We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
68
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
7
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2015

Words can't describe how magical our Honeymoon was at Namena Island!! An amazing island resort with such a friendly and passionate staff. We made the decision to stay here for a week in order to experience the diving since we had heard so many great stories. We simply could not believe it as it was absolutely incredible diving which certainly resembled diving in an aquarium. Our dive master took us to the best dives spots, all which were less than a 5 minute boat ride from the island. The staff took such good care of us and we had so much fun visiting with them. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were incredible - We still find ourselves talking about the freshly baked bread and biscuits, coconut French toast, tacos, fish cakes, freshly squeezed juices, lamb with mint sauce, key lime pie, coconut pie and of course the jar of peanut butter cookies that sat in the club house for us to grab one when we wished... we could go on and on about the fantastic food. Our Bure was in a perfect location on the island that allowed us to lie on our bed and listen to the ocean below us, watch the breathtaking sunrise and sunset and watch the whales breaching which we were lucky to see a few days in a row during our stay! (We stayed in Bure 6) We had the ability to snorkel around the island which proved to be better than dives we have done around the world. There is a breathtaking beach on one side of the island where you can enjoy a walk followed by a nap on the hammocks. We want to thank the staff for all they did to make our Honeymoon unforgettable!! We can't thank them enough - "Vinaka Vaka Levu" and we hope to return soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bure 6 which provided amazing views. It was a short walk to the beach and to the clubhouse
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

I don't know how to explain what this place is like except to say that it will always hold a special place in our hearts and we'd love to go back. We wanted somewhere that wasn't touristy, had great diving, and had a nice sandy beach. Namena Island Resort was definitely all of those!

To only have a maximum of 12 guests on the island is pure luxury to us and at the time we were there, there were only 6 of us. The bures are fantastic, hexagon-shaped with all the sides being doors that open out to a wrap around deck with louvre windows on all the doors. So despite there being no air conditioning, we had lots of sea breeze and the views were astounding. We had one of the 2x renovated bures - Nemo.

The diving was incredible - at one stage I swear I had to push the fish to one side to get past them!

As always in Fiji, the Fijian staff totally make Namena the special place it is - every single one of them were friendly, funny, respectful and genuine - I wanted to take them all home with me, but also didn't want to leave.

The food was simple, fresh, home-made fare that was also a lovely surprise.

If you want to stay somewhere really different, special, romantic, quiet and scenic, then go to Namena!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thevickchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

There is nothing like Namena. In the middle of Namena Marine Reserve it is so near all the wonderful dive sites that involve a significant boat ride from other resorts. Dive time is maximized and boat time minimized. The dive staff is excellent Both knowledgeable and attentive There are so many varied sites to explore and to revisit Lovely pristine coral and an unbelievable number and variety of reef fish as well as opportunities to site large pelagic fish cruising by
The accommodations in cliff side burres are very comfortable with beautiful views of sea and numerous birds who inhabit those cliffs
The food is excellent and the staff so friendly and accommodating

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lawson2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

A boat trip from Savusavu, which could be challenging in rough weather, takes you the island as it grows on the horizon. The resort is a small and simple one, built along the main ridge of the island with 112 steps from the landing jetty and marine activities area to the ridge top paths. On arrival you are welcomed in a traditionally friendly Fijian fashion with baggage transported to your bure.

Most of the hexagonal shaped bures are spread along the ridge such that a high degree of privacy is achieved. From a verandah around the bure you get a lovely view of the marine reserve surrounding the island out to the fringing reef.

The bures are reasonably comfortable but could get a little warm in summer nights without air conditioning. Our bure had twin en-suites with a shower between. The shower was heated by gas but there was cold water only to the handbasins. Access between the bures and the central dining/admin area is by gravel paths along the ridge. Care is needed when using the tracks, particularly under torch light at night, due to rougher sections.

The bures are not luxury accommodation but are quite comfortable. Gaps under/around doors limit the usefulness of screening provided. Mosquito coils to burn during both day and night are provided. During your absence at dinner your bed is turned down and the mosquito screen around the bed is lowered and tucked in all round to keep out all unwanted wildlife. Small bedhead fans and reading lamps, solar powered, provide for reading at night as there is nothing else to do after dinner.
Due to the limited number of guests the luxury of a-la-carte menus and a wide range of meal times is not available. The food however was good and very well presented by Kerri. The central dining area has a good library but the solar powered lights are not really suitable for reading after dark. There is no wi-fi, and mobile reception can be problematic. Don’t forget to bring your own drinks.
Our purpose in coming to Namena was for snorkeling as we had heard good reports of the diving and snorkeling on the reefs around the island. We found the dive and boat staff wonderful and very safety conscious. As divers explored the outside of the reef we, accompanied by one of the staff, would snorkel the top edge of the reef. Rodney checked, serviced and operated the dive boat like it was his own and Masi was a great snorkeling companion. There are two new hobie cats and it was no trouble to Rodney to have one rigged so we could have a sail between lunch and the afternoon dive. The coral and fish were as good as anywhere else we have seen in 18 years snorkeling around Fiji. Not to be missed is the group of vary large clams close to the jetty.
This resort is not the place for those looking for the choices available at the larger mainland and island resorts. It is a largely unspoilt island where you can relax with all that mother nature has to offer or take to the water to explore the marine reserve. We understood a snorkel and dive day trip from Savusavu is being run by the owners and for people with limited time this may be a better way to experience the wonders of the Namena Marine Reserve.

Stayed June 2015 as a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oldgeezer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015

After a 28 mile boat ride we arrived at the mile long island and reef which is a marine reserve. While some of the 6 guest bures are now equipped with solar lights, our bure sitting high on the steep hillside had gas lights in the evening and for our hot water. Four of the six sides could be opened to the constant breeze. We had a king size bed and separate composting toilets. Our bure was near to the clubhouse where we had meals and visited with other guests and the incredibly kind and helpful staff. They went to extreme lengths to cater to our food likes and whims.
My wife did not dive but enjoyed the beautiful views and the active wildlife all around the bure. I could not have had kinder or more helpful diving staff. They went more than the extra mile to accommodate my desires and limitations. What was above the water was beautiful but what was below the water was beyond imagination. My dive master was expert at finding and pointing out small jewels for my hungry camera.
We stayed 8 days and I wanted to stay longer . The people had become quite dear to us.

Room Tip: If walking distances is challenging bure #1 is closer to the clubhouse.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews