We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,985)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveller rating
478
723
457
193
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
723
457
193
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy bottomoverwater bungalowfrench polynesiagrocery storekoi pondla plantationpool barfishchez remywindstar cruiseother islandsper personfree wifi in the lobbyfrench restauranthotel shuttlethe main hotelhotel grounds
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

We stayed there one night on our way to French Polynesia, which was part of our Star Wind Cruise deal. The hotel is very beautiful, rooms are very specious including the shower area with make up mirror, hair dryer, also free Wi-Fi, comfortable bed. Ocean view room's balcony faces a beautiful roof top pool full of water lilies. The hotel has been renovated in modern French style decoration but it is isolated from town. It has a beautiful pool facing the ocean with very nice surrounding garden.
There is a nice restaurant next to the pool which serves good food and beverage including fresh Coconut juice cracked open there. Great drink sitting under the hut sun.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Maryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan689, other at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Ia ora Na,
Thank you for writing this kind review about Le Méridien Tahiti. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future.
Mauruuru roa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We stayed 6 nights here having flown in at 11pm and spent 5 days exploring Tahiti and 5 days in Moorea.

There are a lot of negative reviews about this hotel, but it is a 4 star hotel in good condition in a nice location. I would recommend staying in an ocean view room near the middle of the hotel as this gives the best views of the lagoon. We preferred the lagoon view to the Moorea view rooms. The fridge is small which is something that could be improved and as is lack of ice machine. The TV channels are all french but this was standard for all hotels we stayed at in 11 days.

The rooms are nice enough for a 4 star hotel, bathroom is spacious and bed comfortable and balcony overlooking the lily pond with japanese fish, grounds and lagoon is great way to start the day. The complimentary wifi worked great which was a bonus. The other hotels we stayed at had poor wifi.

The hotel grounds are lovely, the sandy floor pool is good. There is a small beach with snorkeling and over water bungalows which made as feel like we were in French Polynesia! The over water bungalows were closed for renovations but there was no noise. We prefer beach to the pool and the snorkeling and kayaking here was great so having this option from a Tahiti hotel was plus. This hotel is one of few in Tahiti to have a beach and in the mornings the view of the lagoon and Moorea is amazing!

We ate at the hotel restaurant once and the food options are too expensive and too 'americanised'. There is a small shopping arcade with a supermarket, coffee shop, bakery, restaurants, clothing stores etc... 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We had the coffee and croissants for $5 for breakfast which beats $50 per person hotel breakfast.

We had sunset cocktails at the beach restaurant which was amazing. This place is great a location for sunsets! Even if I wasn't staying at the hotel, I would come here for the sunset drinks. The service was generally good, though we didn't have many requests from staff.

Last three days we rented a car and explored the Island. About 5 minute drive from the hotel is the best beach in Tahiti for snorkeling. We circled the island visited many beaches and went to the O'belvedere restaurant with its great views. Plage de Venus is wonderful. Teahupoo is a wild and beautiful place. Around the island there are waterfalls, caves and gardens to see. Tahiti deserves to be a destination itself rather than just layover. Unfortunately its seen mostly as a connection to Bora Bora or Moorea.

Overall this a good hotel and the best option for staying a couple days in Tahiti.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view room for best rooms
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank md200910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan689, assistante de direction at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Ia Ora Na,
We really appreciate you took the time to comment with precise and interesting details of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your support. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Le Meridien Tahiti.
Sunny regards,
Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Get me out of here is all I can say. We braved the first night with stained pillows, dirty cabinets and worn out furniture. This is an embarrassment for a Cat 5 SPG hotel, so definitely do not take their rating. Here we go: Check in was pleasant with no complaints, but that is where the positive ends. NO room service at night except for a couple cold items, which were horrible. Dry, mushy bread, non-existent meats on the sandwiches, check out the pictures! They just brought plates into the room and placed them on the desk. No tray, no cart, just two people with multiple plates in hand. The place is just old in every aspect. The bathrooms, the furniture was straight out a crack motel with blisters on the table tops and all chips in the furniture. I must have been original from 20 years ago. Bathroom again was old and decrepit. We felt so unclean, that we slept with towels over the pillows because of the yellow stains on them. We instantly booked a new room at the Intercontinental down the road which is amazing (review to follow). When we complained in the morning, the manager was nice enough not charge us for the existing nights booked, and we moved on. This place needs to put money into renovating big time, then they might have a fighting chance, especially for charging $350+ a night.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan689, assistante de direction at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Ia Ora Na,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay here. We are very concerned with your comments and would like to express our deepest apologies for the unusual inconvenience you mention. Please be assured we will rectify the situation to avoid such inconvenience in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

On arrival staff welcoming, juice and cool towel; took bags to room. Disappointed no food or bar open as it had been a long day of travelling (was about 11pm). Room comfortable and clean. Air conditioning inefficient: did not cool the room effectively. Would’ve liked some free water and an English speaking TV channel.(other than advertisements). Breakfast challenging as had to speak to several staff about gluten free options. Would be good to have GF items labelled. Overall average on first visit. Next visit(after visit to Moorea) reception staff poor; no assistance with bags or being shown to room. Had lunch at restaurant by the pool; apart from one lovely lady, staff didn’t crack a smile. Food very ordinary. Had dinner downstairs wait staff excellent and meal quality better. Overall service ran hot and cold as did the food. Was in transit but was glad I wasn’t here for a week.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan689, assistante de direction at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Ia Ora Na !
We are very pleased to know that the majority of our services brought you satisfaction. It is always a great encouragement and motivation for our teams to hear about guest satisfaction which is our main concern. On the other hand, some services didn’t meet the usual standards one may expect and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unusual inconveniences. Please be assured all the measures necessary will be taken in order to avoid such inconveniences in the future.
We thank you for your constructive feedback and for your loyalty towards Le Méridien.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2018

I am writing this review while still staying in this hotel. Let me start by commending the friendliness of the majority of the hotel staff especially those in the restaurant during breakfast. We have stayed here when we first arrived in Tahiti, then we flew to Bora2x and then came back again to Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti until we fly back to New Zealand. We are in this hotel for a total of 11 nights all together. Quite long as you can see, and I could say we (me and hubby) have seen most of what this hotel has to offer to guests. My husband is a platinum spg member, so we have stayed in so many SPG and Le Meridien hotels worldwide, and I am sad to say this hotel would get the lowest rate from us when it comes to a few things. First off, the room TV only has 1 English Channel and it’s the SPG channel. Watching movies is NOT free! Next, the food choices on their in room menu and on their buffet breakfast need a stir! They have very limited choices for in room dining. Breakfast buffet is boring! They have the saddest looking bacon and sausages and I could tell some of them are not freshly cooked! During the busy period, like Christmas and New Year, they would add some new dishes on their buffet choices, but we noticed all catered to local guests...mostly pork and lots of raw fish salad dishes. New Year’s Day breakfast was worst, they added fresh oysters and mussels..which looked like leftover from their New Year’s Eve buffet dinner which they by the way charged at $200/person! So on food we are so disappointed. Now, we had a bad experience with their housekeeping services. We left the room for a few hours each day and lately, the last 2 days no cleaning was done! We had to personally complain to their reception of it. It was bad!! Not what any guest deserve! Amenities are just so so. This is a very old looking hotel that needs updating especially their pool...plastics which were at the bottom of the pool where the sand lies are all coming out everywhere..caught my feet a few times and thought I stepped on something weird but they’re just the plastic. We will not recommend staying in this hotel for a long period of time. Good for few nights like a stopover before heading to the neighbouring islands but thats it.

Room Tip: Higher floors get the best views of the ocean and the pool
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Veneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan689, assistante de direction at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Ia Ora Na !
We thank you for your remarks and be assured that guest satisfaction is our main concern and that we strive to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. Some services didn’t meet the usual standards one may expect and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the unusual inconveniences. Please be assured all the measures necessary will be taken in order to avoid such inconveniences in the future.
We thank you for your constructive feedback and for your loyalty towards Le Méridien.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews