We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #13 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Great staff, very clean and modern hostel, very close to everything.
Nothing offered in the rooms: no hand or face towels, no toiletries, no hairdryer, no water glasses, no hangers, no lamps, no clock or alarm-clock, really nothing, just two beds, two towels, A/C unit and TV.
Kitchen was remodeled so no breakfast. No real tour ticket counter just inter-island transfer tickets.
Very inexpencive.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy because stone, tile and heavy wood doors. When a door was closed the whole hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelerOana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We stayed here for four nights and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs. The room was clean and comfortable. It was also very affordable. Perfect location as we were able to access almost everything by foot. Check in and check out were also very easy. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a little balcony which was great for drying our clothes after a day at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the room comfortable had a good powerful hot shower. The lobby area has nice chill out area with hammocks. The wifi however was very poor only in lobby and if more then 3 people were on you couldn't connect. The staff were friendly and helpful i only gave 3 stars as its overpriced and thr are better options for a lot cheaper.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed here twice because we like it so much! The first night was New Year's Eve, because the hotel we originally booked was awful beyond words. The Hotel Espana had a double room available, so we grabbed it. We were so pleased to see the room was pretty, and incredibly clean. It looked like it had been recently remodeled. We like it so much that when our tour was over, we went sprinting back to the Hotel Espana for three more days in the Galapagos Islands. This hotel is basic, but it's as attractive, if not more, than the more expensive places on the island. The rooms are extremely clean and have comfortable beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DagneyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Aside from the excellent location, this place offered a cool meetup spot and a helpful staff during the day.

Downsides, the wifi is terrible, the breakfast is a waste, and the night staff is uninformative.

Check it out. You cant beat the price and it sleeps very comfortably.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AdamChong10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

No fuss no frills- but super clean budget hotel which is a good money saver on Galápagos
Rooms are big
We had a double bed and a single in ours when there was only two of us for $40 a night
We just turned up and they had space
Wifi is only in the common area and very slow

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. Small family-owned hotel, just a few blocks from the waterfront and restaurants. Attractive lobby with plenty of seating and decent WiFi. Clean and comfortable rooms with good air-conditioning. Breakfast was $5 per person and it was delicious and plentiful, with organic orange juice and bananas from the owner's farm in the highlands of Santa Cruz Island. You can get plenty of cold bottled water at the little store two doors from the hotel. To the left and then to the right around the corner is Lava Flash, where you can get excellent laundry service at a reasonable price.

The desk staff is courteous and speaks some English but could use a little customer service training. We were put on the second floor and going up the steep old stairs was a challenge for someone 50+. We had met Sra. Aguirre the owner and when she realized where we were she changed our room immediately with apologies to us and strong words to the clerk on the policy of putting older guests on lower floors. If you have a problem you can't get resolved she is usually downstairs in the mornings in the dining area with her daughter and grandchildren. Her English is limited but her daughter does speak some. All in all it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the lowest floor if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanbaldwin1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
100 reviews
0.4 km away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#14 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
376 reviews
0.9 km away
La  Mirada Del Solitario George
La Mirada Del Solitario George
#2 of 50 in Puerto Ayora
74 reviews
0.7 km away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#6 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Tomas de Berlanga | Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $36 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing