We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiran Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tiran Island Hotel
Ranked #95 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Having read some of the reviews on this page, I was quite anxious about going to this hotel. We were a group of 8 people, 4 of whom this would be their first experience of Egypt. The age ranges were 52 to 18 both male and female.

WE HAD A GREAT TIME!!!

This is our 6th trip to Egypt as we love to dive and enjoy the sunshine so are not novices in understanding what to expect. I am not sure what people expect when they visit a county like Egypt but if you want meat, two veg and gravy or a good fry up each morning then this is not the place for you. However if you like freshly cooked fish, chicken and an array of freshly cooked rice and vegetable etc then give this beautiful country a go. They really need the tourist to start returning.

The hotel it's self is a little out of the way but that suited us just fine. However if you do want you can always get a taxi if you prefer somewhere with a bit more night-life.

The chefs (special thanks to Ali) really appreciate you taking the time to talk with them and we never had any problems finding something to eat which was always very nicely cooked. The bar staff are really friendly and can not do enough for you special thanks Hany and the boys for making some amazing cocktails. The rooms are very spacious and kept clean by the staff and they practise the towel art almost daily!!!!!

The most amazing thing about this hotel apart form the staff is the house reef, which is only a short walk or if you prefer they do operate a shuttle bus. It is like slipping into your own aquarium and has the most fantastic colours and aquatic life to watch. Just remember you are not to touch, not to take and not to feed.

Just remember it is different to what you would get in the UK but go with an open mind and I am sure like us you will really enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Our group had rooms 2135 to 2138 which were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunny Egypt and we hope you had a pleasant journey home.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We know your time is precious so we are always grateful for any comments you can pass on as they are important for us to maintain and improve the high standards you would expect from our hotel. I am sure many of the tips you have written about will prove very useful for guests looking to visit us in the future.

We will certainly pass on your thanks to Mr Hany and all the Bar Staff and I am sure they will be delighted they helped you have a wonderful stay.

Our menus are ever changing and improving depending on guests wants and needs so we are happy to hear you enjoyed what we had on offer during your visit. I hope you managed to visit the Italian or the Indian Restaurant during your stay also and we will pass on your thanks to Chef 'Ali'.

As you mentioned about the location, yes we are out of the main city of Naama Bay but we have Soho just 5 minutes taxi ride away and the hustle and bustle of Naama Bay is a just a little further so you really do get the best of both worlds at this location.

The coral and sealife is wonderful here and I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your time snorkelling from our reef.

Hopefully you will be returning to our hotel once again soon so please contact me on my email address shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com and let me know any requests you may have.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    586
    308
    142
    135
See reviews for
360
743
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here we decided either we were very lucky, or people really do have nothing better to moan about! It would take something pretty horrendous to spoil a holiday here. We had a lovely experience at this hotel. It is clean and well presented, and the staff are always friendly, helpful and welcoming. In particular waiters Ahmed and Omar who could not do enough for us! Our room was clean, spacious and quiet with a HUGE bed and fresh sheets every day. We stayed for 2 weeks and yes, the food did become a little repetitive, but it was perfectly edible and there was plenty to choose from. Soups, lovely fresh bread, a salad bar, potatoes and vegetables, meat and fish and fresh pasta cooked to order each night. The desserts were disappointing and lacking in flavour however, more fresh fruit would have been a great idea! We didn't drink much of the all-inclusive alcohol but the cocktails were perfectly acceptable!
The pool area is beautiful and was quiet for the majority of our stay, absolutely no fighting for sunbeds! No, the pool isn't heated (which would be pretty ridiculous in an African country!) but it is lovely to take a dip and cool off in the mid-afternoon heat! The private beach is equally lovely with a floating jetty for some AMAZING snorkelling! Yes, you get a little harassed by people offering trips/massages etc but you must come prepared for this. Remember they are simply trying to make their living and simply be polite and firm if you aren't interested! The quad bike/camel ride/bedouin dinner in the desert is FABULOUS and highly recommended, this can be booked through Alex who you will find on the beach every day! The tiran island boat trip is also pretty fun, a whole day's boat trip with lunch included and 3 snorkelling stops, however it can be frustrating that you have to stay very close to your group in the water and I did sustain the odd flipper kick to my head!
All in all an amazing holiday, we are already planning our return and would definitely consider returning to Tiran Island. For the price we paid, we really couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here at Tiran Island Hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us as guest satisfaction is obviously our top priority and we focus hard on customer service to ensure you receive the treatment you would expect on your holiday.

We are pleased you appreciated your room and the cleaning and that you enjoyed our cuisine served at the main restaurant. I have passed your comments about the desserts to our Executive Chef who will look in it to improving these and providing a larger array of fruit.

We hope you will visit us and the Red Sea again and therefore my email address is shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Arrived back from Tiran Island Hotel on the 30th April. Rooms are great, staff are friendly but not all over you. The only thing that lets it down is the restaurant. the food is very basic, and unfortunately because of the pig ignorant attitude of the Russians who insist on hoovering any spare food that's going and then leaving it on the table, they have worn the restaurant staff down so much they are now just catering to the basic Russian standard. We would love to go back to the hotel as everything else is great, but the food must improve.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time write a review about your stay with us.

Your comments are an important tool in helping us maintain and improve our standards so please rest assured all points are considerede and acted upon.

We now have a new Food & Beverage Manager on board and we have altered our menus after listening to our guests wants and needs and already there has been a vast improvement.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of showing you our changes so if you would like to return to our hotel please contact me on shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is brill. Friendly staff,great service and if you do have a complaint management only too happy to try and sort it as soon as possible .
I would recommend this hotel to anybody I look forward to coming back though we have not left yet x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank limpyleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your holiday to write a review.

We are happy to hear our hotel reached your expectations and any issues you may have had have been resolved.

When you decide to return please send me an email to shellie.wilson@tiranislandsharm.com to let us know when you are coming.

In the meantime please enjoy the rest of your stay with us and be assured that our whole team will exert on making your stay a memorable one.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My sister and I Booked this hotel and stayed two nights before finally giving up and relocating. We had booked two weeks, sadly based on many inaccurate reviews. I promise you it was simply disgusting. The restaurant was the worst I had seen and I could not even cope with sitting on the terrace looking at filth everywhere, stale food stuck to chairs and table legs, the entire place was foul. The decorations throughout the hotel had mould and algae growing in them, the bedroom was too awful, filthy toilet brush, dirty toilet, thick dust and rubbish inside lamps, bed unclean, the underneath areas were terrible, basically and I not say strongly enough that if you are looking for a reasonable value, clean hotel Do Not Book this. We booked through low cost holidays and our tour rep was very professional, and arranged us a change although we did have to pay something it was still worth it, we moved to the Hilton and had an amazing holiday thereafter. So please, holidays are precious, dont waste yours at this pig sty of a hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel and for your time which you spent to write it.
We’re really upset that you didn’t like your staying in our hotel. We apologize that you got this experience during your holiday. But please, could you pay attention that at the same time we have good reviews and comments from other tourists who really liked and enjoyed the time in our hotel. Anyway we will discuss all of these problems which you mentioned in your comment with hotel management in order to assume measures according to this.
We hope you finished your holiday well and reached your home without any problems.
Please, let us know if you decide to visit our hotel again in the future by my e-mail: antonina.kopylova@tiranislandsharm.com and we will do our best to make you holiday in the right way.

Best regards,
Antonina Kopylova
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a british couple in our late 20's who wanted a relaxing getaway in the sun.

The Tiran Island hotel looked impressive in appearance when we first arrived despite the hundreds of abandoned building projects in the area. We were told the many of the planned hotels ran out of funding whilst being built due to recent political issues.

The rooms were spacious and clean with a CRT tv with loads of channels. Room cleaning every day, big bed and a balcony/patio area was nice for a drink in the evening.

The swimming pool and beach area (5mim walk from hotel or free shuttle for the lazy) were both really well kept with loads of spare beds. Pool bar was a nice touch.

Now onto food. Overall quality of food and drink was not good. The food began to all look the same and we upgraded to the yellow wrist band from red giving us access to the Indian and Italian restaurants. Indian - ok food although small portions and very slow service. Italian - Best food in the hotel, pizzas and other meals very nice. Avoid the desserts anywhere in the hotel, this hotel has mastered the art of making tasteless desserts appear fairly exciting. 4pm ice cream from Italian was refreshing. Due to the Tiran Island hotel food we were almost knocked off our chairs when we went to the hard rock cafe in Naama Bay, food was amazing!

The drinks are served in small glasses meaning many repeat visits to the bar unless ...... you're a good tipping alcoholic where you will be rewarded with a larger glass... I was denied such a privilege. Despite asking for a particular cocktail it was often a surprise as to what drink we'd get. Don't get a yellow wrist band to drink late, on the one night we were in the bar past 11pm we couldn't get served by the only barman left who had better things to be doing. Avoid the wine at all costs!

We organised 2 excursions via our rep and both were great. The boat trip to Tiran island was fun and a great opportunity to snorkel in deeper waters. The lunch provided was fresh and tasty, and the crew friendly. The quad bike trip to the desert was really special, we went at sunset and shared a quad. The guides were genuine and friendly and the scenery was spectacular!

Overall this was a great holiday but we would advise being philosophical about certain aspects-ie food and drink. We definitely feel we got value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateDan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Staff was brilliant, hotel was overall clean and nice with good areas. Pool was great and the bus to and from the beach a great addition.
Food was good, not michelin star, but varied and catered for different tastes. If people think something doesn't look ok, just don't eat it!
Had some of the best massages ever at the Spa, even though the massage room was a bit uncomfortable with all beds there, yet they are expanding and moving to the new building so should only get better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isabelmourato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiran_Island_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Tiran Island Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel.
It’s very important for us to get feedback from our guests in order to improve our service in the future. We’re really happy that you enjoyed with your staying in our hotel and we hope that you’ll prefer our hotel for your next holiday.
Please, could you contact me to inform about your next reservation by my e-mail: antonina.kopylova@tiranislandsharm.com.

Best regards,
Antonina Kopylova
Quality Control & Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 km away
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
#83 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
1.4 km away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#106 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.5 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Coral Beach Hotel Montazah
Sharm El Sheikh Coral Beach Hote...
#135 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#52 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
1.0 km away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#12 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
1.8 km away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#103 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiran Island Hotel

Property: Tiran Island Hotel
Address: Montazah, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiran Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Sharm el Sheik's finest locations in the heart of Montazah, the Resort is able to offer an outstanding vacation, diving and conference experience. The luxurious four-star Tiran Hotel features 335 rooms and suites with sea, pool, garden and mountain views, two restaurants, including an Indian specialty restaurant Opening October 1st 2009), three bars, an extensive landscaped outdoor pool and children's pool, a kids club, an ampitheatre, a business centre, an internet café and a spacious conference hall with adjoining syndicate rooms. The Tiran Hotel has its own private beach featuring relaxation facilities, dining and a Bedouin tent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Tiran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing