while wifi/internet is available, it can be very slow. That is not the hotel's fault. If you want a convenient, comfortable, inexpensive place to stay on Santa Cruz Island, I fully recommend Hotel Espana!

Room Tip: Free WiFi is available but I could not connect from my room. I was able to connect in the lobby/main area, but the internet was slow.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is clean, quiet and has spacious single rooms with shower/toilet and air conditioning. The staff is helpful but not all speak English so try it with Spanish!
Wi-Fi is a pain (extremely slow) and only available in the lobby near the reception.
Breakfast is okay though the only thing that varies is the freshly prepared fruit juice (yummie) every morning. It is also available early 07:00 (usually even a tad earlier) so one can eat before diving for instance.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank RoeschuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews