We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" 5 star, definately not"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #55 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“" 5 star, definately not"”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

If you are looking for some where to use as base for sight seeing, this is ok!!... transfer through customs at hurghada airport was speedy & very good & also to the hotel.
we booked a double room but were given a twin! but it was sorted very quickly. Rooms are basic and clean. All balconies look towards the pool area & sea view. Air conditioning was old & needed updating. First impression of the food on our first day was "it can only get better", but sadly it didn't. Very limted choice definately not 5* food. We have stayed at many 5* hotels and this does not even compare, more suited to a 2*.. The only area which we considered a 5* was the pool area and gardens. sun beds were plentiful the pool not heated but ok once you were in!!! No snacks served at the pool bar.. Wine wasn't up to much, spirits were all served with brand mixers which was good. Entertainment within the hotel was poor. The hotel was largly occupied by rude russians & germans which we didn't let it bother us, as we were using the hotel as a base for our sightseeing. Lots of trips to go on which were good value for money, book through your hotel rep to be safe.... The desert safari was excellent fun and a must, cairo & the pyramids was a 5 hour drive away, but you travel through the night and arrive for the morning. Luxor & the valley of the kings was excellent and we had the same tour guide "sahid" who made the trip interesting and with humour.. Overall the hotel was just ok for a base, not 5* by any means. we will not be returning, there are many good 4* hotels in egypt which by far succeed this hotel.. This is a truthful review & hope it helps.

Room Tip: All rooms face towards pool area & seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank su16worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear su16worcester

Thank you for taking the time to write this review with both positive and negative comments , we are happy you enjoyed our beach and pools and as for the food quality we will certainly forward the comments to our food and beverage manager to consider your remarks, hoping you can give us a second chance to experience a better stay at our resort
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    358
    133
    87
    97
See reviews for
638
328
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked the Sonesta on the premise that it was a "5 Star" Hotel. If the food, staff and gym was anything to go by I would hate to think what the standard of a 2 star hotel would be.
Reception was rude to us as soon as we arrived. upon being placed in our room, the signs directing us to our room were incorrect. I don't really want to comment on the toilet brush that faced me when I popped to the loo in our room. The standard of the beach loungers and tables were poor, like they had been there since the 80's and if like me you like to use the gym when on holiday the machines were very old. The TV in our room did not work properly too.
At dinner everything was swimming in oil. The barman could not be bothered to serve us as he was too busy texting. I could go on and on. However, we moved hotel after 1 day and stayed in a proper 5 star hotel.
If you are happy to pay 5 star rates for a lower standard hotel then go for it. Otherwise, stay well away. There are plenty of decent 5 star hotels in Hurghada that are up to standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hayatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane R, General Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Hayat,

Warm Greetings

First let us express our deep apologies to your good self and thank you for taking part of
your valuable time to explain the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us, as
it will be of a great support to us defining and enhancing all potential weaknesses we
might be encountering.

At Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort we always give great attention to any recommendations or comments raised by our valuable guests and take them on the highest seriousness levels, so we have deeply investigated all incidents reported by your good self, we are ensuring that immediate corrective actions are being taken.

We understand that upon your check-in you were disturbed when the reception employee
served another guests after beginning to proceed your check-in; which is due to the fact
that during that time he was the only employee on the reception and wanted to begin
serving another guest while you complete your registration card, when he realized his
act, he automatically went the extra mile and upgraded your accommodation to a
Bungalow instead of garden room as you were originally booked. However we do regret
the dissatisfaction caused by the occurrence of that situation; further more we took
corrective actions to avoid such future problems.

Also we’ve communicated your comments with our kitchen regarding excessive oil in the
food, as we do put in consideration each and every comment from our guests.
For the third point mentioned in your letter; concerning treadmill machine in our GYM
room, and as we checked with your good self & travel agent representative during your
stay, the running machines were operating and being regularly checked and maintained;
however we do not provide professional athletic machines as we just provide the fitness center for leisure travelers who are the majority of our guests.

Again the Hotel Management is expressing deep apologies for the occurrence of any
incident that caused dissatisfaction.
Although, this last visit to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort did not completely satisfy your
expectations, I sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
back to our resort, in the meantime we look forward to welcoming you back on many
more occasions in the future. Furthermore, if you would be so kind as to contact us the next time you book our hotel, we will do my best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

Thank You & Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was a very nice rest for me! Beautiful nature! Very polite personal. So interesting activities! Animators are the best! I am happy that I was there!
I want to come to Sonesta again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weronichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaza F, Personal Assistant to GM at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Warm Greetings from Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort

First we thank you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation and to take of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. we are quite pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely appreciating your positive comments that was submitted to our team to energize them keep going further to delight our Valuable guests.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We have just returned back home after staying at the Sonesta after a having a most enjoyable stay for two weeks. After reading some of the poor reviews before going we were worried I must say the hotel and it's grounds were fantistic, the staff are a credit to the hotel always polite, friendley nothing was to much trouble. The food was plentyiful with a good choice but could have been hotter on occassions. The hotel is occuppied by Russians mainly but this didn't present any problems. Hurghada is a traditional resort in Egypt not tourist built like Sharm, there are plenty of shops and the trips are very cheap. El Gouna is worth a visit we paid 100 Egyptian pound for 6 of us each way on the penny bus and had a great day out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank m_payne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear m_payne01

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback about your recent holiday at our Resort, which is really appreciated.It’s great to read, that you loved your stay and you had a fantastic two weeks with us

We are looking forward to your return next year to enjoy another fabulous time.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Red Sea shores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Sonesta is really a very godd plase to relax and have fun. The aparments were nice and clean. The food was good in the buffet an in the other restaurants. But best of all - the people who are working there. They made og holiday perfect for us. Very polite an d friendly people who did everything for us to feel good and we have been very good taken care of. Well be back later :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest

We are so proud that we got the chance to make your stay a pleasant one. Our staff will always be at your service and will go extra miles to ensure your stay is unforgettable. Waiting to host you again at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A widely spacious place with a large variety of pools, a large variety of food that is very tastey,many activities including sports activities as soccer , rifle shooting , water polo games and volleyball games at the beach.The only bad thing is that the staff was offensive,but the animation team was friendly.It was a very good trip.

Room Tip: Take a pool view room also near the reception inorder to find an available club car because they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inbox076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear inbox076

We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the staff will be passed on to the GM of the hotel and be sure that our aim is always to leave a good memory to our guest . We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

the Hotel is very large in space , many activities , good offers , good prices and packages , its location is not too far from the down town

Room Tip: rooms on the swimming pool is wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed_Hamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane R, Personal Assistant to GM at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort, Hurghada and for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, its only through valuable feedback received from our valued guests, such as your good self, that we are able to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We place great value on your continued relationship with Sonesta.
Looking forward to welcoming you once again Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada and any of our Sonesta Hotels worldwide in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Thank you,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.3 km away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,230 reviews
5.4 km away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#22 of 222 in Hurghada
3,467 reviews
12.2 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
0.4 km away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
8.5 km away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#67 of 222 in Hurghada
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing