We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solymar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Casa de Judy(Puerto Ayora)
US$135
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Galapagos Native(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Castillo Galapagos(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Fe(Puerto Ayora)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mi Caleta Inn(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galapagos Dreams Hostal(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$274
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
236
146
45
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
146
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionspool areafish markethot tubmiddle of townsanta cruzthe hotel staffclamsgalapagos islandsocean viewlounge chairswould recommend this hotel to anyonesmall balconytortuga bayresearch centerincluded breakfastpurified water
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 454 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend! Everything about this stay was amazing.

Great beds, great breakfast, lovely staff, restaurant was really good, etc.

There’s a hot tub, with water views - to conserve energy just let them know 20 minutes before you need it and they will heat it up.

Used laundry service, it was prompt and reasonably priced.

Centrally located but quiet at the same time.

Loved the water dispensers around the property. Makes filling up your personal water bottle easy and saves giving out little small bottles.

Could not have been any better of a stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Solymar while we explored The Galapagos Islands on a Friendly Planet Tour. Friendly Planet did not disappoint with this hotel. We stayed in room # 107, it has a blocked view but was still a very nice room. The view is of the breakfast area, for this reason we kept our curtains closed for privacy. There is a nice little terrace with chairs an a table. The staff was really friendly and welcoming. I want to especially mention Evelyn at the front desk, she was awesome! FYI the front desk closes at a certain point, just keep that in mind for any late night questions. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the dock, convenient stores, restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. All of the souvenir shops sell mostly the same merchandise, so we would recommend asking for prices and seeing where is cheapest. I did like the Free Trade store a couple doors down and a few doors down from that is a little market type area. We liked the plastic water bottles and the fresh purified water jug the hotel provided to decrease plastic waste. The included breakfast had a nice buffet style assortment. The pool and the hot tub had a nice view of the marina where you could see sea lions, pelicans, iguanas, and crabs. The pool area is a nice place to have coffee early in the morning while watching the sunrise. The funnest part of the hotel was Wendy, the resident sea lion named by the hotel staff. She visits the hotel grounds daily. We had fun watching her scoot around the pool area, sniff the tables and chairs, and lay on the benches and in the lounge chairs to nap. She also liked to take a dip in the pool to cool off. She even kicked one of my fellow travelers out of his lounger because, of course, it was her lounger first...lol The WiFi connection is not great, but it didn't really matter because we were in The Galapagos ;) It was probably the concrete walls but when I sat in the pool area or in the lobby the connection was fine. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Solymar while we explored Santa Cruz Island. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to convenient stores, restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. All of the souvenir shops sell the same merchandise, so we would recommend asking for prices and seeing where is cheapest. We liked the plastic water bottles and the fresh purified water jug the hotel provided to decrease plastic waste. The included breakfast was good and consisted of scrambled and hard boiled eggs, a variety of meats, cheeses, breads, and fruits, fruit juices, overnight oats, cereal, and cake. The pool and the hot tub had a nice view of the marina where you could see sea lions, pelicans, iguanas, and crabs. The best part of the hotel was Wendy, a local sea lion named by the hotel staff, who visits the hotel grounds in the morning. We had fun watching her scoot around the restaurant and bar area, sniff the tables and chairs, lay in the sun chairs by the pool, and nap. The wifi connection is not great, but we were not in the Galapagos for wifi service. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Cruz.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank NeedsAVacation26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018 via mobile

Rooms were comfortable but therestaurant was very basic, and breakfast was disappointing. However, we did get to share the pool with a sea lion and a heron, and the terrace bar with marine iguanas. Staff were very friendly too.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The staff here were quite pleasant and made us feel very welcome. The location was good and allowed us to walk to dinner and shopping. The local fish market is nearby and an interesting place to visit. The room was clean and good-sized with a king bed. We had a small balcony which overlooked the pool and marina. It provides a lovely view. We were really entertained by a sea lion which swam (alone) in the pool and sunned itself on a lounge chair. The buffet breakfast was very good. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. We had some clothing laundered here and they were prompt and inexpensive. Overall, we were very happy with Solamar and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rtvanness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews