We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oldfashionable, poor and dirty!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magawish Village & Resort
Ranked #138 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Gdynia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“oldfashionable, poor and dirty!”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is 30 years old huge complex with mostly bungalows and some lux rooms as well. Bugalows are really old, poor equiped and very dirty! Blankets and sheets were in terrible condition, shower was really small- when I had shower I always felt the courtain on me, disgusting! We did not have electricity in the sockets on the wall next to the bed and when we noticed that to the reception, they didn't do anything. We asked for kettle and they promissed to bring us the next day, but they forgot it. There are two swimming pools but we didn't use because of cold water (we were there on November) Staff was waiting for tips for nothing all the time! Our room was worse because we didn't give them money extra in the passport during check in time.We needed to walk a lot because the place was really huge and we had almost 1 km to go for dinner to restaurant! We bought all inclusive trip so we could have drinks for free, they gave us alkohol in small plastic cubs which was so uncomfortable and we prefer not to drink than drink anything! The hotel is situated 12 km to Sakkala, the closest centre of Hurghada, so we travelled there by taxi (approximately 4$)or by small bus (approximatelly 2 egyptian pounds) Going to Egypt you need to know that they take tips for almost everything and you need to trade with them even in pharmacy and supermarkets. Ottherwise you can pay 100$ for even small souvenir. That was tiring. Beach at the hotel was fantastic- wide and sandy, mattress for free, bar on the beach and some entertainments, but nothing interesting. There's also kitesurfing spot Colona water sports. Verry bad condition and verry expensive! They wanted 80 Euro for one hour with an instruktor. 30 km further we found other spot where we paid 29 Euro per hour. We went there because of the spot but we were really disappointed of this place! That is four stars hotel but completely distroyed and there is big difference beetween Magawish and other newer 4stars hotels.
We will never come back to this hotel again. We were completely dissapointed.

Room Tip: put 10$ to passport and you will get better room, but even that will not help you a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    203
    141
    96
    106
See reviews for
207
240
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is a resort rather than a hotel, so be prepared for long walks to reach restaurants, bars, pools, beach etc.
The food is of the usual buffet variety, but plentiful.
Rooms comfortable - we stayed in the Lotus part of the resort, and we had a twin bedroom, lounge with sofa and tv, kitchen area with cooking facilities and a fridge.
There are not enough sunbeds around the pool, which can make life difficult. The main bulk of the holidaymakers seemed to be Eastern European.
Staff seem to be tip orientated - the guy who brought our gear about 5 yards after it was unloaded from a van seemed very reluctant to leave and commented that our bags were heavy !
There are plenty of amenities scattered around the resort - dive school, wind-surfing, pools, bars - but all inclusive does not mean what it says - you are limited to which bars you can go to, and whats worse, the drinks are served in plastic cups - and also very liberal with the spirits, to the extent that they were undrinkable - a vodka and coke(pepsi) even diluted with a second cup of pepsi just was awful. Ask for fruit juice and you get Fanta (or equivalent)

The room was clean, the food edible, but apart from that I can see no reason to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Do not go there!!!

We payed for this hotel in may, but they gave us bungallow 15 minutes away from everything (around hotel is just desert, because they are watering with sea water). Food has no taste, staff is not nice, they work just for your tips (for everything!!!). All inclusive is not all inclusive, because is really limited (you can not go to the late dinner, sport only through the day), their have three bars over all the beach, they are open at different times, so you give up, when you walk from one to another, when you are at the beach, because the complex is all around this desert, also they don't want to give you more then two drinks and they are angry when you want more. When you eat, they do stupid "jokes", like taking your food from your plate, they wait when you eat and when you finish, they take your plate same second, because they do not have enough plates (also glasses). Waiters are touching the girls. Hotel is falling apart, ants are everywhere, on the beach they are anoying when they want to sell a trip, fourt-times per a day (they wanted to wake me up just to sell a trip). Only positive thing is the beach. Sports center is very expensive, don't think you will get a discount.

Room Tip: You must check if your bungallow is close to the hotel (first number 1, like 102)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is our third stay and we enjoyed it again and again.
We had a great service, a very thorough and hard working Samir, who cleaned our room to the perfection, and above all we love the beach and the sea.
We came to swim and get fit and to enjoy the African energy and healthy air and it worked; when we came back home, we had more energy and we were pleased that we went this time in July, as it was hot but we had a feeling that we got double quantities of sun, sea water and health.

Thank you Essam and all the team for your hospitality.

Aleksandra and her mum

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

we went to magawish for our summer holidays.we spent 9 days over their with all inclusive service.starting with the food,they really should reconsider to hired a chef cause the food is a catastrophe.the Egyptian guests are so low and bar bar.the room is old and room service is not regular.at the beach you have to reserve the seats from very early cause they don't have enough chairs or towels to satisfy their guest.,as if we are in competition to catch a seat not to relax and chill in our vacation.the animation team is not so bad but we must pray for them to be in a good mood and to show up cause some days we didn't see them at all.
if you want the best beach and sea go to magawish,beside this magawish sucks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we were in this hotel on March 2010. the hotel is the oldest and the largest i think in whole hurgada. the room in bungalow was the old one, with small TV and wooden doors. the beach of this hotel is large and beautiful. the meals on the main restaurant were not good enough. the animation is poor

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zemun, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hotel in general is in poor state , desperately in need of renovation.
However it's cleaned daily , every part of it. You can see dozens of workers each day running around, cleaning, watering plants and doing their best to make this old hotel look pleasant and enjoyable.
Service is all-inclusive, but not 24h, you have timetable in which restaurants you are entitled to get soft drinks and meals/snacks.
Type of guests are mostly Russians, (like in all Hurghada), but at my time there were a lot of Italians and Egyptians. Lot of older people, age range would be around 40-60 with kids 10-20.
Since it's a resort, distance to the beach varies from location where your room is. But not more then 5min on foot.
Shopping facilities are scarce but affordable prices since it's in hotel area.
There are 2 centers in Hotel.
Colona Divers for diving and sea trips and
Colona Watersports for kite surfing
Staff is friendly and you are welcomed everywhere with a Hello and a warm smile
They all know basics of english, russian and italian.
Rooms are cleaned daily, but sheets and towels only on every 2nd day.
There is a laundry service and clinic in hotel but i had not need for it.
Complaints are taken seriously and usually resolved under an hour.
One major restaurant, Manta, where you get
Breakfast 7.30-10.30
Late breakfast 11-12
Lunch 13-15
Dinner 19-22 and
Late Dinner 23-01h

Quality of food is kinda poor, but you won't be left hungry. Soft drinks are ok , but local alcohol drinks must be avoided at all cost because of their strong scent of methanol.Beer is ok.
Restaurant is very clean, it's obviously cleaned after and before every meal.
Type of food is local traditional type.
Overall atmosphere during meals is ok, staff is very friendly and forthcoming to help
Animation Team is great, but i must complain on lack of girls in team, only two of them and rest are boys. Daily activities include Beach Aerobic, Stretching, Aquabic and nice music played from speakers
Animation team is also in charge of evening entertainment, at 22h, they call it showtime and it's different every night.
There is a disco in resort but poorly visited, because most of the guests were older people.
Beach is the best in Hurghada! Could use more sunbeds and sunscreens too. Only two showers on the beach, but you don't wait long.
Pools are great too, clean and not too much crowded.
Two pools, one by Manta restaurant, and one by Lotus area, both with own bars.
No free Wifi , just one managed by hotel which is rather expensive
I had a Lotus family room , which is rather big for 2 people.
Big bathroom with fan,
bedroom with two bed and own AC,
living room with own AC, TV, sofa, small table and big table with 3 chairs
small kitchen with microwave, set of dishes, water heater, small fridge,
large balcony with two chairs and table
Lotus area is rather new and in great condition.
Bungalows are older but there are few new ones.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
12.3 km away
King Tut Aqua Park Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#110 of 222 in Hurghada
514 reviews
8.1 km away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#69 of 222 in Hurghada
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
13.1 km away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
2.6 km away
Mirage New Hawaii Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Magawish Village & Resort

Property: Magawish Village & Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magawish Village & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the hotel: Hotel Magawish Village & Resort is ideally located in the tourist area of 1.2 km of natural sandy beache overlooking the Magawish island. Everybody likes to stay at the beach, especially if it takes place on the Red Sea coast, where 365 days a year heat. On our proposed resort for a large variety of outdoor activities and sports - from diving and snorkeling to extreme kite surfing. Location: Located on the beach, 8 km from the airport and 15 kilometers from the center of Hurghada. Number of rooms: 425 Types of rooms: 332 bungalow,24 studios, 56 apartments, 9 family rooms, 2 family villas, 2 royal suites. Room Description: The hotel provides accommodation in the hotel type buildings and bungalow-type, which are distributed throughout the hotel to ensure privacy during your stay. All rooms have individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV, bath or shower, minibar, terrace or balcony . Guest Services: - reception desk and information desk - limousine - laundry - internet cafe - professional animation team - kids club - supermarket - shop - two freshwater swimming pools (one heated in winter) - two children's pools - tennis courts - squash courts. - an international diving center - windsurfing and kite surfing - riding (for beginners - with instructor) For children: - playground; - children's club. Restaurant and bars: Restaurant Manta: buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. beach bar and restaurant The dolphin: pizza, pasta and salad at lunchtime. Restaurant Mermaid: a wide range of seafood dishes, both international and local, deluxe sea view and a fantastic view of the sky. Stylish pub Bogart's pub & Disco: excellent place to have fun for a pleasant drink. A bar Panorama, bar Divers, a poolside bar Shamousa, a poolside bar, and Lotus Oriental Cafe. Beach: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Magawish Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magawish Swiss Hotel Hurghada
Magawish Swiss Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing