We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming back for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daku Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Coming back for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Daku was our most memorable stay and I am sure to return, multiple times! Thank you JJ and all at Daku for a wonderful stay!

We rocked up after a long flight/drive from Nadi and Labasa airports but a refreshing coconut drink and a smiling staff upon our arrival was most satisfying. The place is lovely with lots of trees and plants and our ocean-view bure was perfect for our 6 night stay. It was clean, and every day we would get fresh flowers arranged differently everyday on our bed.

Right outside our bure was a volleyball court, which we played frisbee during the afternoon when we had nothing planned. The view is amazing, definitely felt like I was on holiday from the bustling city of Melbourne back home.

The highlight of our stay was the staff and visitors we met. JJ (the owner) was wonderful and helped us get our diving course sorted and even helped us arrange a later flight for us so that we don't have to wake up at 4am in the morning!

There was also one night where we decided to have dinner at Daku, and to our surprise the dinners at Daku is seated together with other visitors so that you can mingle. This was a great experience because we got to know a little more about each other and we were told interesting diving tales (as we had never tried diving before). Even though I didn't have much (or nothing!) to share about diving but I couldn't help but feel like we were all a little family :)

Highly recommended!

A quick 2-5 mins taxi ride into town, or a nice 2km walk which we did twice because of the view, and also the house with chickens at the front :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    161
    23
    16
    2
See reviews for
108
161
132
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This resort is a gem - I would return in a heartbeat. Kenny, the manager, his family and staff all make one feel welcome; they are eager to answer questions and share insights into the Fijian life and culture. Sitting on my porch with my early am coffee, looking out over the palm trees to the water beyond, was a lovely way to start a day! I hope I am fortunate enough to return someday.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room above the pool, on the hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerVA36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I am traveling on my own and I was immediately made to feel at home and relax...it is understated, relaxed and friendly. The setting is right next to the ocean so you pick up the beautiful breeze to help those hot afternoons fly by. The gardens are beautifully kept and the staff are truly Fijian with their hospitality...I am taking a group next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastBridgfordHIll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I do not write reviews, normally due to my lack of time. But JJ, Delia and all the staff at Daku Resort put a lot of effort into making our stay relaxing and enjoyable. We took our son with special needs on holiday and JJ was able to organize carers for him so that we were all able to have a great holiday. The carers were great, very interested in how to make our son happy and they all had fun.

They were also able to cater for our special diets and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We stayed in the house with amazing views over the bay and enjoyed watching the ships coming and going. It was ideal accommodation for us.

It was a mixture of staying with friends and staying in a resort. Very relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

So special to be inducted into the Daku family --afforded each guest during their stay. Ceremonies, flowers strewn in your villa, smiling faces welcoming you everywhere, special Fijean meal preparation. Beautiful coral and stunning fish identified by the best Marine Biologist. a visit to a very special village--all this folds the visitor into the culture and natural surroundings. I'd probably choose to avoid the rainy season but it made the landscape all the morelush

Room Tip: The ones with the fabulous garden shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at Daku in June 2011. Got a free upgrade from a basic room to a lovely villa because they were so busy. They had a week long snorkelling course on, with visits from a marine biologist doing talks on an evening. We weren't part of the group, but were welcomed to listen to the talks. The place was clean, the owners very welcoming and obliging and I would definately stay again. In fact - our flight out of Savusavu was delayed for a day, and John the owner had stayed with us at the airport to make sure we got off OK. When we didn't he took us back to Daku, we moved to another room and he sorted all the expenses out directly with the airline. They have a lot of activity groups staying, but everyone was very friendly and we didn't feel left out at all. I've since seen a review where someone wasn't happy because they were charged for rooms when their flight into savusavu was delayed by 2 days. I think this is standard practice as the airline cauing the delay pay for your alternative accommodation while waiting for the flight, so it shouldn't cost any extra. From what I understand the delays happen quite often and I think businesses in remote areas such as these would have a real problem if they refunded people for last minute delays like that. It's happenned to us several times on our travels and it has always worked the same way. I thought they were great here - real characters too.

Room Tip: not so much a fitness centre but a yoga platform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been staying at the Daku Resort on more than a dozen occasions during the past three years. The Villas are spacious and comfortable with fabulous views of the sea (the resort is meters from the ocean. Importantly, it is also walking distance to the Savusavu Marina and the sleepy town centre. Since I have been staying alone at the Resort for conducting business in Savusavu, I have truly found Daku to be my second home. JJ and Delia are the most welcoming host you will find in Fiji (that is saying a lot, in the friendly isles). I really have been treated as a member of the family by JJ,Delia, and their staff. They have created a real communal atmosphere that allows to you to easily meet other guest at dinner and you really feel at home. However,if you prefer to be more alone, they are very unobtrusive and do not in the least make you feel awkward, I have had so many enjoyable evenings chatting with JJ and Delia, their staff, and other guests. I would recommend the wonderful and affordable resort to families and couples on holiday or if your like me and on your own, due to business or whatever.

I am really surprised with Rhiana G review as they obviously arrived in a bad mood and seem to lack a sense of humor (especially about the pina Coladas, obviously made in jest) --Please! I stayed here as recently as last month and have always found the rooms to be of the highest sanitary standards. It seems these blonds are freaked out by probably a single black hair- oooh scary.

Do not let these knuckleheads put you off, you will have a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savusavu hotels
6.9 km away
Savasi Island Villas
Savasi Island Villas
#2 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.1 km away
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Naveria Heights Lodge
Naveria Heights Lodge
#8 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
Savusavu Hot Springs Hotel
#11 of 12 in Savusavu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
10.3 km away
Emaho Sekawa Resort
Emaho Sekawa Resort
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.3 km away
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
Korovesi Sunshine Villas
#9 of 12 in Savusavu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Property: Daku Resort
Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing