We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Kitesurfing Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kitesurfing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

What a fantastic hotel this is. We stayed in Cluster 1 by the kite beach and our room was wonderful - very spacious, luxurious and clean. We had a view of the sea with our bed facing the window and we set the alarm for 6.00am every morning just to lie in bed and watch the sun come up. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the guy who cleaned our room who couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was fantastic but we only dined in the hotel once for dinner and Il Limone was disappointing so we were very glad we booked B&B as the restaurants downtown and the marina were great, very cheap and effortless to get to by tuc tuc or taxi and they will order them for you at reception.
We had the best holiday in years and can't wait to get back. I'm already looking for the best prices for 2013! Thanks to everyone at Movenpick.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room in cluster 1 or 2 if you're going to kitesurf
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarmouthCampervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,843
    802
    236
    97
    62
See reviews for
1,040
1,146
142
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
highland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just back from a week at the Movenpick in El Gouna and it lived up to all the good reviews we read online.
We booked it by searching deals on Icelolly.com and found a good one for b&b through Your Holidays booked through Thomas Cook. All was OK except the legroom on the TC flight from Gatwick which was very uncomfortable. Next time will try Easyjet as I think they have more legroom.
We emailed the hotel in advance to make sure we got the room we wanted and they were very helpful, we had a room in cluster 7 overlooking the lagoon pool with a sea view. Nice room well appointed and a very comfortable bed !
All the staff were great very nice, polite and helpful.
We went b&b because of reading reviews on here, dined in the Movenpicks own Thai restaurant on the first night as they had a special Tuesday deal on for £13 each which was excellent, after that we tried some of the restaurants around the Abu Tig Marina and Downtown, all were good, varied in price but all good value and service, we tried Le Deauville, Upstairs, Greek, Captains Inn and also tried Movenpicks own El Sayadin fish restaurant . We dined outside in all except the ones at the Movenpick and it was just warm enough even in late Feb.
Weather was great sunny and warm all the time.
Getting around was very easy with the £2 shuttle bus ticket which included the shuttle boat and the Tuc Tucs were great and very cheap to use too.
Hotel grounds are lovely, lots of walking to burn off some of the calories as the resort is so spread out.
Breakfast was very good with a great choice and we had it on one of the little balconies every morning in the sun, very attentive staff always filling your coffee cup.
We were told the hotel was only 60% full and we didnt have any problems getting a sunbed and didn't feel crowded because of the size of the resort.
The guests were a nice mix of Europeans mostly Scandinavians, Germans, French and only a few English.
We usually like a late drink on returning to the hotel after dinner but found all the entertainment stopped at 11pm and the bar was more or less closing down after that and no service after 12pm. I suppose most of the guests there are to bed early people !
El Gouna itself we loved, no hassle from shopkeepers, very relaxed and upmarket feel, no yobs or any sign of anything like that, felt very safe and relaxed there.
We will go back for sure and would have no hesitation to stay at the Movenpick again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HighlandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel; we are delighted to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you’ve enjoyed the relaxing and safe athmosphere of El Gouna. It is a pleasure to read that we were able to meet up to your expectations with our services and especially in our restaurants. The hotel offers aside the Buffet restaurant a variety of speciality restaurants including seafood, Thai and Mediterranean. We thank you for your recommendations and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another occasion at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. Best regards, Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at this fantastic hotel.We were in cluster 3 and had views of the gardens pool and sea.Our peace of heaven.
The staff were the friendliess and most helpfull we have ever known.This and the comfortable rooms and the delicious food from buffett resturant,Italian,and the beach bars,
all helped to make this a very enjoyable holiday.
A special thanks to Michel and staff at the Lagoon pool bar.Michel makes sure all his staff are always busy,helpfull,polite,happy and efficiant.Most off all they respect him and are happy to obey every comand he gives.
It was these people (Michel-Walid, Magby,Ahmed and john) who with their smiles jokes and good service helped make our holiday such a happy one.
The staff in the buffet resturant from managment to waiters were also very friendly and gave a very good service.
Our room was kept in excellant condition and nothing was too much trouble.
The Entertainment team excellant, Reception also excellant.
Deffinately a place we would like to return too. Realy deserves the 5 stars as you get 5 star treatment all the time. well done to all at the Movenpick

Room Tip: All rooms in clusters 3-7 seem to have good outlooks We heard through others cluster 8 not so good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brenda_brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest
We are delighted yo know that you have enjoyed your visit and we thank you for all your compliments and kind words. We are proud having team members and managers giving such good impression on our guests. Rest assured that you comments have been forwarded to the team members mentioned by name. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another visit at Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna. Best regards, Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

From the pictures on the Internet, the Movenpick was my second choice but I couldn't get my first choice as the hotel was sold out. So we went to the Movenpick instead and I am so glad that we did as it was a dream! The photographs on the Internet really don't do it justice. It had a grandiose palatial feel outside in wonderfully landscaped gardens, teeming with trees, shrubs and an abundance of flowers......all of it a delight to the senses. The swimming pools were very pretty too as were the indoor and outdoor bars and restaurants etc. The setting amongst the lagoons made it a near perfect setting and the Movenpick is the only hotel with a beach front as well as the lagoons. We had booked deluxe sea view rooms but we were actually facing a lagoon and you could only see the sea if you walked onto your balcony and cricked your neck looking 45 degrees to the left, at the sea in the far distance. I discovered later that the view of the lagoon is actually far prettier than the sea view, plus if you are facing the lagoon you have your own private bit of beach between your ground floor balcony and lagoon, with your own sunbathing beds, patio tables and chairs etc. So try to book a deluxe ground floor lagoon facing room if you can. The rooms were quite beautiful and so spacious, and were very trendy and attractive, also in superb condition. The bathrooms were very well deco0rated and maintained and of a generous size too, The rooms were in fact amongst the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in anywhere. The food was very pleasant although not fantstic and in general the staff were pleasant and polite, and very friendly by the pool bar. We just has bed and breakfast as the hotel is only a short tuk tuk ride away from Downtown or the marina where you are spoiled for choice for restaurants and bars (don't hang round for the hotel shuttle bus- it's about every 30 minutes, hangs around for 10 minutes, has very hard wooden slatted seats and then goes the long way round, taking 20 minutes longer then the quick 10 minute tuk tuk ride. Even then, there is only one terminus and you have to walk to wherever you want to end up, whereas the tuk tuk will take you from door to door. Both the hotel bus and tuk tuks are inexpensive and the taxis are a reasonable price too. the doorman will call a tuk tuk or taxi for you - whatever you want). There are a good range of reasonably priced trips on offer in th reception of the hotel each day although we did our own trips separately, apart from the hire of the speedboat which we booked in the hotel lobby and enjoyed using around the idyllic lagoons. This hotel is expensive but we were lucky enough to get a special deal advertised on the Internet for Easter 2011. Keep just looking on the Internet and comparing costs amongst the holiday agents. We also found them all far cheaper than trying to book direct with the Movenpick. There doesn't seem to be a special deal this Easter so unfortunately we won't be going back there this Easter but we've found a good deal for this Easter in Dahab instead. Do go to the Movenpick El Gouna if you can....it's a wonderful hotel to chill out in and El Gouna itself is a beautiful, clean, cosmopolitan and trendy resort - all very picturesque.

Room Tip: Have a lagoon or sea view if possible....the lagoon views are pretty, if not prettier than the sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my 2nd vacation in elgouna. The 1st one was a few years ago , I stayed at sheraton miramar then ,but I think Elgouna got prettier & i'd rather prefer movenpick although sheraton was ok.
Checking -in at movenpick was ultra quick & so was checking out. The room was in cluster 4 ,which was rather 5 mins. walk from the lobby. Rooms were spacious ,mine was on the ground floor ,so it was ok for the kids to get out & play in the garden. We had a nice lagoon view too. Playing areas were scattered everywhere for the kids. The rooms had a nice dressing room seperated by a sliding glass door from the bedroom. The roomservice was ok.
We had an all-inclusive stay which allowed us to try several resturaunts, best of which was the italian (il limone) ,the food was delicious. It was too far from our room , it lies near cluster 8 , so we had to use a map to reach it,but it deserves. Dinner was in the main rest. & it was open buffet & was excellent. Breakfast was nice too. Overall , food was very delicious & in all the rest. in the hotel.
It was a nice experience & I'd rather go back whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your second visit to El Gouna; we are delighted to read, that you have enjoyed your stay and that were were able to meet up to your expectations. The All-Inclusive program allows a wide choice of restaurants, including 3 a la carte restaurants for lunch by the various pools and for dinner choice of buffet, A la carte Italian restaurant and choice menu at the Thai restaurant. We thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back for another occasion. Best regards, Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed for a week with my two adult daughters and we had a lovely time. We were moved from the standard room as the sofa bed is not suitable for a third adult (really just for a small child) but the two floor duplex was very good - clean and spacious. The food throughout was of a very good standard (no upset tummies) and the service was excellent. The position is ideal for divers, as the dive centre is onsite and the choice of sunbathing areas was numerous. There were lots of organised activities as well as water sports and the health club. We would definately recommend this resort and hope to able to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Clusters 5 and 6 offer a good central loction is this large hotel complex. The sofa beds are not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice enough hotel, friendly staff (possibly except management).

Rooms ok, nothing fancy but functional enough
Restaurants well below par, except for the Thaifood place, breakfast was ok too
Nice beach, nice layout of the resort, very nice spa (massage)
Very nice swimming school for kids (external partner Fred's)

Watch out for:
Laundry service, don't leave your silk with them, they destroyed a dress and repaid 10% of the value
Room service. Yuck.

Tip of the day:
Leave the resort for dinner as soon as you've tried the Thai restaurant. The marina has got some good restaurants (Le Deauville, La Scala, Le Garage), downtown El Gouna has a couple of restaurants with real good value for money (Greek and Upstairs). Always eat lunch by the center pool area, best and freshest snacks, the alternatives at the resort are all below par and over-priced.

Also: bring your own pillow haha. You get jumbo pillows or xl-pillows.

All-in-all, a very nice bargain if you get a good deal (charter or last minute booking), at full price - hm, maybe not.

Room Tip: No big difference between staying on 2nd or 3rd floor (sea view). Cluster 2 or 3 seem to be best loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happypeepsltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPHotelEgypt, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest. Thank you for your visit; we are happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay in principal and we thank you for having rated our hotel ‘Best place in El Gouna’. At the same time we have taken note of your constructive comments, as it seems that we were not able to fulfill your expectations in all aspects. Rest assured, that we will take all necessary steps to improve the various shortcomings. Hoping to be able to welcome you back for another visit in El Gouna, Your sincerely. Brigitte Gobran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
1.6 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.6 km away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
27.1 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.4 km away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
0.9 km away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna

Property: Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Address: Main Street | PO Box 72, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#2 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#5 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mövenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna is nestled on a peninsula, with its own exclusive beachfront. It offers spectacular views of the Red Sea, the tranquil lagoons and the lush gardens. The ideal surroundings combined with the resort's extensive facilities all make for a perfect stay. The charming center of El Gouna with its picturesque architecture and numerous attractions is only a few minutes away and Hurghada International Airport can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Spa El Gouna
Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna Hotel El Gouna
mövenpick El Gouna
Moevenpick Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing