We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
southwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were upgraded to this hotel after ours was being refurbished, the only downside to our stay was there was building work going on, we asked to move rooms as we were close to the site, and the door on our room would not lock, the hotel staff changed our room with no problems to one with a pool view which was lovely. The hotel and staff were very good and everything was to high standard. We would definately stay here again. The staff could not do enough for us not even letting me open my own packet of crisis at the bar. Great hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seashell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    128
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
197
836
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have previously stayed at the Hyatt Regency Club and both are superb hotels but have very different appeal factors.We would happily stay at either hotel again.
Royal Savoy was excellent in the following areas:
Arrival and departure - incredibly efficient meet and greet and such a warm welcome.
Friendly staff throughout the resort not just in the Royal .
S class - really was exceptional being able to dine in a variety of restaurants rather than the usual all inclusive buffet type deal in the main restaurant. Very impressed with the quality and choice of food and drinks. Particularly enjoyed the seafood restaurant at lunch (Hi Hanna) the Italian and Bombay. Would have loved to have eaten more at Est but was only open one evening. Safari bar was also fab. The bar in Royal was usually empty and lacked atmosphere and closed early. A new bar is due to open ..not sure when.
Soho square is quite a USP and so refreshing not to be pestered- never went into Naama Bay.
Beautiful pool areas - main hotel pools were very large, modern and attractive. Royal savoy Pool area is quite small and the heated lower pool needs improved access eg steps into pool rather than rickety chrome ladder. Sunbeds are very comfortable and superb service by the pool staff.
Club area small but friendly. This area is being redeveloped.
Rooms are nice with large south facing balconies - a real plus! Rooms are very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Furniture on the balcony needs to be upgraded - uncomfortable chairs and the addition of a sun lounger would be perfect. Shower is over bath - not a big issue but nice to have a separate shower when paying 5* prices.
The beach for Royal Savoy guests is very small and just an extension to the main hotel beach. It was often full by mid morning and most Royal guests used the main hotel beach which was just as lovely. It has a delightful outllook over Tiran Island, very clean, and sunbeds very comfortable with lots of shade. You cannot swim directly off the beach - too shallow due to the reef.
The Reef is not the key attraction here but an added bonus. It is accessible from a pontoon and lovely staff on hand to help and advise.
Adult only area in the Royal Savoy a big factor in choosing this hotel.
A major problem was the WiFi not working and we only had an Ipad (no USB for internet connection). Keeping in touch with work proved difficult. However the management staff let us use their computer to access emails and documents.
The Royal Savoy staff , the freedom to choose from a range of excellent restaurants and Soho square are the key attractions of this hotel. We found it very friendly and relaxed (which we didn't when we visited the Four Seasons) and could not fault the service from management.
This review is objective and any issues raised are helpful feedback but do need to be put into perspective by the question - Would we return?- yes -would love to, but choosing between the Hyatt Regency and Royal Savoy will be a difficult decision since they are both fabulous hotels with very different appeal factors.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. Suites have a jacuzzi in bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DiRatcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you are looking for a short review then here it is:

Staff: excellent
Food: excellent
Rooms: Some good, some very good
Beach: good reef and pontoons but not the best in the areas
Hotel grounds and pools: very good
Location: Can't go wrong with SOHO square right at the gates of the Savoy

If you want more details then read on:...............................

ARRIVAL:
You must contact the hotel directly via email if you want to be met at the airport. For us, (that;s two coupes in our late fourties), it was a fantastic start to our holiday. As you go up the escalator after getting off the bus that brings you to the terminal, George was waiting for us. He whisked us through passport control and then another check point, smoothy going around all the queues. After picking up our bags, which we weren't allowed to carry, we were taken out of the terminal to find two Mercedes waiting for us, and I do mean just outside of the terminal doors. A short drive to the Royal Savoy entrance and we were escorted straight to the lounge where drinks arrived at our table with lightning speed. The lovely Anna then took us through all the information we needed to know and we then used our credit card to make payment. (We booked directly with the Roya Savoy to cut out any charges by travel agents). We were then taken to our rooms where our baggage arrived almost immediatey. Great start!!

But a note of caution ...... We have now visited four hotels in Sharm, and each one had a fantastic reception area. As we had now booked the Royal Savoy, at almost double the cost, we expected an amazing reception area, but in fact, you enter the Roal Savoy through what can only be called a shabby office. But if you know this from the start you will not be disappointed like we were. However, the Savoy main reception is beautiful and I expect the new reception to the Royal Savoy that is under construction will be beautiful.

THE ROOMS:
We booked two standard rooms as that was the ceiling of our budget as we also wanted to have the S Class package. On entry to the rooms we were confronted with a lovely four poster bed, which was very comfortabe. The room was well appointed with a good size balcony. So our first impression was wow! But we soon realised that the bathrooms were very tired and the overall condition of the room was not quite as good as we had thought after paying such a large amount of money. The fact is, the Royal Savoy is being extended and refurbished, but we unfortunately got rooms that had not been refurbished yet. However, the room was adequate and it was not about to ruin our holiday. Being British we were not going to moan, but on day two, we thought we should say something so we arrange a meeting with the manager and very politely told him that we thought the room was shabby and tired and we expected more from the Roya Savoy. A few days later we were moved to other rooms which were superb. Throughout our holiday, this was our only real gripe, in that, if they are renovating and know that some rooms are below standard, then they should not use those rooms or offer a discount. The Royal Savoy gives the empression of quality, but some rooms do not live up to the hype.

ROYAL SAVOY BREAKFAST AREA
Lovely quiet ou door setting as well as an indoor areas. But it is tired! The staff are fantastic and as soon as you get your head around the fact that the reception is no more than an office, the breakfast area is tired, many rooms are tired, the whole appearance from the pool areas looking at the Royal Savoy wing is tired, and this is even made worse by the building work area, then you are finally into a great holiday. The fact is, the Royal Savoy area is probably the worse part of the Savoy as a whole in terms of appearance. But the breakfast is what you would expect and the egg man Farag is great.

THE PRIVATE ROYAL SAVOY POOLS
If you want lively music, lots of activities, chaps running around in footbal shirts and a six pack of cheap beer plus girls with hardly a stitch of clothes on, then choose another hotel. But if you want peace and quiet, with fantastc service from the pool man and the drinks man, surrounded by lovely shrubs and trees surrounding the pools, with a gentle spa bath and an outside sauna, with the main pool of the three heated to 30 degrees, then here is it. Perfection and ony a few steps from the breakfast area. The drinks are great, freshy made mango and strawberry drinks, plus all the other drinks you would expect, in limitless suppy and served by lovely friendly staff, who would chat with you and help with learning Arabic or just leave you alone, what ever you wish. Great loungers, two towel's each and the daily papers brought to you each day.

THE PRIVATE ROYAL SAVOY BEACH
Small but adequate, with telephones by the side of you to call for drinks. The main beach for the savoy is adjacent but there is no noise from this area while we were there.

THE FOOD
Ok, its not perfect, its not all five star, but it was absolutely great. The seafood bar on the beach is great for lunch, not that it is all sea food, there is somethging for everyone. The service again was outstanding. The staff cearly love it when you try a few words of Arabic and during our stay we learnt a lot of words which all staff were only too happy to help with. The salds were great, the Salmon outstanding and the mixed grill was fab. the ice creams are also great.

The Rocky pool bar by the main Savoy pool was also great service and offered a nice change. We like to experiment with food, but sometimes you want something from home and the Rocky pool bar does a great Burger.

But in the evening it is so difficult to choose where to go. Hot Rock was great, the Indian superb, Eest was the best of the lot, but everytning we tried was good, with outstanding service. We agree with others that the Italian was not brilliant and we found Safron bland and un interesting, but it was good to try Egytptian food.

In short, in you are expecting British Five Star Restaurants then you will look elsewhere, but if you are happy with good quality food, in some great surroundings with great staff, then you will love it!

SOHO Square
Lovely place where you will find many of the great restaurants. Often good music and some elegant looking shops. Ice Skating, Bowling and more.

HYGIENE
All four of us had the salads, the fresh fruits, ice in our drinks and tried nearly all the food. I had a dodgy stomach for one day which couldn't be put down to the food as we all tried the same things. Don't drink the water from the taps and you will be fine.

BUILDING WORK
I can't speak for next week or next month, but the noise while we were there was very minor.

FINALLY
We had a great time, will definately go back, the staff make the place, and when the renovations are complete, then it will be the perfect package.

Nigel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ngelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our second trip, the first having been at the Savoy, the second at the Royal Savoy and how different it was. From the moment we checked in at the Royal Savoy, the ultimate luxury experience began. Samuel personally booked us in, in the club lounge and explained that nothing would be too much trouble and that anything we required would be catered for, which it was. We stayed in room 4233 which is one of the only rooms to have both a sea and pool view. The room was lovely with a large four poster large bed, lounge area and large bathroom with double sinks, shower and a bath. There was flowers, fruit and a fully stocked mini bar upon our arrival and every day fresh cakes were left in the room for us. Half way through the week the maintenance people even changed the curtains, voil around the four poster bed and some of the furniture ! We had breakfast in the club lounge each morning, and again anything you asked for was delivered without fail. We decided to use the private beach, which had sun tents, sunbeds with mattresses, unlimited towels etc ... There was even a phone in each tent which you could dial the bar to order your drinks ...... Not that this was required as the waiters never left you without and would bring your drinks and/or food if you wanted at regular intervals. The Royal Savoy has a no children policy, including the private beach and swimming pool areas so it was nice and quiet and very relaxing, with exception of the occasional visit from the windsurfing / diving reps who would try to sell their products, however they were polite and would not hassle you at all. We opted for the fully inclusive s class service so had the choice of all the hotel restaurants as well as the 15+ restaurants in Soho Square.The concierge would even drive you to Soho square in a golf buggy for the door to door experience if you feel as lazy as we did! The Italian in the hotel and the steak house were exceptional. We also ate in the Indian and Thai which again were nice meals. All of the hotel staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. Their English was fantastic and they were attentive but not over the top, which was nice as no ' my pregnant wife in Cairo ' stories were told to enhance their perceived tips, which we have experienced in the Savoy before ! The check out was seamless and we made use of the free private transport to the airport. Again the concierge escorted us to the airport in the Limo, took our bags to check in, completed our deportation cards, whisked us through passport control and took us all the way to security where we then had to fend for ourselves the first time that week. I highly recommend a stay in this hotel and look forward to returning next year as this was by far the most luxurious holiday that we have had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Weve just had a fantastic week in the sun staying at The Royal Savoy. The staff were very friendly and attentive, especially as I have a food allergy and when we arrived all the restaurants were emailed from the reception and every restaurant we went to knew about it in advance. It's never been as good as that anywhere I've stayed.
I also got badly bitten by a mosquito, which became infected and inflamed and required me to see their doctor. The hotel were excellent and because I was a guest at The Royal savoy even covered the excess of my insurance policy and all I had to make was one phone call to the insurance company. Excellent service. Also, because we were guests, we arranged for George who picked us up and took us to the airport, but it didn't stop there, he personally took us through all the check ins and security, and we went past all the queues at the airport. Time saved, at least 1 hour!!! Brilliant!!! To sum up we had we had a really relaxing break, whereby nothing was too much trouble from ALL the staff!! Thankyou for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our second visit and certainly not disappointed. From the moment we were greeted by Michael and whisked seamlessly past the queues at the airport and arrived at hotel within half hour of landing the staff just couldn't be more attentive, friendly and genuinely wanting to ensure everything is as you would want. Yes the rooms do need upgrading and the Royal Lounge is not very plush but this does not detract from the overall Royal experience. Upgrade work is ongoing but is done very discreetly so there is no disturbance or noise. The pool areas are excellent and very peaceful and as previous post I was quite concerned to find they are getting guest feedback as to whether to allow children - I hope they dont as this would detract from the atmosphere at the Royal. I would love to mention them all by name but I have to say each and every one of the staff were amazing from the reception staff, lounge waiters, gardeners and even the maintenance men we would pass - all had a smile and a friendly greeting. then you have the bar staff by the pool who are so attentive and guard the royal areas so well and with such gentleness. special mention to Bishoy in the royal beach bar who was so lovely to chat to and made the best Long Island Iced tea and looked after us so well. S class is brilliant with so much choice and great quality food - Seafood Island was our daily lunch destination by choice and we were served magnificently by the lady who managed the upper level so well and didn't even have to order drinks - it was already on its way!! soho square is fun and lively and Lentrecote steak house was really very good and I had a fabulous birthday meal there and they presented me with a lovely birthday cake. One of the other really good part of the Royal service is on the return trip you are greeted at the airport and again taken past the check-in queues and passport control to the departure lounge - thank you Abdullah. Overall a great relaxing holiday where we were spoilt rotten and we look forward to our next visit in their refurbished rooms!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, cheshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

S Class All-Inclusive.
Free upgrade to honeymoon suite, interesting after 28yrs of marriage, jacuzzi in bedroom.
Firstly, a few (minor) points.
1) Royal Savoy gives free private transport, including excellent help with Sharm immigration. This is not obvious; you need to organise directly with hotel. Luckily prewarned from Tripadvisor.
2) S class includes free 7 pieces of laundry. Put in after 9am, delivered back to room after 6pm next day. 3 phone calls later, we got laundry back 48hrs later. Big apology from laundry, and a gratis RS polo shirt - nice touch.
3) Different restaurants/bars; sometimes a little confusing about what is covered by S class AI.
4) Saffron restaurant (Middle East food) food a little tired and bland
5) Italian restaurant, excellent food but service somewhat hit and miss (only restaurant we did not give a tip)

That's the nitpicking finished.

Everything else was excellent. The RS staff are the friendliest, most helpful and willing we have met. Nothing was too much trouble, they all went that bit further to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We cannot name any individual, they were all exceptional.
Breakfast in RS had slightly limited choice, but good quality, and the "egg man" surprises were - surprising.
The restaurants we really enjoyed were Bombay(Indian) , Eest(Pacific Rim Fusion) and the Seafood Restaurant(Lunch). Seafood restaurant, for lunch, please don't bother paying extra for lobster, the catch of the day and seafood mixed grill are both very good. Please remember that food is very subjective.
RS lounge seems to have continual supply of very tasty snacks, drinks and cocktails.
Even the cabanas, on the beach, have telephones to order soft drinks, beers and cocktails- Bishoy makes an excellent Strawberry Daquari.
Would we stay here again; certainly.
Would we recommend this hotel; no question.
Caveat: This hotel can give you ideas of lotus-eating, an increased waistline, and reduced use of your legs. If this is your idea of a great holiday, and it was ours, this is the place for you.
We have stayedvinmany hotels, and this is the first time I' ve written a lengthy report such as this.

Room Tip: Higher floor, with pool/sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cbdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
9.1 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,006 reviews
0.1 km away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#37 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
0.8 km away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#4 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,718 reviews
8.6 km away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,949 reviews
0.3 km away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy is an exclusive club wing, complete with its own private lounge, terrace, pool, and beach area. Created for guests who prefer to stay in a more intimate and secluded location within the grounds of the Savoy. The Royal Savoy offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort, all providing views over Tiran islands or the hotel's landscaped gardens. The rooms range in size from the generous standard rooms, to the famous luxury Suites. All rooms are welcoming and capacious, offering an exceptional combination of style and function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing