We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of villa Shahrazad

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai, Red Sea and Sinai

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Tash A
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I booked to stay at Villa Shahrazad and after looking at all the pictures and reading the amazing reviews I was so excited to stay here.

I contacted the owner several times and must say he was always very quick at responding and helpful.

On arrival at the airport I was informed that we would be met by Max. Max did not show and sent someone else to collect us at the airport. There were 10 of us who arrived from day one and the transport sent to collect us was not big enough to fit us all in and a second car was used to transport our luggage (which we were advised we would be charged extra for) as we were told a free transfer from the airport would be provided for 14 people I refused to pay.

We were advised that Max would give us all the information regarding the surrounding area and would help us during our stay. We were advised he would be there the second morning of our stay as he did not show up at the airport.

On arrival at the villa first look the pool area was absolutely amazing, however the inside of the villa was not up to the standard as described.

This should not be advertised as sleeps 14 as it is not properly equipped for 14 people. We had only a handful of cups/mugs, no bowls, 2 teaspoons and not enough towels. Once complaining to Mohammed 6 mugs and 6 cups were brought (still not enough for everyone)

The cot was absolutely disgusting and I wouldn't have even allowed my dog to sleep init. The cot had also broken and would have been unsafe to sleep in as there was no side meaning my daughter could easily climb out. This was replaced 2 days before the end of our 2 week holiday for a cot which was also unsafe and my 18 month old daughter was able to climb out of!!!

We had no hot water in the kitchen for the first few days and the dishwasher leaked badly all over the kitchen floor each time it was used. We reported but were told an engineer in Egypt would be unable to fix it and it would be fixed the second week of our stay (the dishwasher completely packed up and was not fixed at all, again were just given excuse of cant be fixed in Egypt)

The wifi did not work on arrival. we had to wait 2 days for it to be topped up (dongle) and once we had it was so slow would not load anything. I complained about it and on the second day before leaving the dongle was returned and the speed was super fast!!

All of the bathrooms have a horrible damp/sewerage smell and really do need a proper clean, looks like the toilets have never seen any bleach!!!

There are also low down canvases just hooked over exposed wiring, which my daughter easily removed (very dangerous)!!!!!!!

The villa is in a very run down residential area which stinks and there is lots of rubbish in the road outside of the villa. It is very far from everything which is a real shame. Really feel the area should have been highlighted!!!!

We honestly had problem after problem: water constantly running out, although was quickly rectified by Mohammed. The fuse box actually caught fire and there were flames coming out of the fuse box. Luckily it was daytime and my sister was in the kitchen or I dread to think what may have happened. Someone with us managed to turn off all the switches in the fuse box which stopped the fire. We then had to wait for an electrician to rewire. I must advise there was no fire alarm, smoke detector, fire extinguisher or fire blanket.

Following the fire we were left with no working oven or hob, Mohammed did manage to fix it eventually however another inconvenience.

I know the villa isn't really expensive but do feel that there need to be some major changes/safety checks etc even if it meant the price was to go up.

The villa should be well cleaned prior to any guests stay. Mohammed as lovely as he is speaks very poor English and we had very much trouble communicating with him when my husband who is Egyptian was not there. He should have more understanding of English if he is there to help guets.

Max was a complete waste of time and could talk the talk but not walk the walk. He offered us a free quad bike trip for all our problems 2 days before leaving, as we had already done it we refused and said we would be going to the waterpark if he was able to get us any discount. He said he could and called to advise that he could get us entry for £15.00 we advise that would be fine. We arranged to meet the following day at 10.30am at the waterpark. He called at 10.05am when our taxi was on its way to advise the entry was £40.00 not £15.00 which was more than we had previously paid with transfers when booking through a tour company. I was so angry considering this should have been a favour for all of the problems we had had. I told him not to bother we would sort it ourselves. His response was "ok" a complete waste of space!!!!

I would recommend booking trips through Time Tours which can be found about 5 mins away in Nabq Bay behind the duty free shop. Amazing guy and prices you wont be disappointed.

Supermarkets - I recommend Carrefour in Naama Bay or Ragob Sands in Arab Set is closer.

Had a lovely meal at Hardrock in Nabq Bay.

Naama bay is the place to be for bars, clubs, shisha cafes, restaurants, shops and is about 20 min drive.

A do feel it would be beneficial to have a welcome pack in the villa with useful information regarding local places to visit, tax driver numbers, trips etc and also maybe the option to buy a pack of bread, toilet roll, water etc as the last thing you want to do when you have a late arrival flight is try find a supermarket.

Overall the villa was a let down, but the pool and grounds were lovely. Personally based on our experience would not visit again. However would visit Sharm again, not the area or villa.

Soho square is lovely for hassle free shopping, bars, restaurants etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: pool area
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave your detailed comment and some helpful suggestions.
I am very disappointed to read that we have not satisfied completely your expectations.

Although a lot of what you have written are absolutely not true and sometimes offensive, i will take all your issues into the right consideration and will investigate about all points, because for sure something went wrong.

The  unexpected number of guests joined you to the villa exceeded the maximum capacity of the villa and this caused an overload for wifi, electricity.ecc

I wanted to mention some important points:

-The villa is equipped with an automatic fire alarm.

-The villa is inside a touristic residential area and walking distance from the villa there are some minimarkets and restaurants .Nabq center, Neama bay and Soho square are also not far away from the compound by car.

-Our Houskeeper Mohamed cleanens the villa daily during the stay of our guest(for free) and he can get our guest anything they need to buy from the supermarket without any extracharge.We don't just rent the villa but we give full assistance to our guests during their stay with anything they need to do.

Thanks a gain for your review.Your feedback is very important for us to improve our services.

We really care a lot about our guests and do always our best to anticipate their needs, let them leave the best experience in Sharm and feel home in the villa.

I do respect your opinion and really apologise to you and your family for any inconvenience .I hope you can give us a second chance to welcome you and your family back personally and to leave you with a beautiful memory of Villa Shahrazad. You can contact me for any future reservations or any enquiry.

Warmst regards
Khaled Ashour
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakir A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

As my friend Asher Nelson has left a review, I felt it is only right that I also leave a review since I loved and enjoyed this Villa and my stay in Egypt, Sharm El Sheikh very much.

We stayed in this villa for about 1 week with a large group of friends. The Villa is opposite the sea life resort where you can get a pass and enter and also go and have breakfast in the morning if it is not busy.

The Villa itself is huge, with 7 bedrooms, 1 being an en-suite and 2 with an apartment feel with a lounge and kitchen. 2 bedrooms were downstairs, 1 which has an amazing view to the garden and a mirrored door leading to it that you can open and enjoy the breeze and scenery (my room) and 5 bedrooms upstairs including the en-suite and apartment style rooms. There is also 4 bathrooms and 1 toilet which is more than enough for a large group staying. As mentioned in previous posts, the pictures does not do this Villa justice as the sheer size of this place is mind blowing.

But what made this Holiday and Villa really great was the hospitality we received from the Villa manager Max (who is now Uncle Max to us). He simply treated us like his family, he was always available to help us whether it was with medicine early in the morning if someone was feeling poorly or delivering us food from restaurants that do not do delivery services near enough midnight. He also has a cafe/restaurant in old market which has shisha, nice food and drinks (much better than any other places we have eaten at, we just wish we had spent more time eating there). Also me having bad luck during my times where my phone had crashed and stopped working, uncle Max was able to get it repaired for me straight away.

Uncle Max also provided us with our own driver so whenever we needed to go somewhere or had planned a day out, Mohammed or any of the other drivers would simply drop us off or even wait for us to finish our activity and take us back to the villa or anywhere else we'd like to go (they have great Egyptian music in the car).

As mentioned there is a small market down the road with your daily needs of mineral water, drinks and snacks for the villa at a very low price compared to the extortion prices everywhere else.

This trip to Egypt was meant to be just a holiday for us, but it turned out to be more than an amazing experience due to this amazing villa and the hospitality of Uncle Max, he is literally family to us now which is why we are coming back next year instead of travelling elsewhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uncle Max & The Villa
Liked least: The holiday finished too soon :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashern201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed in this villa for our stay in Sharm. Was simply amazing. Its in a residential complex but its right at the front. The sea life resort is just opposite and if its not a busy period they will let you in on a day pass for a charge to use their restaurants etc. (we didn't the Shahrazad guys also have a cafe in old market which is much better).

The sheer size of the place just can't be captured in pictures. Huge pool with waterfall and dipping pool, huge living area, a 2 bedroom self contained apartment and a further additional studio styled apartment... All rooms air conditioned etc.

In addition to that the people. Khaled is always an email away if needed but Max the manager went above and beyond to meet our needs. Any time of the day what ever we required! From stomach ache medicine at 7am in the morning to pizza hut at 11pm at night it was done! Cleaning services are also available from Ali and Mohammed2 upon request they would clean the house but by default they would clean the pool every day.

In addition to this they have their own drivers. Just a simple call to max and Mohammed or one of the other drivers will be there to pick you up any time in a fully air conditioned (in our case) bus. We are a young group and these guys honestly feel like our family ALWAYS looking out for us. We will 100% be back.

There is also a sort of small market that we used to buy our drinks. Max will introduce you to the shop keepers to ensure you get the best prices also.

If you are reading this and are thinking a villa will be the better choice to a hotel you are right. Yes its not all inclusive but the amount you get for your money makes up for that. They offer all the services the hotels offer but better and as you will be interacting with people other than hotel staff it will make your experience a lot more enjoyable.

As I said we would be 100% back and we are not an easy bunch to please!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Max our villa manager
Liked least: That we only booked 7 days :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I could not thank much for the excellent service which we received throughout our stay. Max & Mo made our holiday enjoyable and the villa was one of the best why book a hotel when you have Villa Shahrazad. Thank you for the wonderful and joyful experience.
Max coordinated all our excursions, transport, shopping and all needed was catered for. We are hard to please but this time Max managed to go beyond our expectations. Mo the caretaker was so helpful and he escorted us to the supermarket to make sure we got what we wanted and he also make sure the house was clean. He is a nice guy with good potential. Will come back again

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael A
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have had a tremendous family gathering at Villa Shahrazad on Christmas where we were travelling as a family with kids (5 Kids) and all were extremely happy with the cleanliness of the villa and the amenities available upon our arrival.
You do not need to bring in anything with you including beach towels if required as there are plenty and you can stock your fridge with snacks for the kids from a nearby supermarket and also a pharmacy is nearby.

Mohamed is available at the villa all the time and he is very polite and helpful in providing you with anything you need. Max too gave us a very warm welcome upon arrival and offered to arrange a BBQ if needed in the garden but we did not have time for that although it would have been a very good one.

Soho square was 10 minutes away by car as well as a Beach in Sharks bay so we took a glass boat to Nabq where kids enjoyed it so much

I recommend the stay at Villa Shahrazad to anyone who travels in a group with kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Pool Temperature
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robrefere...
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW, better than could have imagined.”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely brilliant, Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay to sample the delights of Sharm. The house and gardens are stunning and the pool is to relax by. The house is a huge area with large living space with very good kitchen and amenities. Two bedrooms on ground floor with bathroom and another 5 bedrooms upstairs with a further two bathrooms along with a master bedroom with ensuite, sitting area, balcony and walk in wardrobe. There is also a large roof terrace with stunning views. The pool was brilliant along with the jacuzzi and waterfall although we turned that off to reduce the noise when relaxing. Mohamed in his in little hut at the villa entrance is better than any man-Friday and was available for any issues we had and he kept the villa and gardens immaculate. We booked direct through the owner Khaled who himself met us at the airport and offered advice on where to shop and how to get about. He was an absolute gent and he and Mohamed decorated the living room and pool to help us celebrate one our birthdays. he also ensured we had an Egyptian mobile so as we could keep in touch with him for any other issues. he also arranged Birthday cakes to be delivered. I could go on and on but you'd get bored of how good this place seems (it is) However everywhere needs a little negative to balance and show fairness. Location is a little of the beat and is a good 1 hour walk into the main area. minibuses at 30-50p (yes pence)per person run all hours and will stop to pick you up and taxis cost about £3-5 each direction. There was a good shop within 10 minutes walking along with Pharmacy and restaurants. As a footnote we have already booked our return for next years dose of autumn sunshine. Khaled also arranged a day visit to Cairo(pyramids and museum with your own guide) and a boat trip where we had our own dive instructor(extra cost) If you are tempted feel free to contact me for further info or deal direct with Khaled the owner as he is brilliant.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scubadoo1...
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overall very good”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As with anywhere you stay there is good and not so good.
transfers to and from villa on time and a reasonable 120 egyption pounds each way.
the villa is very spacious the enormous lounge area superb, (could do with another 3 seater sofa to fit everyone in) large tv.
the kitchen is well equipped and everything worked plenty of plates cups etc.
the dining table only has 6 place settings so a little small for a party of 8 + baby
the 2 down stairs bedrooms are small but adequate.
downstairs bathroom in need of some TLC.
The up stairs master suite is massive and well appointed (could do with a couple of chairs) you can see tiran island( if your an early bird like me the sun rise over tiran was breath taking). over looks the pool area.
the (separate) up stairs living area was handy for us as there were 2 families and they could have there own space when they needed it. there was a hole on the wall were there was once a tv!.
but the jewel in the crown is the pool area with it's waterfall and separate jaccuzzi . it has the wow factor and we spent hours there. (could do with a sun shade for there is no shade around midday also a screen across the car port area would stop people gorping in). 4 sun loungers and a dining table with 6 chairs.and some nice shrubs acting as a screen from the road outside.
the turkeys, yes turkeys, there were a couple kept under the stairs leading to the first floor. the kids loved them. we told them they were pets :-).
bbq area, lots of beduin style seating and a large barbie. we had 2 while we were there and both were a great success. bit weird cooking poultry with the turkeys gobbling in the back ground :-)
mohammed the live in guy in his hobbit hole at the end of pool area, was a nice bloke. kept the pool and pool area clean and tidy everyday. and tried to sort out out any problems that arose.
an email to Ahmed the owner sorted out the problems that mohammed couldn't.
house is in a residential area and as such is a bit off the usual tourist bits with quite a lot of traffic noise and dogs barking at all hours.
the taxi driver recommended by Hamada was rude and tried to rip us off and we only used him the once. there is a taxi service just outside the compound to the right who was cheaper and friendlier.
we had a couple of outages hot water/water/internet but nothing major all put right speedily.
but the biggest disappointment was the local rep Hamada.
when he collected us at the airport and then took us to the supermarket and helped us the first evening we arrived i thought he was going to be a real asset. and had read on previous posts how he would pop in from time to time to make sure everything was ok. we only saw him the once.
when the problems occurred we tried to call him an A he couldn't understand us or B did nothing to rectifier them (email to Ahmed got them sorted).

an information book about, excursions/takeaway delivery services/restaurants etc in the area would have been handy. we've had this in other places we've stayed and has come in very useful.

i have given this villa 5 stars because it deserves it. the few problems didn't detract from the great time had by all.

i would go back here in a heart beat.

finally would like to thank mohammed and especially Ahmed for all the help given while we were there. THANK YOU.
Andy

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing