We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Galapagos Native(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Fe(Puerto Ayora)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$315
US$306
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
North Seymour(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mi Caleta Inn(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Galapagos Best Hostel(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
La Fortaleza de Haro(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lava House Hostal(Puerto Ayora)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
45
72
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
72
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetinteresting architecturegreat locationsanta cruzfish markethot waterview of the bayrooms are basichotel staffthe air conditioningfresh fruittop floorwould stay here againgalapagos islandsmosaicsgaudipuerto
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 146 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018

We chose to stay land based (instead of doing a cruise) during our stay in the Galapagos that included many day trips and lots of adventure. We chose to stay at Hotel Mainao during the entirety of our stay and I am glad that we did. For us, it was nice to have somewhere familiar and comfortable to come back to every night (and nap when we needed it!). The hotel itself is extremely cute and creative, the staff was friendly, and they provided a delicious breakfast and water refill station. I highly recommend staying with them during your stay in the Galapagos!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

I stayed at Hotel Mainao December 29th and 30th, 2017. This hotel is run by two sisters who are no nonsense and seamlessly provide you with their Santa Cruz hospitality. The beds are comfortable, the entire hotel is spacious and clean. Elegant and quirky mosaics abound across the entire property. Request a balcony room or the romantic turret space and channel your Galapagos Goddess! Towels provided for the beach and plenty of fresh water to refill one's bottle. Easy two minute walk to the port, restaurants, bars, and jewelry shops. Hearty fresh breakfast included.

Room Tip: The turret room or request a balcony
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

The hotel staff makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Having a room on a higher floor makes all the difference--the view of the bay and sunrise are beautiful. We felt as though the Gaudi influences really made the hotel, and the mosaics were beautiful. The rooms are basic, but who goes to the Galapagos to spend time in the room?! The short stroll to town provides a view into the local lives of Ecuadorians--local bogateras, pets in the street and charm that may be a bit too "local" for some, but we really enjoyed seeing this part of Puerto Ayora.

Room Tip: Higher floors for views.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CRM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

The hotel has the most unique architecture, right out of Dr. Seuss or Gaudi. Everywhere you look are whimsical mosaics and little staircases leading up to great views. Good breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, close enough to the Charles Darwin Ave. with all the shops and restaurants to be handy, but far enough away to avoid the noise of the night spots. They even provided beach towels and unlimited cold purified water.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ana Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2017

From the moment we entered Hotel Mainao we were awestruck by its beauty and charm. Family owned and run, this quaint B&B was super. We had a simple room with a shared balcony area, no TV and no phone and LOVED it. No luxury here, just simple beauty and excellent service. Included breakfast was delicious and plentiful. You can view the sea if you go up high, but not from the ground floor. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank itsadnarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews