We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #14 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. Small family-owned hotel, just a few blocks from the waterfront and restaurants. Attractive lobby with plenty of seating and decent WiFi. Clean and comfortable rooms with good air-conditioning. Breakfast was $5 per person and it was delicious and plentiful, with organic orange juice and bananas from the owner's farm in the highlands of Santa Cruz Island. You can get plenty of cold bottled water at the little store two doors from the hotel. To the left and then to the right around the corner is Lava Flash, where you can get excellent laundry service at a reasonable price.

The desk staff is courteous and speaks some English but could use a little customer service training. We were put on the second floor and going up the steep old stairs was a challenge for someone 50+. We had met Sra. Aguirre the owner and when she realized where we were she changed our room immediately with apologies to us and strong words to the clerk on the policy of putting older guests on lower floors. If you have a problem you can't get resolved she is usually downstairs in the mornings in the dining area with her daughter and grandchildren. Her English is limited but her daughter does speak some. All in all it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the lowest floor if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanbaldwin1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016

A nice, inexpensive hotel. No negatives. Large, clean, quiet rooms with comfy beds. Friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location two blocks from the main pier. Most restaurants and shops less than five minutes walk. Plenty of hot water. Good AC in rooms. Inviting lobby area with painfully slow internet (an island wide problem, not so much the hotels).

Room Tip: Request a lower floor. There are six and no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel had a good price, clean and well maintained. It has AC, tv cable . They change towels everyday. Good location. Warm watter, good wifi signal in lobby. American Breakfast is 5 usd per person.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Comfy bed, good A/C, hot water (though some people didn't have any), decent breakfast, good location just one block from the malecon and several restaurants - all on the plus side. On the down side, a tough haul up 4 flights of stairs with my bags, bright lights outside the room all night unless I turned them off, WiFi only in the common area, and even then not a good connection, and at least one staff member could use some customer focus training (she didn't believe me when I asked for toilet paper since there was none in the room, and later, only somewhat reluctantly agreed that in fact my reservation did include breakfast)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrisandpeterCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

I chose this hotel as it wasn't as expensive as a few others were and we stayed here on two occasions during our time in the Galapagos (we travelled to Isabela Island in between).

I was satisfied with my stay at this hotel, the rooms were clean and had air-con, free Wifi was available but only at the reception area, it was conveniently located in the town centre close to just about everything you need, and there is a store just 2 doors up from the hotel where you can buy your bottles of water from. Breakfast is also available at the hotel but for a fee of $5USD.

The downsides of this hotel were:-

There are no lifts (elevators) but I didn't expect Galapagos hotels to have any.

The Wifi in the reception area at times had a poor signal.

The reception lounge was crawling with ants.

Otherwise it wasn't such a big deal for me.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazorRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I spent there 4 nights, 2 before my cruise and 2 after. I had trouble with the water in my shower both times. Second time it was fast to fix it but the first time I had to wait about almost 2 hours to have hot water. Instead of get another room, I had to wait.
The internet was working slow in the lounge but was better than other places in Puerto Ayora. There was a nice cat in the lounge, for me was a plus :)
Some staff was very nice, but one was just behaving like it was a sacrifice to her to deal with the clients.
The AC is super loud, impossible to sleep with turned on.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the first floors, There's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatFL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Yes, be aware the back bedrooms are overlooking a building site.
We were woken at 07:00 by an excavator scrapping the area & loading a wagon.
So bad we moved to another hotel.

We also found some of the catering staff to be very unfriendly...... no idea why

It is in a good central location & handy for all the facilities.

We also thought $95 for 2 nights was a touch steep for this type of accommodation. Hot water was intermittent at best, generally cold.







Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guapo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.4 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
320 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#20 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
6.9 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
374 reviews
0.0 km away
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
#3 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
116 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#8 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga and Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing