We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING”

Abu Simbel Temple Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
US$103.00*
and up
Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Abu Simbel from Aswan
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour to Abu Simbel Temples from Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
north wales
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“STUNNING”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

W e were staying in Aswan at the Pyramisa Isis Island Hotel so we decided to fly down to Abu Simbel not go by coach as it was at least 3 1/2 to 4 hour journey, we were so pleased we did, it was a lovely short flight, just 30 minutes long on a quite comfortable Egyptair plane with plenty of leg room (take note Thomas Cook). the guides are very knowledgeable and as we all (3 of us) walked down the hill towards Lake Nasser, we turned the corner....and there it was. STUNNING. It was huge, it just took y0ur breath away.
As I said, the guides are very knowledgeable and told you all about what you would see inside the temples as they are not allowed to go inside and no one is allowed to take any photos inside either, a few people did take photos and immediately some one told them to delete them.
There are two temples. the big one to Ramses and the smaller one to his wife Nefertari.
It is unbelievable that these huge monuments have been moved otherwise they would have been under Lake Nasser.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie21NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,087
    217
    33
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wow worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

absolutly fantastic,I believe it is now one of the seven wonders of the world,itis on the edge of Lake Nasser,the story about it is very interesting,it was moved in the 60s to where it is now

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Awe~inspiring”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We arrived to the site via private convoy amongst aprox 50 other buses & cars. From our hotel at the Pyramisis Isis in Aswan, it took us aprox 3 hrs, throught the desert at 3am.
We we arrived and started to make our way to the site we watched the sun rise over lake Nasser.
It was chilly this time of year & so we had our sweaters on.
The site is very impressing, and the statues are so huge, the carving immaculent inside, and in the back room, sat the gods, that as the sun rises at certain of year, casts upon them.
The engineering feat to remove these massive statues and rooms in the 70's to where they are now located,from below where lake Nasser now is, is almost impossible to imagine.

I highly recommend this site to everyone who has a true fascination in ancient history, like I do!

TIP: Bring your own toliet paper as, the people at the bathrooms are very aggressive in making you purchase paper. I fought them off as I brought my own, they were not very happy with me.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank barjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“You have to see it to believe it !”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Ramesses II built 2 temples, one for himself and the other for his most favoured queen Nefarteri (not Nefartiti) .

The amazing phenomena occurs twice, once on 22nd feb and the other on 22nd oct when sun rays penetrate the temple and straight away fall on the face of a statue of ramesses II who is sitting with the gods in a kind of throne inside the temple.This temple is another amazing example of relocation and rescue work done as the original site was completely submerged under the nile and how they relocated the statue can be seen in a small museum near the main cafe .But because of this relocation the original phenomena was changed from the 21st to 22nd of these 2 months but still it is amazing.

If you can stay for the sound and light show it is amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sckol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“stay overnight and see the sound and light show”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first sight in Egypt and it was not surpassed by the pyramids, valley of the kings or any of the other temples or museums that we saw. It was without a doubt the most amazing sight we saw in Egypt. So incredible in it's size and detail. We stayed overnight in October 2010 for one night to see the sound and light show and we absolutely loved returning to the site in the darkness of night to be wowed by the show. It is quite remote and a bit of a trek to get to but we flew there with Egyptair and found the trip to be thoroughly worth it. Make sure you leave enough time between your connecting flights as they will not wait and you often need to get on a bus to the plane from the terminal. We didn't enjoy our stay in the hotel at Abu Simbel and in fact I got a severe stomach bug afterwards but I still absolutely recommend a visit to this incredible site. Just close your mouth in the shower and be very careful about what you eat whilst here.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abu Simbel Temple Complex also viewed

Abu Simbel, Aswan Governorate
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Abu Simbel Temple Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing