We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good 3* Hotel - recommend a visit”
Review of Sonesta Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta Club
Ranked #117 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in the Sonesta Club for 2 weeks - 20/02 to 05/03/12. Room 255.
This was our 3rd visit to Naama and this hotel is dated but extremely clean. Bedding and towels changed every day - only complaint was the mattress was like sleeping on a table, no give at all. Told that not all rooms are like that.
Food had a good selection although we thought it bland, just ask the waiters for the hot sauce they have at their stations or use one of the many oils at the salad counter. Curries smelled good but no real taste.
Animation/entertainment was very very poor
3 Pools/pool areas were cleaned every morning
We went all inclusive and to be honest should have went half board or B+B as the 2nd week was a carbon copy of the 1st in food, entertainment, etc. We ate out for most the 2nd week. (1 in Kokai Restaurant, 1 at the Dananeer, 3 times in Tandoori - Camel Hotel, 1 at the Tavern Bar, 1 in Pomodore - Camel Hotel - - all excellent)
Staff were exceptional - Mohammed the barman was brilliant at handling the Russians that were ignorant and refused to queue (must stress that not ALL Russians are bad, depends on upbringing/some don't have the intelligence or common courtesy to treat other nationalities as human) he would just completely ignore them, then shout back at and not serve them. Loved the Brits and other Europeans who would talk and not shout demands. Very funny sense of humour. Probably could have done with help from the other 3 bar staff who seemed to stand around talking to each other and ignoring customers?.
Ate our meals outside and were really cared for by Kaled and Tarek who brought us drinks when they saw empty glasses and spoke when they had the chance - excellent service - recommend hotel keep all 3 mentioned - hard workers.
Its a 10-15 minute walk into Naama Bay which is less hassle if you cut through the Sonesta Beach to the esplanade. Listened to the Live music at bars and hotels along the way.
Would I go back to Sonesta Club - absolutely for 7-10 days

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keyholefaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

hotel was lovely and clean , food great and im a veggie, staff were so helpful could not do enough for you no complaints apart from the rep who was totally useless.............

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleyanne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

returned to sonesta after being there five years ago to have found hotel has doubled in size, and extension has been done to a high standard.on arrival we were greeted in reception by ibrehim who remembered us from our previous visit our room was lovely ,spacious and well equipped.main pool has plenty of sun beds and the animation team do things throughout the day,there is also another pool area if you want peace and quiet seven pools in total.food is good with plenty of choice and the waiters are very friendley and helpful.there are two main bars serving drinks all day and bar staff are all very jolly.we very much enjoyed our 10 day stay we recommend this hotel as will go back again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankphilomena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice hotel,room was clean,food was excellent..the most positive about the hotel is the service and staff!! Young man at the Dolphin bar mr.Khaled,also mr. Beder Saber from main restaurant,very friendly,helpful,always smiling..The negative side is Russians all over the place!! They are rude,impudent,loud..unfortunately this is a matter of all the hotels in Egypt..They are just everywhere!! And it is the reason I will probably never come back to Egypt.I would recommend this hotel for a nice stay-if you dont mind Russians.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We traveled last week to Sonesta Club. It was our first visit to Egypt.
First when we got our rooms it was very disappointing. But when we went to the reception and complained about our rooms we got directly better rooms that fitted our wishes.
The service was very, very good. Especially the boys at the poolbar are very friendly and willing to help you.
Also the food in the restaurant was excellent.
Some people are complaining about the food. I don't know what they are used to at home, but there was really no reason for complaining. The variety was great and the quality of the food was very good.
If we should choose again for a resort in Egypt we definitif would choos this resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great staff and lovely clean rooms ..... Food was very good and a nice walk 20 minute walk to Naarma Bay.

The only down side was the Russians ....rude,loud, and in fact they are down right ignorant.

They just walk up to the front of any que and demand serving ....The hotel staff should do more to ignore them.

Apart from that we would go back as it is great to be able to walk into Naarma Bay ....but only go after 1800 when it is busy ...that way you get pesterd a lot less, one word of advice to reduce being pesterd... Do not look at them and just keep walking and try not to talk when you walk past them.
They try and talk to you in English then Russian and the German ....but by this time they give up and move onto the next victime .....If they still won't leave you alone then say to them Laa Laa .....apparently that is Egyptian for ....DEFINATLY NO

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Ayotteted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I have travelled to Namma Bay on a number of occasions, but we keep coming back to the Sonesta Club. It suffered a few years ago for poor food choices, but on our last visit in June 2011 the food was of a high quality and variety.
The staff are very sociable, and want to get to know you, and should you take the time to talk to them they are very nice people.
We have used the massage unit, and again the staff are very professional and caring. We built up a good relationship with Wakim, who was out towel and sunbed supplier, he was great and looked after myself and my wife really well, and we look forward to meeting up with him again at the end of March 2012.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrishobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 km away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#91 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
602 reviews
1.0 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,227 reviews
0.9 km away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#100 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
590 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#16 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,847 reviews
7.6 km away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Club

Address: Naama Bay | 2 Sonesta Club Drive, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#106 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $156 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Club 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fashionable Naama Bay, the Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh overlooks the Red Sea and the South Sinai peninsula's desert and mountains. A traditional Nubian-style resort, the property is surrounded by landscaped gardens and dramatic pool areas. Known as one of the best Red Sea Resorts, Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh with 409 unique guest rooms, the hotel is located in Naama Bay and shares its beach with Sonesta Beach Resort & Casino. Sonesta Club has one of the largest aqua parks in Sharm El Sheikh; in addition, it has two great main pools divided into seven pools and a Diving Center. The hotel also offers an open air jacuzzi for the relaxation of its guests. There is also a children's program for the younger guests. Guests can pamper themselves with a sauna, steam bath or Jacuzzi, work out in the Club's fitness center or relax with massage treatments in the health spa. The Club offers several fine dining options! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Club Sharm El Sheikh - Naama Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sonesta Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El-Sheikh Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing