We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the weather before you travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropicana Azure Club
Ranked #118 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Check the weather before you travel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We went the last couple of weeks in January and the weather was really bad. Apparently this area of Sharm el Sheikh is known for being very windy. We were unable to sunbathe at all as it was so windy and the wind blew inbetween all the room blocks and it was freezing. People were sat on their sunbeds with towels wrapped round them to keep warm. Not what you excpect from a year round holiday spot. We ended up having to walk up and down the streets to keep warm or stay in the room with the heating on. There is not a lot around so after a few days there is not really anywhere else to go. We booked as a second honeymoon and when arrived were put in in a twin room and not double as booked. Reception said they would move us the next day which we did. The room was lovely and clean. The food was very good. The only downside was the wind which you just could not get out of. The only other problem was that there was nothing going on at night and nowhere to go outside of the hotel. The only place you could go was reception where there was a bar but there were not very many seats and there was no music or tv or anything going on. After 5 days of being cold we approached the rep with a view to going home but she suggested we move hotels. We decided we would give it a try. The Rep said it would cost us £280 to move. She took payment by card then came back and said she had only charged us for 6 nights and we needed to pay for another night which was £20. We paid her cash but she didn't give us a receipt. When we got back we questioned this with Thomson as 7 x £20 is £140 plus £50 admin fee is £190 not £280. They said she had charged us right and that there was nothing they could do about the extra £20 charged as we had not got a receipt and also she was no longer in the resort. Beware of the Reps.

Room Tip: Beware where they put you as we were overlooking a building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    473
    189
    91
    82
See reviews for
454
592
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just got back from a week in this hotel, I was a bit worried before we went when I read the recent bad reviews about being ill but I'm pleased to say we were fine. I travelled with my husband and our 7 yr old Grandaughter, it's not a very big hotel but it had everything we needed it's very well kept and has a small heated pool which is a good job as the large pool was freezing at this time of year, the only down side I found was the food but saying that I am a bit picky and usually found something to eat. I always stay clear of water and salad in Egypt and have always been ok. The Tropicana Azure across the road is OK but very large and to be honest I preferred this hotel.

Room Tip: we had a building site view but had the sun all day if you ask for a pool view you won't get any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susantasker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I have just returned from an excellent holiday in the Tropicana Club Azure.
At first, we were slightly dubious with the mixed reviews, but this hotel is fantastic.
We arrived on the 3rd Feb and departed on the 17th.

Arrival – After being told the coach transfer was 45mins by Thompson, this 15mins transfer was a nice surprise, but wondered if it was cheaper by taxi. The reception staffs are great, very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our room, showed around and our luggage followed shortly.

Every day around the pool was great. Staff always put our towels out on the sun beds and moved them around to get the best tanning position. Near the a la carte restaurants is the best place. The spa guy did get annoying, but if you tell him straight you don’t want anything, he is fine.

The pool was freezing cold but after our first week, we had to use the swim up bar. Once you are in, it is fantastic, but as it was winter season, not always in the sun. A trip to the heated pool is recommended.

Mohammed on the pool bar was great. Always had our drinks ready for us when we were approaching. He wasn’t so nice to people who were rude though and forgot their manors. Egyptians are very polite and do not like people who don’t say their manors.

We went to the beach a couple of times, and the jetty is amazing. Sun beds always available and wind breakers too as it could be a tad windy at times.

It was our anniversary whilst we were over there, and one evening after going back up to our room after sunbathing, an anniversary cake arrived! This was a great touch and very yummy.

Restaurants – I personally thought this was fantastic. A different cuisine every night and always have fresh salad. I have a wheat allergy and the food was great – always something I could eat. Many people did get a tummy upset, but this could be due to the water, for example the ice, and brushing your teeth. We used bottled water, drank plenty and never got ice in our drinks – we never had a problem.

A lot of reviews have referred to “locals”. Yes, our first weekend, there was locals in the hotel. This was fine. They were very polite, friendly and had fun. Yes, children in the lobby playing, but what is wrong with that. I was embarrassed with comments I heard from other British people, some of which, said, I will complain to reception if they come back again. I thought this was appalling, we are in their country, and no one stops us from having a couple of nights away somewhere in the UK.

The shuttle bus from the hotel was great to Na’ama bay, however, it wasn’t our cup of tea. A bit scruffy and a lot of pestering when walking past shops.

Nabq is great. A couple of bars, usual restaurants (McDonalds, TGI, and burger king). Shopping centre and local shops. The three crowns next door was good to watch the rugby in, and relatively cheap too.

The weather was fantastic for the time of year. We had 1 cold day, which we had to leave the pool early. Many people wore coats and jumpers some days, but we stuck it out and still got sunburnt. Last couple of days was very hot!

The only negative part of the holiday was the flights. I am a frequent traveller and have never been so appalled by a flight. The plane was dirty, scruffy and dated. No film, which I though was strange for a 5hour flight. My partner and I are tall, and I felt like we were stuffed on the plane like sardines. I would not fly with Thomson again, but would defiantly go back to this hotel.

Hope this helped. We are planning our return trip for next February.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Briony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Tropicana Azure Club for 2 weeks at the end of January 2012.

Cleanliness - We couldn't fault this, the room was cleaned every day to a good standard. Clean towels and fresh shampoo & shower gel daily. There was a lovely big walk in shower in the bathroom.

Pools - The large pool wasn't heated & many people still swam in it, although we only managed to paddle. The smaller pool was heated & attracted users daily, even in January.

Weather in January - GREAT! During our 2 weeks the temperature varied between about 20 - 24 degrees. Perfect for an early morning or early evening walk, and great for sunbathing/lounging around the pool. It was cooler in the evenings approx 12 degrees, so a jumper or coat was needed for outdoor entertainment. Still better than Britain though.

Beach - You could either take a 10 minute stroll down there or take the shuttle bus from the hotel. There are plenty of umbrellas & sunloungers. We could also make use of the beach bar and snack bar belonging to the Tropicana Grand Azure Hotel. (We stayed at this hotel last year and think the standard of room/pools were much better at the Azure Club). Down at the beach there is an amazingly long jetty, it's worth a walk down it, but give yourself 15-20 mins for this.

Food - We've been to Egypt several times and the food does get a bit 'samey' everywhere after 2 weeks. In the evening, we found that the best places to eat were the Italian & Chinese restaurants as the food was quite nice and the atmosphere was better. We found the main buffet restaurant a bit like a canteen. During the day we ate from the snack bar which served burgers, hot dogs, chips etc, we found this to be quite good.

Entertainment - We did watch the entertainment every night for the first week, some of it was very good, especially the 'whirling Dervish' act. The acts were repeated the second week so we spent more time in the restaurants and lobby bar. The entertainments team do try very hard to put on daily events, luckily for us they will leave you alone if you don't want to take part. The same applies to the people from the spa, if you say 'no' a couple of times they will leave you alone.

Overall, this was a great holiday. We would consider going back to this hotel.
Just for the record, neither of us suffered from upset stomachs or illness of any kind whilst staying here. Just make sure you drink plenty of water to keep hydrated and wash your hands frequently.

We could have managed another week easily!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. here isn't much of a view elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DucknUmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

second time in 10 months and not disappointed
staff friendly and helpful at all times especially mohammed at pool bar.
food - different themed nights plenty to choose from. Anyone who had stomach upset would not be from the food.
Rooms spacious and cleaned daily to a high standard. Towel sculptures on bed every day.
Animation Team work hard and are great fun especially Mario, Baboo and Woody (not his real name).
Lot of Egyptians there on holiday, they were no problem whatsoever. Embarrassed by English people complaining about them, after all we are guests in their country.
Tip - use service buses instead of taxis, much cheaper.
If you fancy a change, or want to watch some sport, Three Crowns pub next door is great for a steak for approx £6.
Will definitely be going again.

.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kath044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

just got back from tropicana azure club [our 3 visit] but this visit was a nightmare do'nt go in febuary eygpt school holidays overrun by egyptions they took over restaurant took all the food and then left it and then all english guests were having bad tummy bugs so be warned DO'NT GO IN FEBUARY it as put me off this hotel shame because the other 2 visits were lovely

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

well second time at this hotel just as good as first time we were there last april.Just arrived back from 2 weeks hotel still very clean and staff welcomed us back its amazing they remembered us from last year.Staff in chinese made my 60th birthday special sang to me balloons and cake not to mention food YUM YUM the only disapointing thing was weather but hotel cant do anythink about that.Our first weekend there there was alot of eyptians came for a long weekend no prob to us but many people moaned surely their allowed to enjoy a break just like us afterall we are in their country i found them very pleasant and their children were having a good time. We travelled on the service buses brill and cheap dont be araid to use them 4 of us went to old market by these 4 only 10eyptian pound each about £1.20 each way.We also took a taxi to nnama bay by taxi haggle with them we paid 50 about £5.50 A few people had tummy upsets but we were fine drank plenty of water free from bar still say its people over indulging we had no prob with food always somethink you can eat salads and rice was lovely could of stayed on as staff very nice and helpful accross the board. Animation team good very friendly a good mixture of people met lovely group from Norway and Wales etc.We have no concerns to reccomend this hotel hope to return next year you go and relax and enjoy

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank johnandmaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 km away
Laguna Vista Garden Resort
0.3 km away
El Hayat Sharm Resort
El Hayat Sharm Resort
#30 of 32 in Nabq Bay
399 reviews
0.7 km away
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,795 reviews
6.3 km away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#113 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,016 reviews
1.9 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Azure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Azure Club

Property: Tropicana Azure Club
Address: El Gharkana Zone Nabq Bay | Near Sharm El Sheikh Airport, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#105 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Azure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tropicana Azure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Tropicana Azure Club Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tropicana Azure Hotel
Hotel Tropicana Azure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing