We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money”
Review of Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roma Hotel
Ranked #203 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Highley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

the worst we have ever stopped in.1st 2 weeks of feb 2012.food is cold.crockery chipped.rooms noisy with taxis tooting and disco noise till 4a.m.no diet drinks for first 5 days.no beer on last day which i dont understand because their was only 15 in the hotel.sewerage coming into our bathroom if you had a bath.the groutting was black.the t.v was russian or german.the beach was dangerous with coral.and dont go shopping pick pockets all over the place. other than that the staff are great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    48
    35
    75
See reviews for
38
52
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Myself and a friend stayed here 3rd Feb for a week. This has got to be the worst hotel we've ever had the unfortunate pleasure of staying in. The food was barely warm and even edible most of the time. The ALL INCLUSIVE is a complete joke. They charged for a bottle of water and had no Diet Coke for 3 days yet all the guests were asking for it. The excuses we were given over and over again was " we have just taken over the Hotel and are trying to improve things " which wore off very quickly after a few days. The management thought by throwing a so called Cocktail Party for the guests would make us forget all the complaints we had made.
The Gymnasium wasn't open, the drinks bar was an old meat counter with next to nothing in it. And as for the staff...they all need to go to evening class to learn manners. Until the last day of your holiday they were actually pleasant to you as they then expected you to tip them!!! The Beach is across a main road and behind a derilict building which is not mentioned in the Brochure or even on the internet when you actually book the Holiday. The rooms are extremely tired and very dirty, cracks in the walls and the furniture, leaks in the bathroom, showers heads are barely attached to the walls, shower curtain are ripped and the sofas and chairs in the bedrooms are filthy with sweat stains.The noise is so loud we needed to buy ear plugs as the main road is very busy and the windows weren't double glazed, they barely closed at all except for a piece of cardboard shoved between the panes!! Do i need to say any more???? DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT A NICE HOLIDAY. Send your worst enemy instead!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont even consider this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

High wycombe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Roma was a very run down hotel, it had chipped plates and cups and only one glass between two people. The website stated that there was two restaurants and there was only one and they were very sparce with the food. The pool table didn't have all the balls and the cue had no tip to it. The swimming pool was dirty and freezing cold and needed a good clean. We were very disappointed and it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

have just spent 2 weeks at roma.31.12.11.rooms were barely clean,no hot water.food cold,plates and cups dirty and chipped,food catered towards russians.beach bar limited,food bar on beach shut.sewage flooded beach and just covered with sand,smelt awful,all inclusive only in certain parts of hotel.they even ran out of wine!they now have new management say it will get better.hotel ok for just a cheap base but wouldnt go ai again.staff really under pressure but good.in 2 weeks only 5 from uk there

Room Tip: check you have hot water before unpacking.disco next door on sea view side noisy until 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 987mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Dont even think about using this hotel. I went inclusive and the food was discusting, crockery was chipped and dirty. The room wasn't clean and the bathroom was disgusting floor was soaking which was dangerous. I arrived there on the Saturday and managed to get a flight home on the Monday. This holiday ended costing me a lot of money as i had to pay for the flight back. So please take my advice do use this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont even think about using this hotel. I went inclusive and the food was discusting, crockery was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgd
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is well located for walking. Noisy, because it is located between two streets. Food is average, but it's enough.Hygiene is not high. For guests at all incluziv concept, you get water in cups and only after 10, all coffee is instant. The hotel interior is old and under-maintained. The beach has corals, which interferes with swimming, but not interesting for snorkeling. At full capacity, insufficient number of deck chairs and beach towels for pool and beach. Swimming pool in the hotel, has no bar and no towels. Hotel smells like insecticide. For the money we paid we did not have high expectations, but we had a nice holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My best friend and I stayed at the Roma Hotel in August 2010. We had an amazing time and for the money can not believe what we got!!
We both had our own room and yes the bathroom might need a bit of updating but it was clean and tidy and we loved it.
The food was simply amazing - the choice and quality was first class and we really ate well.
The reception area was very grand and beautiful and we spend lots of time chatting to the other people staying in the hotel.
We went all inclusive and the only thing we feel let this hotel down was the drinks which were warm and the choice was rather limited. However, again for what we paid we just bought diet drinks at the supermarket and kept them in the fridge in our rooms.
The hotel beach was lovely. Fresh towels every day and enough sun beds for eceryone. Pool area also great- could not fault it!
I love snorkling and went swimming every day. There is a bit of litter on the sea bed which is not nice but if you ignore this and look for the beautiful fish and coral it makes up for it!
We went for a couple of boat trips with Bob who works on the beach. Again fantastic trip - over to Paradise Island, it was just amazing and the sea and sand so beautiful!
As two single women we did get hassled walking around the town of Hurghada. That was rather upsetting at the beginning of the holiday but we got used to it and was able to handle the locals!! I must add that this is area is not over used by English people who tend to head for El Gourna. We also had marrige contracts thrust in our faces on a number of occasions but again we learnt to handle it.
We found out where all the Ladies nights were in the local discos and went down to get free entry and drinks all night. The Little Budha was a bit disappointing but the best night was the White Club and beach area at the back of the Roma Hotel was amazing. Music was just the best!! We danced from 11 to 3am and I could not walk the following day as I really over did it!!!!
At the Roma Hotel it is mainly Russians and Serbians staying there. We met some lovely people and made great friends but if you want to eat chips and be with English people I would recommend you go somewhere else for your holiday.
I like eating a range of food and talking to lots of different people so for me it was a fantastic cultural experience.
All in all for £650 we had an all inclusive, double room each (over looking the pool and sea) and as much food and drink as we wanted!!! We had an amazing holiday, just amazing and loved every minute!!!!
Would come back to this hotel - no problem!

Room Tip: Back rooms are good as you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank posidrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.5 km away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#176 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 km away
Sun & Sea Hotel
Sun & Sea Hotel
#172 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
5.4 km away
Regina Swiss Inn Beach Resort & Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#143 of 222 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#114 of 222 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.8 km away
Al Mashrabiya
Al Mashrabiya
#161 of 222 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Hotel

Property: Roma Hotel
Address: Al- Hadaba Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#116 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#131 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is located 5 km from the airport, 6 km from the old center of Hurghada, in the new center of Hurghada on the second line from the sea Hotel Amenities: - doctor's office; - Laundry and dry cleaning; - beauty saloon; - currency exchange; - Parking cars. - the shops; - A shopping arcade; - Well-equipped conference room with a stage for up to 200 people.   Entertainment and sports: - Live music, a disco; - Beach volleyball;; - Evening entertainment; - diving; - massage, Turkish bath; - billiards.   For children: - pool; - Mini-club; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing