We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was my second stay at Sheikh Ali with my wife during early May having previously stayed with my son and his girlfriend last November, having stayed at other hotels during previous visits to Dahab I can honestly say this hotel is far superiour

The entrance and reception are clean and fresh leading to a large and very clean pool with comfy sun beds and shelters.Rooms are on two levels on both visits we opted for ground level which have large sliding doors which open onto a spacious paio area leading onto luscious well manicured lawns. The rooms themselves are huge with a very light and airey feel to them and are well equiped with wardrobes, storage shelves,a fridge, tv and satelite box and chairs and a table. During November it was a little cooler and we were able to move our patio table and chairs inside when my son came round
The beds are absolutley huge and extremely comfortable with firm pillows and the bathroom again is of high quality
It's position is in the middle of Dahab and accessed via the camp/hotel to the rear of Shiekh Ali and leads onto the main shopping area where the shops and numerous eateries are found which in turn are adjacent to the sea front
Staff are always friendly and helpful which only adds to the overall experience of staying here. Forget the big hotels which are positioned out of town or Sharm and come and experience Dahab in comfort hope to see you soon inshallah !!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donnye67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Donnye67,

Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor and for visiting us twice at Sheikh Ali Resort. We hope your second visit will not be the last!

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again here at Sheikh Ali soon inchallah.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
70
34
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niedernberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed at Sheikh Ali for a full week and it was absolutely fabulous. The rooms are large and spotless. It easily accommodated all of us with one child sleeping on the sofa bed and the other one comfortably sharing the very big bed with us. The pool was also very clean and it is rather big for the number of guests.

The hotel is located in a quiet area but at the same time close to everything you might fancy. Plenty of shops and nice restaurants by the sea are only minutes away, but one should also not miss dinner prepared by the chefs at the hotel. In fact, hotel staff is very helpful and tries to accommodate any wish you might have. For instance, the big tart they prepared on the occasion of my daughter’s birthday will be unforgettable. In the end, we felt a bit like home, being treated more like friends than guests. We also used the transfers arranged by the hotel, which are reasonably priced given the high quality of the service provided.

There is no other place I would stay in Dahab and, quite honestly, I regret a bit those staying in the big resort hotels out of town, as they miss a gem on the Sinai.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurDent_42_bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear ArthurDent_42_bs

Thank you for your stay with us at Sheikh Ali Resort – it was a pleasure having your lovely family here in April.

We are very happy to hear that you felt at home at Sheikh Ali and that you found it being a personalised experience. We would like to thank you for sharing this experience with other travellers here on Tripadvisor, and hope to seeing you all again soon.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damietta, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

While working in Egypt I have been to Dahab more than ten times in the last 4 years (short trips) and have been in several different hotels so far. Sheikh Ali is definetely the best. The hotel is quite new (2011?), rooms are large and furnished decently and properly. Big bathroom with shower, balcony, large beds, fridge, satellite TV, very clean, good service. It is a few minutes away from the beach so it is quiet and close to the heart of Dahab. All this makes it a very good place to stay. What makes the difference from very good to excellent are the people who run it. I felt like being at home. For sure I'll come back (insh'allah) to Dahab and Sheikh Ali. Thanks to everyone in the team!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Jochen W,

Thank you for your stay with us and your recommendations here on Tripadvisor.

In the same way as we believe that the small things matter, your review made the difference and took us to the very top of Tripadvisors ranking in Dahab. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you like to be close to the main sight in dahab ,, with worm & friendy hospitality .. this is your place .

It's clean, confort, quit & large rooms . I feel that in my own home with friendy services .

Don't miss the chance to be in Shiekh Ali Hospitality ..
I'm going back there again soon

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azzam_alasfoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear azzam_alasfoor,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your great review here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy you enjoyed the location, the comfort and our service during your stay at Sheikh Ali. We look forward to seeing you ‘back home’ soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful new hotel in the heart of Dahab which we were very happy to have had the pleasure of staying in for our week long holiday.

All furnishings are new and modern, the suites are very spacious and the service is always with a smile. The hotel is located perfectly; hidden away in a quiet spot within the city and the main hustle and bustle can be reached by foot within minutes. The breakfasts were very nice and we had dinner on the first evening there which was delicious. All the staff were very friendly, free city map, hibiscus tea on arrival, recommendations and excellent knowledge of local interest points. All rooms face the pool which is a great feature. There is a fridge in all the suites which was such a great feature and one we made use of! The rooftop is great for stargazing too. We also used the hotel's transfer service which was fast, secure and organised.

Dahab itself is a lovely little city in the Sinai Mountain region, very laid back and not too many large resorts and mass tourism as is the case of neighbouring Sharm El Sheikh. We recommend the Shams Restaurant a couple of minutes walk from Sheikh Ali, right on the waterfront.

This hotel would suit couples, families and single travellers alike. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we go back to Dahab! Thank you (Shukran) to all the team at Sheikh Ali Resort! Peace and love, Bilkis & Mikael :)

Room Tip: All rooms are the same!! Large suites with a sitting area, dressing area and bathroom. The beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Bilkis and Mikael,

Thank you for choosing Sheikh Ali for your Dahab holiday, and for great company during your stay. We are so happy you found your suite and the facilities comfortable and the team friendly and helpful.

It is always nice to have guests who enjoy and embrace Dahab and we are sure other travelers will appreciate your recommendations too! Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers here on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again, and hope you will get a beautiful spring time in Stockholm!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffanstorp, Skåne Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

As soon as I entered the room I felt relaxed and secured. The rooms are like suites and very clean. Especially the bathroom with the big shower. The furnitures are new and stylish. This is special in Dahab. From the balcony you have a very nice view to the pool. Everywhere wireless internet is working. The service is excellent, as well as the food. Through Guro I could get informations about Dahab and a lot of help. The service in the hotel is fantastic.
Even when I was the only one in the restaurant, they cooked delicious fresh food for me without ordering in advance. For me is sure, whenever I will be in Dahab, my accommodation will be in the Sheikh Ali Hotel. It is like coming home!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Alaa E,

Thank you for your stay at Sheikh Ali and for your wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Sheikh Ali Resort ! The rooms of this new hotel are very spacious, clean and decorated with a lot of taste. The pictures on tripadvisor are beautiful, and we were surprised to see that the rooms look even better in reality! The beds are huge and very comfortable.
We immediately felt at home in Sheikh Ali: The hotel is not too big and Gabaly and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Special mention to the cook Hani, who cooks with heart delicious meals and copious breakfasts. (Ask him about his special drink - we don't remember the name! - , to see in our pictures!).
As others mentioned, the hotel is ideally located; we found nice not to be on the main strip but only 5-10 minutes walk from the center.

thanks again for everything !

Tim & Delphine

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Tim and Delphine,

Thank you for your stay with us and your lovely words here on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay from beginning till end!

If you should miss Hani’s special drink, the traditional Sahlab, it is easy to make at home too:

Sahlab
4 cups milk
½ cup cornstarch
1 teaspoon vanilla
Sugar to taste

Mix cornstarch with a bit of water in a cup and stir well. Mix with milk in a pan and heat slowly. Add sugar and vanilla and stir constantly until it comes to a boil. Let boil for 2 minutes and keep stirring. Coat the inside of a glass with (lots of) Nutella, pour the drink in the glass and top with cinnamon, coconut, raisins, more Nutella and fruits.

Enjoy!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali,
Hani & the Sheikh Ali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
3.3 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
6.7 km away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.9 km away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 km away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 km away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort

Property: Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Address: Mashraba Palm Tree Garden, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab and the Sinai are full of amazing spaces on land and in the water. Echoing the open spaces of the Sinai landscape, our light and airy pool-side suites welcome you to a revitalizing break away. At Sheikh Ali Resort we have created space for you to be truly free and relax your mind - in your room, in yourself and in our natural surroundings.At Sheikh Ali, we have brought together the best of what Sinai has to offer. Red Sea diving and snorkeling, wind- and kite surfing can easily be arranged from the hotel. Deep desert treks and trips to Mt Sinai, St Catherine, Canyons and the Bedouin village of Ras Abu Galom are other highlights in our nearby surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing