We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sinai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinai
Ranked #124 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband booked this holiday as a 65th birthday treat two weeks before we travelled, my brother and sister-in-law also decided to come along. It was our first visit to Sharm el Sheikh and the Melia Sinai and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely garden room, right by the pool and beach. Food and service was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. Special thanks to Samir at the pool bar for his attentive service all the week. The weather was great in the high 20's all the week. My husband and brother enjoyed the snorkelling off the jetty and it was lovely to wall along the promenade after our breakfast in the morning. We ventured into Naama Bay and also Soho Square which were interesting.
The only blip in what was a great week was that when we arrived there was no one to meet us and we had to get a taxi, but again the hotel were great and sorted out our contact for the return. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaisydoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is our pleasure to make your stay memorable one.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you and your family again in the near future in Melia Sinai.
Best regards
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    286
    123
    71
    51
See reviews for
217
358
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a long day due to a 4 hour delay for a fuel leak on the plane out of Manchester.The hotel was really helpful and ensured we had a meal in the restaurant even though it was very close to its closing time. The decor in the reception and the lobby bar was really impressive and very well laid out. The staff both in reception and this bar were absolutely superb and did speak many languages but the majority of holidaymakers in this hotel did speak english. Our room (4223) was adequate for us but the bed was very hard, and the bathroom was not really up to 5 star, nor the balcony furniture which was in need of renewal. The pools were excellent and with one heated during the winter was a bonus, the pool staff especially Camel were great and gave fresh towels and laid them on the beds for us every day. The gym if you could call it that was not up to much nor in our opinion the spa (which was 2 beds in a room at the back of the gym) the one at the Sinai was fantastic and the staff were far far better. You could walk along the promenade which was paved for about 2 miles except for 2 parts when you had to go on the beach. Our only complaint which we voiced to the manager was the food (poor choice, funny mixtures and not very hot) Overall the staff were friendly, very obliging, and extremely efficient. Overall we would rate this a a maximum 4 star property.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room which seemed to have easier access. Al rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
Comments of our guests are very important for us and we take it very seriously.
I have shared your comments with management team.
From 1st of March 2012 we increased our variety and inserted a new items of food in restaurant’s menu from.
Thank you for all your important notes about the room.
Please, at your next stay just contact Melia Connects line or our HK team, who with pleasure will fix soft mattress in your room and make your stay comfortable one.
I look forward to welcome you back at Meliá Sinai,
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just got back from two weeks all inclusive at Melia Sinai a fantastic deal booked through sunshine.co.uk who I highly recommend. Rooms are spacious with good sized balcony and wonderful sea views. Food could be better but certainly not the worse we have ever had. We went a couple of times into Naama Bay - would not want to stay there as the hassle of getting round the shops and restaurants is exhausting.
Staff at Melia Sinai are brilliant and made our holiday extra special. A special thank you to Waleed, Mohammed, Ahmed and some others (sorry I have forgotten the names!) who couldn't do enough for us. The Gin and Vodka were like parafin but whiskey, rum and brandy were good. Wines and beer are also good. The entertainment team worked really hard to make sure everyone had a good time so special thanks to Lena (I wish I had just half of your energy and enthusiasm), Lenka, Frederick, Giorda (sorry if I've missed anyone off) you were all brilliant. If you wanted to join in you could but you weren't badgered if you didn't want to.
Would definitely go back and if we can get the same deal next year, we will be there.
Don't confuse this hotel with Melia Sharm - that is part of the same group but next door to Melia Sinai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aggs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Comment of every our guest is very important for us.
We share it with all the team.
It is our pleasure to provide best quality service to our customers.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked this holiday back in October as a holiday of a lifetime for my 40th, at First Choice Warrington. Paid ££'s extra for an upgraded room and after a lot of reassurance from FC (it wasn't clear on the paper work that we had paid for the upgrade) On arrival it was most obvious that we were in a standard room. We met the Thomas Cook rep who was very pleasant and helpful & provided us with a final statement of our booking that showed that we had paid for a basic room???

So what happened to the extra money we paid for the better room??

Rant over, will never book with First choice again.

Melia Sharm is Grand!!! If you can do the snorkeling, it's mind blowing!!:) also the O'Grill at dinner time! Waleed doesn't like to see an empty glass!!

The 'canteen' is ok, far too much to choose from, by the time you have chosen what you want to eat it's gone cold on your plate!!

Lovely beach, we didnt use the pool's as the music was a bit BOOM BOOM!

Don't book a 'glass bottom' boat trip if you can snorkel. The sand buggies were a blast, but don't get taked into a DVD, total waste of £15....

Overall a great holiday, made better by other people that you meet: Jane & Dave, Pat & Tony!!!:)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arecrhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at Melia Sharm Hotel.
The positive comments give us motivation to keep up with the good work.
I've shared your review with all management team and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Went to Melia Sharm on 16.01.12 for 1 week All Inclusive winter break. Lovely quality hotel and pool area. Staff were always friendly and pleased to help. Cocktails were nice especially Green Paradise made by Hamdy at the pooside bar. wine and beer is drinkable but whiskey and brandy best avoided. We found the food quite good quality with plenty of variety but the hotel need to tackle the problem of birds feeding in the restaurant also! Also for a change try the O Grill for lunch and the Italian in the evening where there is a limited menu but individual needs are catered for by Mohammed i.e. well done sirloin steak and mash!! The wine is also excellent as it is bottled as opposed to draught. Tipping was not a problem we only tipped at the end of the holiday to represent the good service we had received. If you plan to walk out during the day or evening then this is not the place to go. Nothing around only hotels both complete and not built yet. Need to get a 10 min. taxi ride to the the nearest centre, Soho Square which is very clean and smart. Annimation tean were possibly Eastern European and we did not go to any shows or join in any activities but regardless, they were very friendly and always tried to encourage us to participate in a nice way.

Room Tip: If travelling in winter ensure your room is on the sunny side as our room never received any sun and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for review.
We appreciate your feedback and It's very important for us.
I've shared your comments with management team and we are trying to find solution and solve "Birds issue" as it's common problem of the area.
We hope to welcome you again at the near future.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had 2 weeks at this hotel Jan 2012 and have got to say the staff were absolutely fantastic couldn't do enough for you, the room was tidy but the bathroom was not to a high standard, The beds are very hard there's no spring in them at all and the grime round the bath had been there for sometime and the bathroom tended to flood when you had a shower or a bath from a plug on the floor under the sink we had to use towels to mop it up !! and also the heater on the air con didnt work even when the maintenance man had been to sort it !!! we ended up watching tv in bed to keep warm in the evenings, as the entertainment was zero apart from the Animation team performing for an hour and that was very amateur. The food on the buffet wasnt very good as we discovered we ended up with mild food poisoning which antibiotics rectified but it spoilt the first 4 days of our holiday, we ended up having our lunch at the O Grill and our evening meal at the Italian A La Carte which you have to pay for but at least we didnt get any tummy upsets!!. The towel attendants were superb and very funny which made our holiday and also Mohammed who worked for the Hotel organised all our ventures like quad biking, speed boat etc as the one day out we booked to go to St Catherines with the Thomas Cook rep got cancelled for some reason? Taxis arent that cheap and your better booking the taxi through your hotel as the taxis on the streets cost the earth and do get very angry if you question the price. All in all it was a pleasant holiday but not one that i would go to again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Sheila,
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about stay at Melia Sharm.
Please, accept my sincere apologize for some unexpected moments during your stay.
Unfortunatly, our A/C system haven't got heater as average temperature in the city is high.
Regarding entertainment we have alive music at the Lobby Bar 4 times per week and 40 min shows at the Disco Lounge also 4 times per week + one Karaoke evening.
Also in the main restaurant we offer buffet menu with 14 days rotation. Quality of the food is under regular control of special hygiene companies. Sometime some guests feel not comfortable with stomach due to change home country and taste local food, water, milk and ect.
Thank you once again for the feedback.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

visited this resort for xmas and new year hotel is very nice in itself but the service was very poor around most of the hotel unless u tipped the staff, the food was of poor quality and very repetative and the birds visited the restaurant feeding on the salads and cakes mostly in the mornings and nobody bothers to do anything about it, the drinks were available 24 hrs but they all tasted the same, the mini bar in room only got filled if u paid and the tea and coffee facilities in the room had no milk and also never got replaced after use, the brouchure tells a different story to the hotel itself . this hotel has just been upgraded to a 5 star by thomas cook this is a joke no way is this hotel 5 star. there is a man who offers trips around the pool which are cheap but they are not worth the money u dont get what he says u do. big tip if u complain all the time u get better treatment we never complained officially to anyone in the hotel and its as if u not there best bit of the holiday was the fish in the sea

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharm, Manager at Sinai, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the not expected experience during your stay at Melia Sinai.
Your comments are very important to us, the positive comments give us motivation to keep up with the good work and the negative comments give us guidelines on how to improve our quality.
We took notes of your comments as these are very important points.
We will take necessary actions.
Regarding Birds, it's a common problem of the area. We are trying to find solution to solve the issue.
As per Mini Bar and Tea/Coffee Facilities refilling-according all inclusive formula we serve it one time upon arrival. If guest would like to refill mini bar, Room Service is available 24 hours.
Best regards,
Ekaterina Matvienko
Assistnat Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 km away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#83 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.4 km away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#101 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.7 km away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#114 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#87 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
1.9 km away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.2 km away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai

Property: Sinai
Address: Pob 154 - Montazah , Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 154, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#111 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sinai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sharm El Sheikh
Melia Hotel Sinai
Melia Sinai Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing