We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of the bustling ''Senegambia'' part of Kololi, yet nicely tucked away from all the hustle and bustle, is a chilled, mellow place where you are assured of having one of the finest dining experiences in The Gambia, and meeting an interesting and sophisticated crowd.Our fresh tempting menu, draws on flavours from the Mediterranean, Latin America and Asia, and not forgetting our vegetarian friends, a delightful variety of tasty organic dishes.Our bar, an exciting mix of traditional and modern cocktails, delicious world wines, and a heavenly variety of coffee beans to choose from, all set within a gallery of exquisite African art, contemporary decor pieces, and jewellery on display for sale.Gaya Art Cafe is chic but comfortable, stylish but relaxed, and buzzy but not loud. Whether it’s for lunch or dinner, or just lounging on our terrace with a luscious cocktail, or simply having a great shopping experience, there is something for everyone, and much more in between.The place to see, and be seen. Come and enjoy the alluring and intimate ambience of Gaya Art Cafe.Hope to see you soon !
Reviewed February 12, 2018

This place was outstanding! The food was delicious and the staff was very attentive. Definitely try the shrimp and the crusted chicken dish.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank kdmcdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 296 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

I visited Gaya Art cafe twice while in Banjul - once for coffee and cheesecake, once for dinner. Cheesecake was delicious - I chose the passion fruit sauce. Dinner was also excellent. We had the two course menu, quality food at a reasonable price. I loved the courtyard where I had my coffee. For dinner we ate inside, and enjoyed looking at the eclectic and interesting decor.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank travelalways255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Popped up for an early evening cocktail and was not disappointed. Decor is amazing and if you go early to catch happy hour very cheap! Did try and visit for tapas on the Sunday but was closed.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank scally2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2018

We took the 3 course menu (1040 dalasis ) and it started with the soufflé. This was not a soufflé but a unstructured clumb of material of cheese and unions in a opaque liquid mass. Taste was kindda OK, but it was definitely not a soufflé. Second course was a meat kind of thing in dark sauce on potato mash, tast was sort of OKish, but the meat was undigestable. Desert was a deep frozen cheese cake, you had to use a hammer to dig into it, the sauce framboise on top was very good....we explained the waiter the mismatch between outside and inside and then the meat was free... The environment was however great. So go there for the looks but not for the food....

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neuropathische p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

Gaya is undoubtedly my favorite restaurant in The Gambia. The decor and atmosphere is exquisite and the food and service exemplary. You won’t find a better place to have a meal and a great time.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank aksionstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia also viewed

 

Been to Gaya Art Cafe - The Gambia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing