We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Max number of guests.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Max number of guests.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We liked the look of the waterfront hotel but being a family of 4 we would of had to pay for 2 rooms which made the place too expensive, maybe management could look at addressing this in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank rotumafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Bula
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I will share your comments with management.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Hotel Mamager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    96
    47
    14
    12
See reviews for
60
59
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I last stayed at the Waterfront about 6 years ago, the have obviously spent a lot of time training the staff and upgrading the rooms. The biggest improvement on previous stays was that the bed was extremely comfortable.

The pizzas were great and staff really friendly. Little touches around the gardens and the verandah which extends to what I’ll assume are the new wing was an excellent addition. Well done Waterfront, I’ll only stay with you when I visit Lautoka!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooter_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Bula,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, its always a pleasure to receive positive feed backs.Its great to know the efforts made are noticed; we will continue to do our best to improve on products and services at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel.

I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and regards
Narend Kumar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in January whilst attending a family wedding in Lautoka. We had many family members staying at the hotel, and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and excellent service we received. We all felt truly welcome there. The front desk and restaurant staff were always happy to accommodate our requests. My husband, daughter and I stayed in an executive suite ( room 409) which was huge with separate large walk in robe area for hanging clothes and storing suitcases. It overlooked the pool and they placed a roll away bed in the room for our daughter. If I had to find fault, there are just 2 small criticisms. The opaque window between the hotel room and bathroom could be improved with a small curtain to draw across, or to have something non- transparent to make it a bit more appropriate for families. Also we did often find our room keys would not work and have to go back to reception to get them re-set. However these were only 2 very minor inconveniences in what was a fantastic stay. As others have written the hotel is just a 5-10 minute walk to Lautoka town and is on the Lautoka waterfront, but be aware there is no beach nearby. All in all , a great place to stay in Lautoka.

Room Tip: Executive suite room 409 is huge with plenty of storage areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiecruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Bula,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed the hotel, particularity room 409. All feedbacks, both positive and negative is important to us, we will look into the two issues highlighted.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and regards
Nareend Kumar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Waterfront was a great place to stay for a night and share time with my best friend who came from Adelaide for a visit... it was very clean and beautiful and spacious .. the pools were clean and nice and very easy even with little children ..my little one enjoyed playing in the pool. Room service was great and so was the dinner ..! staff really friendly and happy to help ..

Room Tip: room downstairs are good easy access to pool .. upstairs has nice sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarunaNand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Bula Mr Karuna Nand,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed the hotel, particularity your kid.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and regards
Narend Kumar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a great place.Walking distance to the second largest city in Fiji. The quality of service is 6 star rated. Very well mannered staff always obliging. Great location to host all kinds of parties including weddings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopalan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Bula Mr Gopalan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, its always a pleasure to receive positive feed backs. I have shared your comments with all of the team. Its great to know the efforts made are noticed.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and regards
Narend Kumar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Everything looks nice from the outside, but on the inside the place wasn't that great. I stayed with my mom and daughter for four nights, while in Fiji visiting family. I was shocked at the amount of cockroaches we saw in this hotel. Don't get me wrong I saw a few in the 5 star hotels too, but this hotel seemed to have whole families of them! Cleanliness is very important to me and it seemed like our room smelt like dirty mop water after the room was cleaned. And the staff at the front desk were unprofessional. On our second night we were woken up to an alarm, we thought it was a fire alarm, but putting my ear to the room beside us we later found out it was coming from the room next to us. I called front desk and they said that someone would look into it but we kept on hearing it. I called 3 times when finally 1.5 hours later the noise stopped. We never heard any follow up and when I took it up with the Manager in the morning they said they would talk to the night staff, but still no apologies for our inconvenience. Usually hotel mangers are really accommodating when an error or disturbance occurs but this hotel seems to be run by a bunch of untrained people. Whenever we walked past the front desk it seemed like the women were talking behind our backs instead of welcoming us back like other hotels do. If it wasn’t for the location I would have wanted to go to another hotel immediately but I will never stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: in my opinion dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wfhmanager, Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Bula Sweet M
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments are really a concern for us.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience during your stay in September and please be assured that these have been discussed with our Team to ensure that your concerns are addressed.
We have been receiving very positive comments from our guests hence it proves that we have trained staffs and management at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns, as we believe that it is your way of allowing us the chance to better ourselves.
Regards
Narend Kumar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lautoka hotels

Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We chose the Waterfront after reading other reviews and we wanted to see Lautoka.
The Waterfront Rooms are very clean and spacious. The grounds are well kept and the pool is quite large.Internet is available
Once we had checked in to our room in the Executive wing we discovered the air conditioner was leaking . Reception was advised and repaired very quickly , also a request for another lounge chair was met promptly. We had an upstairs room and had a view of the water.
Fins Restaurant has a very good continental breakfast but other meals are average.

Lautoka is not a tourist town, we enjoyed our time as we caught the local bus to & from Nadi, walked to the Port and walked around town.
Can recommend Nan Yang chinese and the Lautoka Hotel for eating.

If you are in town after 8pm catch a taxi back to hotel-Reception at the hotel and chinese restaurant advised us of this.
Taxi to airport takes around 30 mins and costs $FJ25

Room Tip: upstairs Executive Wing Room 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.8 km away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
16.8 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
19.7 km away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.9 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
10.6 km away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
10.2 km away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Property: Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Address: Marine Dr | PO Box 4653, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb waterfront location with sensational sunsets…Welcome to the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, Fiji - the preferred Fiji hotel accommodation for the business traveller, conference delegate and holiday maker. This is an excellent stopover point for connections to and from the Mamanuca and Yasawa islands. Lautoka is the second largest city of Fiji and is the second port of entry in Fiji, after Suva. Lying in the heart of Fiji’s sugar cane growing regions, it is known as the Sugar City. It houses the Lautoka Sugar Mill which is the city’s biggest employer by far. From its superb Lautoka waterfront location you can witness sensational sunsets whilst enjoying a refreshing drink or an early dinner in Fins Restaurant. At the Fins Restaurant,we offer a wide range of both local and international fare between 6.30am and 11.30pm. We have 72 well-appointed guest accommodation rooms, each with individually controlled air conditioning for your comfort, and equipped with all guest amenities to suit both the busy executive and discerning leisure traveler. The rooms open out on to their own balcony or self contained patio which engenders the feeling of a cool relaxing space – ideal on ‘sticky’ tropical days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanoa Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing