We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
180
138
60
27
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
138
60
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darwin center hotel restaurant pretty hotel nice pool ceiling fan courtyard area galapagos islands bars and restaurants comfortable room fish market in town santa cruz swimming pool two nights the charles darwin research the main street air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 432 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2018 via mobile

This is nice hotel on the Main Street, just walking distance from all bars and restaurants and the Darwin Station. Rooms are nice and big, there is a pool and nice garden. The breakfast is good. There is a crepe station that makes amazing crepes.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lucyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Marketing at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed the crepes and food in our restaurant AQUA, as well as that you enyoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will soon return to Galpagos and you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

This hotel stay was included in the tour package from Ecuador Pure Life. Breakfast in the hotel was so-so, but dinner in the adjoining restaurant was very good. At times, it was difficult to find a staff member for assistance; the front desk was sporadically unmanned. The property was nice, if not compact, and my room on the second floor was quaint and clean. Overall, it was a good choice of lodging.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mab_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Marketing at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, your comments help us to continue improving our service and make our guests feel comfortable in the hotel and enjoy their vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Except for the wifi, it was a great place to stay for about 4 days.
The staff was extremely helpful, most specially Maribeth in the reception.
Great location too as it was on the main road where everything was 5 minutes away. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. When I was booked here by a local travel agent and I looked up the reviews, I was wary about staying there specially since we were going to be there for 4 days. The local told me that it is one of the most requested hotels in Puerto Ayora so I agreed. I'm glad I wasn't swayed by the reviews I read as it was a pleasant stay all through out.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the street as it gets noisy at night time. The room I got was sunny and bright though since it faced the road.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChiChi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Marketing at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay at the hotel and that share your experience with us. We hope that in the future you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here from February 27 to March 3rd.
This is old style building. No one at entrance when we got down from taxi. Small reception. No porters. After check-in, one of the receptionists took one piece of luggage to show our room on the first floor. No lifts. Wi-Fi is s..l..o..w. During our stay shower head came off twice; second time injuring my wife's foot. Rooms basic but with good airconditioning. Essential toiletries present. No gimmicky things. No telephone in room. No envelopes noted paper or free drinking water in room. Drinking water available at reception.
But still five stars. Why?
The staff are really amazing. It is not that things went wrong. It is how the staff responded and how quickly. Everyone here multitasks. Receptionists do portering. The handyman who fixed shower also does gardening, cleaning, carries luggage if needed. Breakfast managed by one person. Yvonne who is calm, efficient, superb at looking after guests even when restaurant is full. Really good coffee. Breakfast has good choices with fruits, cereals bread and toaster.
Efficiency built into the whole system which seems to have been tested perfected over time. Anything superfluous is eliminated, everything else perfected. Everthing done to minimise waste. No showmanship, no superficiality.

The rooms are around the spacious courtyard with swimming pool and several plants and sitting places. I enjoyed sitting here and observing flowers and birds that visit. Rooms have skylight so gentle daylight with dawn.

Hotel is on ideal location. Next to it is the Charles Darwin Centre. Other side,short distance, is the fish market. Go there around 4 pm with camera for the best show in town when birds and resident seal entertain you. Also see several large fishes in the sea.
The Aqua restaurant next door is excellent, with amazing choices and tasty food with local dishes. Menu in English Spanish & German. Vegetarians well catered for too.

Remember we are in a world heritage site. There are lots of restrictions to maintain nature without contamination and lot need to come across sea to cater to tourists and people living here.

So, when here, take time to sit in the courtyard and meditate on what is essential and meaningful and what is superfluous in your life. Can you live better, take better care of yourself and the the environment once have walked away?

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kishore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Marketing at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Kishore, reading your comments has filled us with great joy. For us it is very important that our guests are comfortable, and that everyone enjoys their experience in the Galapagos Islands surrounded by nature and that they just feel part of this special destination called the "Enchanted Islands". We appreciate all your comments and we will continue improving our service to offer the best experience to those who visit us.

We also invite you to leave your comments about the AQUA Restaurant in the Trip advisor profile "Aqua Cocina Nativa".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room pretty basic but that was what we expected. Perfectly functional, A/C worked well. Shower fairly good.
The restaurant is an absolute shambles, awful, pathetic, complete lack of service.
First night we tried to go in for dinner, found 2 long tables laid up for 30/40 Japanese customers. We were told we would have to wait until they were finished or eat in the bar or by the pool. As it was hot and steamy we decided to wait. Eventually went into restaurant, had to clear the end of one of the tables ourselves to sit down. Received the menu, only problem was hardly anything was available, no potatoes, no beef, no salad, hardly any chicken(1portion). My 3 course dinner consisted of a bowl of soup. We were told that the supply ship didn’t come in today. We were booked in here (full board) over 3 months ago, it’s not that we were a surprise for them and they did manage to give 3 courses to the Japanese group. The following evening the same set up, 2 long tables occupied by the 30/40 Japanese group ( who, incidentally, were not staying at the hotel), so again we had to wait until they had finished before we could sit down. At least they did have some food although nowhere near the full menu. the final night was exactly the same again, staff only interested in the large group of non resident customers instead of the customers who had already paid.
The breakfast on every morning was disgusting, dirty tables left uncleared. No hot food available, only small pieces of cold meat and small pieces of stale cheese. There was a toaster but the levers on it were broken and two of the four elements didn’t work. There was very little in the way of bread or even butter. Tea was difficult to get and coffee was served cold. On our final morning there were no plates out, it didn’t matter because there was no food either. When I asked the lady where the food was she replied’over’. This at 7.30 when breakfast was supposed to be available until 9.30.
The reception staff were nice, polite and helpful, even agreed that we had been treated shabbily in the restaurant.
Would not send my worst enemy here
Only gets a one star rating because I can’t give it no stars

Room Tip: Avoid the place altogether
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cascboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Marketing at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

We are very sorry that your experience was not the best in our hotel and restaurant. We appreciate all your comments, we will continue improving our service to provide a better experience to those who visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews