We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt at Nukubati”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nukubati Private Island
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Labasa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spoilt at Nukubati”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have just spent the most wonderful 5 nights at Nukubati where we felt very spoilt ~~

Flew from Nadi to Labasa on an ATR42-500 and it was a great 45 min flight – lovely hostess on board to give us a moist towel, bottle of water and a newspaper as well as the great views !!

On arrival at Labasa we heard there were 2 couples going to Nukubati so we squeezed into the back seat in the Pagero so the other couple could fit in --- but no, they had 2 x 4WD’s to pick up 4 people – made for a much more comfortable trip to the wharf where the Nukubati boat was there for our transfer to the island.

Our first glimpse was of so many colourfully dressed smiling faces, with the most beautiful flower leis, a cool drink and scented towel to greet us. We were given an introduction to the resort, a lunch menu to choose from and then shown to our bure which was full of natural light and so much space - Separate sitting room, huge bathroom, enclosed back courtyard with furniture for the morning sun, and front verandah to catch the afternoon sun. Rooms are decorated with good quality plantation style furniture with bright coloured cushions and beautiful views thru the screened, shuttered windows. Loved the old prints framed on the wall including an original map of Fiji from the 1800’s.

We loved that we could eat whenever we wished --- no need to get up and rush to meet a breakfast timetable was wonderful. When you come back from breaky, your room will be all made up with fresh towels, sheets and flowers. When you come back from dinner, the curtains will be closed and everything ready for bed, including fresh towels.

A huge congratulations to the chef and team --- they produce beautiful, fresh, simple and tasty meals, I loved that fish was on the menu for breakfast, either poached, fried or grilled along with all the usual offerings. You ordered lunch after breakfast (3 course choice) and then ordered dinner after lunch (4 courses including a different sorbet each night). Our faves were the crab done with chilli + black bean, the huge lobster dinner and the most tender octopus done in coconut milk we’ve ever had. Honestly, their food was a definite hi-light – Cathy always looked after us so well and along with the gorgeous view, it was a pleasure every meal time.

We were surprised with a Birthday Cake for a special birthday and it was the best cake (banana with butter icing), that we have ever had!! All the staff came out to sing Happy Birthday – very warm ~

Nukubati is an “All Inclusive Resort” and I requested in advance to have a 2011 Sav Blanc available and was most impressed that Sena had organised for a high quality wine to be there for me. Canapes and Champagne for sunset were always highly anticipated --- another nice extra touch ^^

Another thing we loved about Nukubati were their immaculate gardens and the lovely soft grass to walk on between the Pavillion and our bures – no shoes needed the whole time. They also have good quality chairs & tables under big umbrellas through the gardens to sit and enjoy – beautiful.

The Sandbank Picnic is a must --- so private and an esky full of whatever you choose. Snorkelling from the sandbank is pretty good too. They leave you with a walky talky so you can be in contact with the resort if needed. When you come back from any boat trip, you are greeted on the beachfront with a cool scented towel – it’s the little things that make a stay special.....

We did the trip out to the Great Sea Reef and saw a fairly good size shark straight away --- thanks to Solate for looking after us so well – very cool lady.

Fairly obvious that we absolutely loved Nukubati and will definitely return --- special thanks to Sena, Cathy, Solate and Johnny with an extra , extra special thanks to my nurse Eta xx

Julie & Brett

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BaySydney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
183
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We chose Nukubati as the destination for our recent honeymoon during May 2012. We stayed for 5 nights on the Groupon voucher and we were slightly aprehensive when we purchased it, but within minutes of arriving all those fears were relieved.

Everything on this island is sheer perfection! The staff greeted us on arrival and made us feel truly welcome and everything got better from there.

The accomodation is clean, functional and simply furnished, however the little things make the difference such as the fresh flowers every day and the fancy folded towels.

The island is stunning and the grounds are maintained with an eye for details. Dont miss the sunsets from the lookout, they are amazing!

The food is awesome and so are the drinks. I really liked the "Chunky Monkey" Cocktail and the wife went for the "Isa Lei" mmm yum.

There wasnt too many activities, which was part of the reason why we went to Nukubati in the first place. The Sandbar picnic was really good and had good snorkelling right from the beach. The sailing on the catamaran was heaps of fun and so was the glass bottom boat. The medicine walk is also really good and a definite must do.

The worst part about Nukubati is leaving. We soooo didnt want to leave and cant wait to get back there soon.

If you get the chance, dont miss out on a trip to Nukubati. The Groupon vouchers make it such a good deal, it is hard to miss.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GMilhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I have had the best experience at Nukubati. Right after you hop off the plane at an extremely tiny airport in Lhabasa, expect to experience a 1-hour thrill ride on a 4x4 vehicle through rocky roads and lush meadows. But remember to take a pill if you have car-sick, because you’re in for a bumpy ride. After reaching the jetty, you are then transported by a 2-minute ride on speed boat to the island.

As you approach the island, you are readily greeted with friendly smiles, dancing and music. It’s like returning to your family who is already waiting at the door all psyched and ready to greet you. You are then escorted to the reception to fill out a form. Strange thing is that they never asked for a deposit nor did we get our room keys. It’s that safe. After cooling off with a scented cold towel and coconut drink, Kim (Jenny’s son) gave us a brief tour of the resort. Afterwards we were brought to our dining table for lunch because our room was not ready yet. Do not expect lavish meals, because this is not what this resort is meant for. But you can surely get the most out of Fiji cuisine. Everything looks home-made and decadent. They even offer an open bar with an assortment of wine (red & white), bubby, cocktails, beer, sodas and juices.

The accommodation is simple and comfy. There are only 7 rooms at Nukubati. The largest are honey moon bures and there are 2. This is where my wife and I stayed at. The other 5 are smaller bures, but just as cosy and spacious. The honeymoom bures feature a spacious bathroom opposite the room with 2 washing basis for him and her. There is also an extra large patio, which makes a perfect spot to lay back and feast your eyes on the beautiful egg yolk like sunset. Every day at 6pm, we would wait at the patio for our champagne and canapés. There is no TV, telephone and wifi, because whole purpose is to relax and enjoy nature. For those who can’t resist getting in touch with the world, wifi is available at the reception, but signals are rather weak. Since there are no clocks around the resort, one can easily lose track of time (ok, I admit not bringing a watch with me). I constantly had to ask my wife or the staff what day or time it was. And at times even they’d get confused.

Do expect the luxury of AC because everything is solar-powered. Nukubati boasts eco-tourism, so the only high-powered appliance in the rooms is the refrigerator. But not to worry because the fans do quite an excellent job of keeping you cool. Even a person like me who still praises the inventor of the AC still managed to sleep like a baby. The bathroom amenities are not scented. I guess everything is “home-made”, but you feel cleansed after using them.

Meals can be enjoyed at any time of the day. One of the best things Nukubati has to offer. Very often my wife and I would sleep in and have breakfast (or rather brunch) at around noon, then lunch (or rather tea) at 4pm followed by dinner at almost 9pm. There is absolutely no time limit for meals. I guess this is other reason why one might lose track of time. Or you can have your meals in your bure. Totally your choice.

Tipping is not required at the resort. You don’t even have to bring your wallet. The whole idea is to feel at home and do whatever you want. But if you appreciate their services, you could always make a donation to their Christmas fund.

Jenny, the owner and her staff were just so friendly. They would greet you by your first name and actually remember it. They won’t mind if you forget theirs though. Our servers Timo and Tina would always end by saying “You’re most welcome” if you thanked them. How often do you get that!

When Jenny was there, she would talk to each guest at the breakfast table. She was also always very inviting. It was her birthday on our last night at Nukubati, so she was kind enough to invite everyone to a special dinner. The staff managed to assemble a long table and topped it with local curry and other goodies. The night was filled with laughter and sharing of different cultures. It sure was a memorable night.

The only complain was the weather. But it was expected since we went in January, which was also Fiji’s west season. It rained consecutively for 2 days, but the sun came out again on our last day. The other disappointment was not being able to scuba-dive because their instructor left. But Jenny made sure that Salote arrange snorkeling trips for us. Our advice for visitors is to get certified for an open-water license, because they have experienced dive-masters like Salote to guide you to the best diving sports at the reefs. Salote is an extremely cool person. She’s also very experienced because of her tenure with Nukubati for almost 20 years, so she knows the waters very well. We did a 1-day snorkeling excursion under her guidance despite the rain. On one note my wife was too scared to jump into the water, but Salote managed to convince her and took care of her all the way. We swam through schools of non-stringing jelly-fishes and even saw Christmas Tree Worms. Salote was also kind enough to share a lot about the Fiji culture.

Because of the rain, the staff at Nukubati would go upside down to entertain you. On 1 day, they gave us an interesting coconut demonstration. Never did we know that a coconut tree like could transform into an assortment of tools for Fijians to use, These included bags, bowls, cups, hats, fans, toys and food.

Another interesting activity was drinking Kava. Guests and staff would gather around a large bowl filled with this exotic beverage fused with a special type of plant and water. But after a few dozes could numb your lips and you’ll start to feel oozy, so remember to go “low-tide”. Afterwards, they perform this special Nukubati dance about the resort and their culture, and Solate would read these really eye-watering personal messages to each guest at the end.

It was finally our last day at Nukubati and was a bit sad to leave. But we were sure that we departed with happy recollections and most important of all felt fully recharged.

We’d life to say vinaka to everyone at Nukubati for making our experience so memorable and pleasurable. Sorry if we spelt your names wrong. We’ll definitely be back and hopefully with a scuba-diving license next time.

Kim & Imigim: if you guys are in HK, please email us at ferrandgc@gmail.com. We’d be more than happy to take you around. We have the best crabs here.

Room Tip: Snorkelling is better during low tide. Waters are less rough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ferrand C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

WOW! Where do we start... Arriving in Labasa we were greeted by the most smiling face we had ever seen. Kalessi lead us to the car that would take us on the beaten track to a wharf where we were transferred to a boat to take us to the island. About half way there I saw a flutter of colours and movement on the beach before I realised the entire staff on the island had come out to greet us while singing and dancing. It was the most exciting and warmest welcome I have ever experienced! After a relaxing lunch we were shown to our Bure which was amazing. Set less than 5 metres from the beach with a beautiful veranda around, and an even more beautiful view, it was heaven. Inside it was rather cool which was quite unbelievable considering the heat outside and it was decorated in pure Fijian style. We were a little worried as we were going during the wet season but we found that just meant it rained in the mornings and was sunny during the remainder of the day most of the time. Even when it did rain the water was so warm it was actually a lot of fun going swimming during the rain. We had 5 nights booked (now realising we could have stayed forever) and you can do as little or as much as you want. You can eat whenever you like (not like the strict rules of hotels where breakfast ends at a certain time or dinner starts at a certain time). The food there is absolutely delicious! The chef will cook anything you feel like, or any way you like, however, we always left it up to them as the menu's and flavours were scrumptious. There was a full breakfast menu from which you select as little or as much as you want, followed by three courses for lunch and dinner daily. We were spoilt rotten! That's without mentioning the extensive wine and cocktail lists. The staff on the island (I say staff, but when you leave they are more like family) are the most pleasant, smiling and friendly staff we have ever met (and we are the experienced travellers!). They could never do enough for you. They put on a beautiful meke and kava night! Their voices were absolutely breathtaking. Tina, one of the waitresses, made me smile almost every second she was near me with her 'you’re most welcome Melinda!' Every day, as sunset starts you are delivered a lovely glass of champagne and canapés under your beach umbrella and chairs in front of your Bure. Delicious! One of the days we went out snorkelling (amazing fish) and game fishing! An experience we will never forget. Jenny, the owner, oversees everything and ensures everything is perfect for you. Her commitment to her guests is one of a kind. There were guests on the island while we were there that have been coming back to Nukubati for over 20 years! They come every 2 years and book their next trip before leaving, otherwise they say, they could never bear to leave. We now understand why.

Vinaka!
Mike & Melinda

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I tagged along to a yoga retreat my mother went to at Nukubati Island, even though I was the youngest by far (21 years old) there were still many activities they provided to cater for my needs.

Nukubati Resort is such a unique island experience, the positioning of the resort captures the true beauty of Fiji. The staff were always friendly and helpful and knew all our names from day one. I was even invited to join in on a friendly game of volleyball.

The food was always delicious and beautifully prepared from fresh local produce. One lunch they had an authentic Fijian style BBQ on a deserted island not far from Nukubati. They BBQ freshly caught fish and prepared other traditional dishes. It was a unique, relaxing experience eating off banana leaves with your hands.

The reef snorkeling trip was absolutely spectacular, the Fijian guides were knowledgeable and very helpful. They pointed out many different fish and coral and then explain everything you saw. The coral and sea life are different then what I have seen in Australian.

We had the opportunity to visit the village and the local school. This was a wonderful experience being able to interact with the local Fijians. I especially love the children's singing and smiling faces.

I look forward to returning one day to see Jenny and all the wonderful staff again, possibly for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I wanted to treat my mum for a tropical and relaxing holiday, and wanted to ensure she would have the best time and would be well looked after. Well, we definitely got that and then some!

We are quite a well-travelled family, but never have I come across a place like this before. Jenny is the most gracious host, and everyone at the island is incredibly friendly. We always saw them walking around with a smile, or at least humming a song. Nothing is ever too difficult or tedious, and we were thoroughly spoilt.

Mum and I learnt, for the first time and with the staff's encouragement, to snorkle. It takes a lot for my mum to try something new, but I think she was so relaxed and up for new adventures that she didn't even hesitate to in saying yes. It was a wonderful experience.

In regards to food - wow, we were NEVER hungry while in Nukubati's care. The food was beautiful - very fresh and authentic. They were prepared with love, and you can definitely tell. They were also very good in accommodating requests, and always remembers your favourites (we rarely had to ask for a side of chopped chilli there - they just delivered it with our food!).

The highlight of the trip (apart from the organic accommodation, stunning beach and weather) is the cultural presentation (dance and drinking kava). It is simply breathtaking - do not miss it! It definitely lifts up the spirit!

All in all, it was worth every cent I saved and spent. Mum got quite emotional when we were leaving. It was truly an experience of a lifetime, and we can't wait to be back.

Thank you, Jenny, and everyone at Nukubati.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Nukubati Private Resort is an island like no other. It’s the perfect place to escape to from the hustle and bustle of modern day life for total relaxation and inner peace.

The island is a little South Pacific sanctuary surrounded by Fiji’s Great Sea Reef. With a break in the wet tropical weather the staff took us out on a boat to snorkel with the fish in amongst the spectacular coral. They also arranged for a sand bank lunch out in the middle of sea when the tide went out.

For every meal and snacks in-between, the chef served up delectable food. Organic, wholesome and fresh, the meals presented were fine dining-esque with an island twist. There was variety in the menu that changed daily although you could request any meals previously enjoyed.

What separates Nukubati resort from any other hotel would definitely be the people. The attentive and friendly staff are down to earth locals whom we got to know as they shared a little bit of their paradise. This goes without saying, Jenny and Peter are the most gracious hosts who have cultivated their island of Eden over many years - it definitely shows.

We spent a couple nights traversing to and from Nukubati at Denurau Island at the bigger named resorts. They provided a generic ‘sterile’ hotel experience lacking the Fijian island experience of Nukubati. There is so much more that could be written about Nukubati, you just have to experience this wonderland yourself!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tanman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labasa
52.9 km away
Namale Resort & Spa
Namale Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Savusavu
366 reviews
97.5 km away
The Remote Resort - Fiji Islands
38.5 km away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.0 km away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#1 of 12 in Savusavu
202 reviews
47.7 km away
Daku Resort
Daku Resort
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
673 reviews
38.2 km away
Grand Eastern Hotel
Grand Eastern Hotel
#3 of 3 in Labasa
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nukubati Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nukubati Private Island

Property: Nukubati Private Island
Address: The Great Sea Reef | P.O.Box 1928, Labasa, Vanua Levu 0, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Labasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nukubati Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nukubati Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nukubati Private Island Great Sea Reef Hotel Labasa
Nukubati Island Hotel
Nukubati Island Resort All Inclusive
Nukubati Private Island Fiji/Labasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing