We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Ranked #87 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only the one let down”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Le Royale is a really lovely hotel, it is set in very pretty grounds which are very well kept, the gardeners seem to be working pretty much full time.We went for a standard room which was bright and spacious and had a large flat screen TV and DVD player. It had complementary tea and coffee and also a mini bar which was reasonably priced although you don't really need it if going all inclusive. The bathroom had a separate walk in shower and contained a 4 piece suite with twin sinks. There are three lovely pools within the hotel grounds and there are plenty of sun beds around each one. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative to this hotel is that you pay 5 star luxury prices but have to use 4 star restaurants during the evening which are often very busy making it diffucult to find a table. There is just the one small bar within the grounds of Le Royale which is very nice but only serves light meals from a restricted menu until 4.30pm, it does however serve drinks until very late. We would certainly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    108
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
107
359
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Le Royale is just a stunning hotel, located in beautifully maintained gardens and grounds. The rooms are clean, well proportioned and quiet. The service and the staff are just wonderful and so genuinely helpful - they love children, and impressively the staff knew the names of each child whilst we were there. Made my daughter feel very special and comfortable! During our staff my mother was taken ill and was hospitalised. The management were unbelievably caring and couldn't do enough to help us (getting medicine, sending food to the hospital, making sure that me and my daughter were OK, visiting my mother - yes the pool boy went to see how my mother was!), Just very kind and caring.
If there was a 5 star restaurant actually on site, it would have been just perfect! But the Casablanca restaurant was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anshu k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

What a great hotel, its beautiful, clean, the rooms are specious, the bathroom was almost as big as the room itself, our room had a shower and a tub, service was flowless, the location is great, walking distance to town.
The grounds are well maintained, and if you stay here you have access to all the restaurants, pools and grounds of the Sonesta family of hotels, It was my birthday while I was staying there, and the staff make a personalized cake for me and had it in my room when I came back from a great scuba diving session.
I would stay here again, time and time again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colombianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have just returned from 10 days at Le Royale. Although the buildings and accommodation are immaculate and impressive, the hotel is badly let down by the lack of a 5* restaurant on site. Everyone on 'all inclusive' has to go to the adjoining Sonesta Beach Resort to eat - not a 5* experience in any way, shape or form, and badly let down in all the restaurants by the ghastly local wine that was served - unless you buy a bottle of imported wine for £62.... Part of a holiday is the enjoyment of a good meal in the evening, and this was not possible at this resort. It is a factor that many reviewers have mentioned, and is certainly one that detracted from our overall enjoyment of our holiday. On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly and wanted to get things right, but we felt there was a lack of overall training and attention to detail which would be expected in a hotel of this calibre. We had to request many items that were not provided for the three of us i.e. bath robes, glasses and mugs, and this became irritating. Although the hotel was only 35% full, room service was slow at times and, although we enjoyed very good room service breakfasts, we had to chase up plates, yogurts (which had been ordered ) and milk for our coffee - it was all rather haphazard! DO take plenty of anti-mosquito spray with you - we were all bitten whilst eating outside or sitting on our terrace - although the hotel state that fumigation is carried out. However, the sun was fabulous, the sandstorm interesting!, and the rest and opportunity to read wonderful. There IS a busy road outside the hotel with plenty of hooting going on, and aircraft do go directly overhead, but you almost get used to it. Would we go back? No, unless proper restaurant facilities and more efficient service was provided.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with direct access onto the quietest of the pools, which was lovely. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here two years ago, after a Nile cruise and were so impressed that this year we decided to take a short break here in late March. As i can see from other reviews everyone is suitably impressed with the rooms, facilities and staff so i can say little extra. Although we arrived after midnight the staff on duty were still enthusiastic and made sure we had our welcome cocktails while waiting for booking-in to take place. We had arranged to have an all inclusive package, which meant we could eat in any of the 7(?) restaurants in both the Royale and Sonesta beach complex's, although this was not truelly necassary as the bar by the private pool (one of three we could use), was serving food and drinks 24hours anyway. Only downside was we forgot to pack mosquito repellent and subsequently got bitten, because the nets over the doors were often left open by us during the day. The staff were most concerned and even went to the pharmacy for bite cream (no charge) and reinstateted nightly 'fogging' which seemed to cure the problem. We can't praise the staff highly enough, and we will be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have just returned from staying at Le Royale for one week having independently upgraded from the Sonesta Beach after spending a week there. The hotel was luxurious when compared to the Sonesta. The rooms were spacious, immaculately clean, bathroom was superb with separate shower, his and her sinks, bright lighting and state of the art fixtures. The beds were huge and so comfortable. The bed linen was changed every day with fresh, crisp duvet covers and pillowcases. The pillows and duvets looked new (unlike the Sonesta Beach where the bed linen was dirty grey looking and had seen better days and the mattresses and pillows looked as if they had never been changed since the day the hotel opened). The whole ambience of the room at Le Royale couldn't be faulted. The grounds were well-maintained (compliments to the gardeners who worked so hard to keep everywhere perfect), All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed a most relaxing time. However, one of the staff (who shall be nameless) who was extremely courteous to us and very helpful and attentive to our every need, did rip us off!!!!!

My only reason for giving this a 4* rating is:

Although we were able to have breakfast and a light lunch in the Royale all guests had to go to the Sonesta Beach Hotel for their evening meal, where the meals served were mainly stews of every description. At no time at the evening meal was the chef at the food counter cooking fresh food (which one would expect in a 5* establishment). I question whether we were in the same restaurants as other reviewers who seem to think the food was wonderful, well all I can say is it depends what your standards are!!!!! Because of the huge numbers of guests in the Sonesta everything was pre-cooked and left standing in containers. In the end we went for the evening meal out of necessity, sometimes having just soup and a bread roll, not to enjoy wonderfully cooked meals which is part and parcel of our normal holiday.Why build a beautiful new hotel and not include a restaurant exclusively for Le Royale guests with PROPER 5* food. Unlike some other guests in Le Royale, because we up-graded we were aware that this was the procedure to eat in the Sonesta. Allthough not happy about this, to live in luxury for a week after the awful accommodation in the Sonesta was a small price to pay.

All in all a great week was spent at Le Royale but would we return to Le Royale? Only if there was a restaurant on site exclusive ro Royale guests serving 1st class food and not school canteen rubbish.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katembelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Katembelou,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Le Royale and liked the standard of the rooms and accommodation , we understand your point concerning the dinner in a less luxurious restaurant and we will be taking this issue into consideration , we are sorry if you did not like the restaurant and hope you can give us another chance to make it up to you next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We traveled end of Feb ,,,,lovely place ,,,will visit again ,,,

Room Tip: Friendly staff ,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.8 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,245 reviews
0.6 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,001 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#26 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
#81 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,963 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#57 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,619 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#35 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort

Property: Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Address: 3 Royale Drive | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort, is a boutique property on the Red Sea.The resorts is a winner of the 2015 Tripadvisor award for luxury resort. The resort offers 165 oversized luxurious guest rooms and spectacular suites with upscale amenities and opulent finishes. The resort features 3 magnificent pools and 2 of them are heated in winter from November 1st till April 30th.The resort has a fine-dining Italian restaurant, bars, and lushly landscaped gardens.A Health Club is available at the Sonesta Club across the road .Just 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing