We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing staff!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

can i start by saying i have never reviewed a hotel before but i felt i needed to on this On this occasion. Please don’t let the negative reviews on here put you off! We stayed at the sonesta beach for one week 26th Feb to 4th March and we had an amazing holiday! The staff are by far the best I have ever come across!!. We booked a late deal and when we arrived we were in room 1305 the bathroom was not good enough at all, dark falling apart tiling that had been repaired so many times it was more filler and not good workmanship either might I add. I complained and asked to change rooms, they did this no questions asked and we were moved to room 2607 which was much better. Big room huge bed better lit and kept vey very clean.

We were worried about what we had heard about been poorly when we were out there but they was no need to worry at all. the food was great with plenty of choice (my girlfriend is a very fussy eater and not once did she go hungry) the food was very good for a AI hotel, I have to say though if we were there for 2 weeks it might have got repetitive.
The best thing about this hotel though was the staff never have ever been treated so well anywhere in the world!! Nothing was too much trouble everyone had a smile on there face and really made the holiday special. The guys on the beach will try and sell you nights in there restaurants but they are not pushy at all. In fact I planned a private romantic meal on the beach on the last night and it was amazing. I planned to ask my girlfriend to marry me and as soon as I said that to them they went above and beyond to make it extra special. It must have worked because she said yes!
This truly is a fantastic choice of hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. The Rooms really are the only thing that lets this hotel down. They were very big and kept very clean but they need to be refurbished as soon as possible. The beds were rock hard and slid around on the tiled floor. The bathrooms also need attention. Other then that I wouldn’t book any day trips through the guys on the beach or that come round the pool book with the rep we found this out the hard way. All in all a great place and thank you to all the staff for making it a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear james m

Thank you for this lovely detailed review , we are proud of our staff who contributed in making your stay memorable and we are very happy for you and your girlfriend and wish to have you back on your honey moon since it is where you proposed . As for the comment on the rooms i will definitely pass it on to the manager

Thank you again and congratulations for the future bride and groom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    857
    378
    140
    110
See reviews for
717
1,363
73
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Spent half term here mum and 2 teenage children. Absolutely flawless and would definately recommend this highly. Rep met us off the busvery nice but didn't use her services.The all inclusive was fantastic food fabulous and available all day. Restaurants were lovely and food excellent great choice. Snacks at the bars all day pastries, sandwiches, cakes, crisps, ice cream. Bottles of water unlimited at the bars and restaurants unlike other places we have stayed. Pools lovely we chose to stay away from heated pool more space and very refreshing! Joined in yoga - activities available but low key. Stroll into Naama on a night time 15 mins along prom. Rooms large but yes quite dark seems to be standard for Egypt but fine. Resort immaculately clean dettol used for cleaning I saw! Many thanks to Hady and Moustafa in the Dome for anticipating our needs so well I didn't have to lift a finger. Perfect all round.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yellerwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear yellerwelly

Thank you for taking the time to write these nice comments; we do value every review from our guests as it helps us meet your expectations. We are happy and proud of our staff that helped in making your vacation and your two teenage children a superb one. Can not wait to host you again soon at our resort

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

just returned its a nice hotel the rooms are dated and we were upgraded there is only one heated swimming pool out of six the food is nice but not very hot,and theres not much choice.there is little enterainment on a night time ,the resturants close at ten and theres no were to have a drink insde. there is 3 restuants the main 2 are the dome and citital which is full of russians. the grounds are very well kept the staff are exellent and will do anything for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear wayne d

Thank you for your lovely review and nice comments; we are happy we contributed in making your vacation a memorable one and hope to have you as a regular guest in our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at the Sonesta Beach Resort from 16th to 23rd February, following a week's cruise on the Red Sea. After reading previous reviews, we had emailed in advance and requested a quiet room on the first floor, with plenty of sun in the afternoon. We were given what I think must have been a family room, overlooking the Cactus Pool, with a large balcony and beautiful views of the Sinai Mountains. The room had a separate dressing room, bathroom, an enormous bed, a small second bedroom and a separate lounge area with fridge and TV. Lighting was a little dim, especially in the bathroom, which made it difficult for my husband to see while shaving. The rooms were kept spotless by Marawan, who came in every day to ask if everything was ok for us.

As part of the all inclusive package we could dine in Le Dome, the Citadel or Casablanca. The latter had to be booked 24 hours in advance and was an authentic Lebanese restaurant with waiter service, which made a pleasant change from a buffet. There were two a la carte restaurants - Indian and Italian, but we did not try either of them out.

We dined mainly at Le Dome because of its proximity to our room. The food was plentiful and varied and I defy anybody not to find something they could eat. Breakfasts consisted of fresh and dried fruits, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, breads and cakes and a large range of cooked items, including an egg station, where the chef cooked fried eggs and omelettes to order.

At lunch time and in the evenings there were always two soups, salads, cooked chicken and beef, fish and a range of vegetables and potatoes, as well as pizza and pasta. Puddings were generally very sweet and sticky, with some lovely chocolate desserts and creme caramel. There was a different theme each evening, including Mexican, French, Indian, Oriental and British. Wine was served with lunch and dinner but, in my opinion, only the red was drinkable - after all Egypt is not reknowned for its wine making.

The Citadel restaurant had a similar menu but also had some live evening entertainment. However, this was on early and we had to get there by around 6.00 p.m. to make sure of getting a seat. The entertainment there finished around 8.30 p.m.

The Animation team put on entertainment each night from 9.30 p.m. in the open air theatre but, when we were there, it was too chilly in the evenings, so we tended to go back to our room early and watch a film, or walk along the Promenade into Naama Bay, where there were plenty of bars, restaurants and night clubs.

The Animation team organised day time activities, including a Kids Club and exercise classes, such as stretching, yoga, pilates and water gym. These helped greatly in keeping the weight down!

The resort is set in enormous grounds, making it a long walk around from reception to some of the rooms. If mobility was an issue, we would advise asking for a room near the Beach end of the resort. However, the pathways are mainly on the flat, making it relatively easy for wheelchair users.

The beautiful gardens were constantly being maintained by a team of gardners. When we were there, there was an abundance of bougainvillea of different colours flowering everywhere. It was particularly nice to walk round at night, because of the clever lighting. We wondered if there would be mosquitos at this time of year, but we didn't find any. It was probably a bit too cold but, in addition, the staff went round at sunrise and sunset, spraying all the vegetation to keep the insects down. This was a bit scary the first time we witnessed it, as the areas being sprayed disppeared under a fine white cloud. However, we knew when it would happen, so avoided going outside while it was being carried out.

The beach was quite small, but well maintained and with a beach bar/restaurant called the Sea Breeze, where they did a seafood night with entertainment every Tuesday. We didn't go, but we met a couple who said they had been and thoroughly enjoyed it. The price was about £25 per head.

The staff were all very friendly and constantly cheerful. Reception staff were very helpful and, in the event of any problems, we found the management responded very quickly to put things right.

All in all, a very relaxing holiday in very beautiful surroundings and we intend to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Polly077,


Thank you for your lovely review and nice comments; we are happy we contributed in making your vacation a memorable one and hope to have you as a regular guest in our resort
Regards from the red sea shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just got back from a relaxing half-term break (12-19/2/12) at Sonesta beach. This is the 3rd time we have been and again we weren't disappointed. Roeom near Blue Wav pool as requested just a few steps to sunbeds. Dome restaurant a short stroll as well. Bathroom maybe slightly tired, room 2303, but spotlessly clean. Large bed with a soft(er) mattress as requested. Good variety of food on offer again, plenty of chefs in evidence checking the buffet. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Animation team did a great job, can you tell them John and John say hi and thank you. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just arrived back from this hotel BEWARE'' on arrival we were met by hotel staff and taken to room 1128 what a filthy hole. we went back to our thomson rep who would not even look at our room then given 1503 which was even worse than the first. out of our trip 6 couples moved rooms 2 couples moved hotels. after 3 hours we were moved into the new part room 2603 what a differance it was a palace everything shines it was worth the wait. all inclusive does not mean it here. food at the all inclusive beach bar you pay.all bars are outside. we were even charged for orange juice at breakfast. check what they give you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldwing1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have just got back from a week at this hotel, hubby and i were looking forward to a chilled week following a red sea cruise. The room was excellent very big and clean just like the rest of the hotel, we have travelled to egypt many times and know how the egyptians work and have never had a bad holiday in egypt yet until now.
We fully understand that what can suit some may not suit others and we are pretty easy going people but the food was very poor and eight people as far as we know caught a stomach bug including my hubby who unfortunately spent 24 hours in bed because of serious stomach cramps and vomiting. I treated myself to some gel nails in the on site beauty salon and what a rip off, after 24 hrs the colour started to chip off and when i went to see the management they refused to refund me the £30 stirling that i had paid, although they did offer to do them again i did not see the point in this as i had paid for a holiday to chill out and not to spend it in a beauty salon where the staff were incompitent and very rude.
I would never recommend this hotel to anybody for fear of embarrassment. PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING THIS HOTEL !!!!!. May i reccommend the Amarante Garden Palms Hotel to you as you will not be dissapointed, if only we could of stayed there like we have on numerous occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALISON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear ALISON G,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the time you spent in our resort . It is always disappointing to read a negaitive review, however, we do monitor such web sites for comments and of course comments, negative or positive, help us to improve ourselves .
I forwarded your comments about the beauty salon and the food to the concerned department and they will handle the complains , meanwhile I sincerely hope that you will visit again at some point in future to experience for yourself the progress we have made thanks to comments such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 km away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#117 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
6.7 km away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
410 reviews
0.5 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#58 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,125 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#91 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
601 reviews
0.9 km away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#7 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino

Property: Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino Sharm El Sheikh, stretching across the sands of Naama Bay, overlooks the Red Sea and South Sinai desert and mountains. The resort's traditional Arabic domes and archways form a village-style ambiance. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, and seven swimming pools for relaxing laps in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Beach Resort And Casino
Sonesta Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing