We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go all inclusive, it's half board”
Review of Dahab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dahab Resort
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2009

The equivalent of a UK 3 star, but still it's a nice hotel. Go for the room upgrade or you get the ground floor of an out-of-the-way block. Don't expect a view either.
The food is very standard but not poisonous like a lot of other reports would imply for hotels elsewhere in Egypt.
The all-inclusive is not to be recommended. Asking for a beer you'll get a half glass of foam and you're made to feel like you're begging for it. The staff do not like handing it over even though you've paid for it. They keep the rest of the bottle it's been poured from.
The all inclusive consists of local beer (half a glass), local wine (awful) and soft drinks. Cocktails as promised do not exist and spirits were refused to us unless we paid extra. It's in one bar only that no one goes in and also the cafe. I won't call it a restaurant that would imply that it is something that it is not.
The snacks at the beach bar are sandwiches wrapped in cling film and the staff will not be pleased if you ask for them. There is one plate made up in total and the staff are used to taking them home(?).
The beach setup is very nice but as per usual the Germans get there early to try and grab the best spots by leaving their belongings (a book or towel) at a table.
Dahab is pretty good if you windsurf, otherwise there's not much there. The town itself is a dump but interesting.
Take hand-sanitizer and use it frequently, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe_Camel_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

B&B holiday via Thomson, solo female traveller.
Great breakfast, wide choice of food and drink. Attentive staff from front desk, housekeeping, beach bar and restaurant. Pricey mini bar (20LE for Redbull versus 12LE in supermarket). Friendly onsite spa service, Swan Spa - the beauty technician, Walaa was great and has good customer focus. Clean beach with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Friendly and attentive staff. Taxi into town, should be no more than 20LE, plenty of food options, particularly the Blue House for Thai food. Dahab is good if looking for a relaxed and quiet environment, it's nothing like Sharm El Chav. Try a trip into the desert for a Bedouin night with astonshing star gazing. Inland is arid, mountainous and challenging - but go and have a look. Snorkeling is amazing, both coral and marine life. Check out St Katherine's Monastery for religious history lesson.I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We usually don’t stay in American chain properties when overseas, but took a chance on the Hilton Dahab, and it paid off for the most part - with a few drawbacks. It's a beautiful property with a great beach and large pool area, and while the rooms were basic they each had covered terraces with hammocks that I loved. We did have some problems with the A/C in one of the upstairs rooms that resulted in an unbearably hot night; the lower rooms seemed naturally much cooler.

Pros:
- Excellent dive center (Sinai Divers) on-site
- Great beach and pool area
- Large terraces with hammocks for many rooms
- Massive breakfasts
- The Italian restaurant had surprisingly good food, good service, and was relatively reasonably priced

Cons:
- Somewhat useless front desk staff
- Top floor rooms can be much too warm, even with A/C on full blast
- Bedrooms and bathrooms rather basic for the price
- Attention to detail in room cleaning was lacking (e.g. large dust bunny in closet)
- Downtown Dahab isn’t really within walking distance, and the hotel wasn’t operating a shuttle when we were there, leaving us at the mercy of local taxi drivers (make sure you know the correct price before you go, and agree on the price before you get in) – for many folks, though, you might never really need to leave the property

Tips:
- The hotel next door has proper Thai food (a nice break from the hummous/kebab routine), staffed by at least one bona fide Thai person. If the actual (tiny) Thai restaurant isn’t open, the casual open air café near the beach has the Thai menu available.
- The bar above the dive center was a nice place for sundowners, with good views of the sunset and the best service we found amongst the hotel’s various bar options.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Perfect for windsurfers. Nice hotel. Nice food, Nice peoples, Nice beaches, Everything was great!

Stayed: October 2009
1  Thank KaiCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I booked the Hilton on a late deal looking for sun and activity and wasn’t disappointed. I wanted to take my PADI open water scuba course and the Hotel has a Dive centre on site

Flew out of Robin Hood Airport (Doncaster) one of the newer small charter airports. It was really easy to park although getting through checkout and security took a while as the flight was early morning and they only had 1 scanner active!

Arriving in Sharm airport was no problem for me. As I had organised my own transfer I had to look for the company who arranged it. Just make sure you get this sorted before leaving the terminal building as you cant get back in!!

The Hilton lived up to my expectations. The reception staff were very friendly & I was given an upgrade to a deluxe room which as others have said is closer to the lagoons or beach and has a hammock and terrace. If you have a Hilton HHonors card make sure you let them know as this is what got me my upgrade. The rooms were clean and spacious with good air conditioning and amenities. I went All Inclusive and this worked well for me. For a small additional cost all my drinks (including bottled water which you would have to buy otherwise) were included and a midday meal. The food is good and there is a reasonable variety though nothing too exciting.

Internet access is expensive. Wi-fi is available around the reception (Bar and seating area) but limited to wired access in room. There are terminals available near to the Fitness room. Don't expect anything too zippy.

As I was traveling alone I wanted plenty to do other than just enjoy the sun and beach. Dahab and the Red Sea has some of the best Diving in the world hence why I went there to get my open water qualification. The Dive Centre at the Hotel is Sinai Divers. An excellent set up I was very impressed. Friendly knowledgeable staff, fantastic diving, good value courses, the best way to get your PADI qualifications (better than a freezing cold lake at home)

The beach has excellent water sports facilities, water skiing, donuts, wind surfing for me this is paradise. I heard good things about the quad bike tour, though I didn't get time to do it people I met had.

My favourite day out was a Trip arranged through HIKE DAHAB. Mady MacDonald, one of the dive instructors at Sinai Divers, runs the tours. You can book through the dive centre if you don't see Mady. For anyone wanting to experience the best snorkeling in the area without the crowds, eat fantastic traditionally cooked food en route in great company then this is the day for you. The pace is easy, you only need a pair of trainers (& something to swim in of course) all the food is cooked along the way by local Bedouin and was simply the best food I had to eat all week. Take plenty of water though you will get local tea at the stops along the way. The Snorkeling was breathtaking and we had plenty of time to spend taking in all the life on the reefs and it never felt rushed. The day ends back at the well know diving and snorkeling site of Blue Hole. Finishing the day with a snorkel from Bells to Blue Hole was stunning. Highly recommended, check out their website

To cap it all I Still managed to spend time enjoying the sun on the beach. This is my perfect holiday experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dahab and the Hilton to anyone who wants sun and activity. Fantastic for the solo traveler, adventurous couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcfctom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We always read reviews so that we can pick up on any tips, so hopefully someone will find this review useful.
Flight
Monarch 300, penned in like a cattle truck. Managed to get the two seat set-up at the rear of the plane on the way back and this was much more spacious. Unfortunately, half way through the return flight, the3 toilets for 300 people were smelling worse that Twickenham on International day. Well done Monarch. And why don't their female attendants ever smile?
Arrival
Panic and confusion as we were not on Thomas Cook's list, but subsequently found that we were booked with Neilson as TC don't have many customers to Dahab. We should have checked the small print on the paperwork, our fault, not theirs.
Pleasant journey to Hotel and excellent greeting from Reception staff, with cold flannels. Quickly checked in (completed registration forms on coach, well done Neilson).
Room
We had managed to negotiate a suite as a booking incentive and were not disappointed. In fact we would have considered upgrading anyway. Always cleaned well and great attention from cleaner and his supervisor. Rooms large but a little bit tired but everything worked and no problems.
Pool/Beach
Pool is small, clean and as previous reviews have said, poor and slightly dangerous paving area. Attendant excellent. Not sure how it would cope at peak time. Very few Europeans used pool during our stay, which meant easy access to beds. However, there were a number of Egyptian families who seem to travel in large groups and who took over the pool for about 3 days. They were only enjoying themselves, and were not destructive or drunk, just very, very noisey. Even the hotel staff found it tiresome and apologised for the noise. But you find somewhere else to laze. The beach is small but sandy and the sea clear and good for swimming. Ok to snorkle in the roped off area. Windsurfers everywhere and if you want to learn how, or practice your skills, this is the place to be.
Restaurant
Breakfast excellent, freshly cooked eggs/pancakes etc. Good range of breads/pastries/fruits. As we were on half board, we had dinner in the buffet restaurant. Disappointed with choice and quality. No fresh fish or meat cooked on grill. "You can use the Fish Restaurant at extra cost" we were told, but that,s not the point!! We're on the Red Sea after all. No tea/coffee/water at dinner, unless purchased. Asian and Egyptian nights were good. It depends what you are used to, but in our view, this was not 5*, but 3*. We were asked to complete 3 surveys - at the Manager's cocktail party (new Manager), by the pool, and an email request on our return, so they are aware of their shortcomings and are looking to improve.
Entertainment
Had local performers on 4 nights of 7 in the Courtyard, good but only for 30mins, so after that you had to find your own entertainment(TV/ snooker), which was a shame as the Courtyard was cool and relaxing.
Conclusion
Positives - location, beach, staff(excellent), rooms, cleanliness,breakfast
Room for inprovement - restaurant lunch/dinner, cost of drinks(so buy locally or take your own), entertainment.
If you want to windsurf/sail/dive this is an excellent resort. For a restful holiday, it's very good, just avoid the Coconut bar in the evenings, unless you like garage music at full blast. Our 10th trip to Egypt, not the best, but near the top.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springerlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

After a stressful exit from Sharm airport where we spent nearly two hours trying to get through passport control because around six flights had arrived at the same time, and where people were getting frustrated and arguing because of the horrendous queuing system (people pushing in and starting their own queues from existing queues!), we had a relatively nice week at this hotel.

Most of the staff are lovely, friendly and can’t do enough for you but some who look after the reception desk were a little rude and I found it difficult to believe some of the things we were being told. For example, on arrival we were allocated a double room even though we had booked a twin. We were told our option was to have a room next to a disco, to take one that didn’t have a terrace or to take the double one (I was sharing with my brother). We were told there were no other rooms; standard, deluxe nor suites that could be offered. We were told we could move the next day so we agreed to take the one near the disco. The next day we went to reception ready to change room and we were told there were no rooms left. The member of staff said he had been calling our room all morning so he could offer us an alternative room but he couldn’t reach us so now they’ve all been taken. When I told him we’d been in the room all morning he claimed that there must be a problem with our phone – the phone was working fine and so was the answer phone. In the end we gave up and kept the room we were given because we were made to feel like we were being a nuisance by some of the receptionists.

The hotel has a car/transport company based within the reception area that can arrange excursions for you and offer a taxi service. Whilst checking in I heard a couple ask the receptionist how much a taxi into town was; they were told 15EP per person. This was using the company based in the hotel but there are local taxis just outside the hotel who charge between 10 and 15EP for the taxi so worth doing unless it’s just you.

We had a standard room which was clean and comfortable – the bathrooms do need upgrading but they were clean and made the best of. There are three types of accommodation; standard, deluxe and suites. The only difference between standard and deluxe rooms is that the latter have hammocks and are closer to the beach – other than that, they are exactly the same. The beach area tends to get very busy during the day so a standard room suited fine.

The grounds are really pretty and although you can’t swim in the lagoons (what people often seem to confuse for swimming pools from brochure photos) they give a lovely tranquil feel to the place.

The hotel has a few shops and a bank onsite. Be mindful of the price lists at the spa which is located next to the bank upstairs. Even though you will be presented with a price list, prices are negotiable! I was told that the price for a massage was 380EP and when some friends asked a little while later, they were told 300EP for the same treatment (around £9 difference!). There are cheaper options in town.

The food in the hotel is ok – it’s not great, but perhaps a safer option to eating in town if you have a sensitive tummy. We only ate at the hotel once – the atmosphere in town is lovely in the evening and it’s definitely worth giving it a go. The restaurateurs do hassle a little as do the shopkeepers but humouring them and swiftly walking on by works. You can also ask the taxi driver to drop you off at the Lighthouse which takes you to the end of the Masbat high street area, avoiding some of the hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 km away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 53 in Dahab
409 reviews
0.6 km away
Jaz Dahabeya
Jaz Dahabeya
#1 of 53 in Dahab
950 reviews
4.8 km away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#3 of 53 in Dahab
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#46 of 53 in Dahab
73 reviews
0.5 km away
Ganet Sinai Hotel
Ganet Sinai Hotel
#39 of 53 in Dahab
78 reviews
2.3 km away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 53 in Dahab
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahab Resort

Address: South Sinai, Dahab 111111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range: C$46 - C$77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dahab Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of the Egyptian Red Sea at Dahab Resort with a beautiful private beach, onsite diving school, wind surf stations, beach activities and underwater sights waiting to be discovered. Soak up the Egyptian sun as you relax beside the impressive free-form outdoor pool or enjoy a beach-side massage with the sounds of the red sea lapping at the shore. The ideal location for couples and families alike, this impressive Dahab resort features beautiful gardens and rooms with sun-soaked balconies. Retire to your spacious Guest Room and sip a cool drink as you enjoy views of either the gardens or the tranquil Red Sea. Enjoy sumptuous dining choices from three restaurants serving quality food from across the globe and three unique bars offering a selection of the best refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing