We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterrean delight in the Galapagos!”
Review of Hotel Mainao

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mainao
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. We loved the setting, architecture and a very comfortable room.
The night we stayed the TV was not working, otherwise, excellent

Charming!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top, lots of narrow staricases to walk up and we were our own porter, no pas nada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m-ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked a 5 star galapogos cruise and they had arranged for accommodation here the night before they picked us up. The reception was super friendly and our rooms was Very Large. The kids had a separate part of the " suite" and a doop opened to a large common roof balcony with great views. There are no elevators and lots of stairs which was great for us but there was an older quite over weight gentleman that had issues with this. ( they moved him to ground level) the breakfast is included and is home cooked simple and lovely. We had A few hours free un the morning and one of the waiters got a car and took us to the turtle ranch. Wonderful service and people. And much much better than what we had expected. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisetteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

nothing fancy but mainao inn is a clean, friendly, safe place to use as a base for puerto ayora. breakfast included was good, location is convenient and the price was right. rooms were spacious, deck space was great, bathrooms clean but small.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jake-chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Hotel Mainao was very nice. I stayed for four nights. Good location 1 block from the busy oceanfront. The room was very large and comfortable. A/C and hot shower were great. Breakfast was included in the stay and the staff was very helpful. Most spoke only Spanish but there were many others who spoke English also. They were very helpful with organizing day trips, and gave nice tips on what to see in Puerto Ayora. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I was looking for a slightly higher end hotel for our stay on Santa Cruz. This was not it. The hotel is tucked away about 2 blocks from the harbor of Puerto Ayora. It has a curious lay out with guest rooms tucked away here and there. There were 5 of us and we were able to book a room with 3 single beds and a full bed. The sleeping area of the room was spacious. Not especially nice, but it seemed clean. The bathroom was another thing, though. It was so small that it was impossible for 2 people to be in it unless someone was standing in the shower. There was also a sewage smell that came up through the drains. When we needed to hang our bathing suits to dry, there was absolutely no where to do so. There really wasn't even space to hang our bath towels.

The morning breakfasts were very good. The staff was gracious and would always try their best to direct us to our destinations.

The hotel is relatively close to the "downtown" tourist area of Puerto Ayora, so restaurants are easy to find.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyMom_Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

It has a particular architeture: no room is equal to another. We stayed a hole week at room #9, which is fairly spacious and has no close neighbor, meaning tranquility. Aircon is quite silent. Breakfast is always the same: juice, coffee, toasts, jam, butter, one fruit and one scrambled egg. Its has a good location, close to fishermen place, roughly in the middle of the bay-front street. All in all, it is a nice place, but not good value for money, like you can expect from most places in Galapagos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Sited in a small back street, this hotel was a lovely surprise.
Run by the capable and helpful Susie, I recommend it unreservedly.
The hotel has been built with rounded architectural lines and colorful decor and the huge cactus growing through the roof of the entry foyer has to be seen to be believed. No two rooms are the same. It is a very safe site
Breakfast was good and the rooms well maintained. The only minus was that hot water seems to be irregular at times, something that is very common throughout ecuador.
Book directly with the hotel though, as my original contact was through an agent (in Guayacil) and I had no joy there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnConolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
6.6 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
3.8 km away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
12 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainao

Address: Matazarnos and Indefatigable Street | Acacias neighborhood, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $122 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mainao 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINAO HOTEL offers its customers a range of services with a green vision that suit their requirements and needs, giving our guests the best quality experience in the Galapagos Islands.  We present 19 comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water, TV and air conditioning.  As well as 3 comfortable suites with mini fridge, writing desk, chair and a private balcony overlooking the sea. It Includes 1 complimentary wine and soft drinks in the room.  Ability to normal accommodating 54 people and up to 61 guests in multiple accommodation.  bar-lounge with a map of the islands for talks.  Library with free internet.  Wi-Fi in our facilities.  Safety deposit boxes in the rooms.  Luggage Storage.  Reception / 24 hours.  Laundry.  pleasant areas for relaxation in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in harmony with nature.  We support the environment by using biodegradable products We also have a room especially suitable for people with disabilities, it has all the doors; both entry into the room and the bathroom and closet doors that open horizontally sliding for easy access to a person in a wheelchair. So the bathroom has all regulatory measures to facilitate access and provide all the bathroom fixtures and assurances to facilitate the experience for our guests with special needs.  We have all access to social areas and restaurant, it´s arranged for easy wheelchair mobility .  This room is for 2 people and the rate is identical to a standard room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainao Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing