We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Kololi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We arrived at 08:00 am and our room wasn't ready so the manager upgraded us to an apartment, which was a great start! The apartment is very spacious: kitchen (with cooking facilities and fridge), living room area with 2 sofas and tv, big bedroom with a four poster bed and cupboards, and an en-suite shower and toilet room.

The wi-fi was excellent, the staff were SUPER friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, breakfast was great (a buffet with your choice of eggs, pancakes, cheese, several types of fruit, beans, sausages, fruit juices, tea, coffee, two types of bread, butter, jams, lots of food and one can eat as much as they want.

The hotel has a great bar scene and lively feel about it, especially when I compare it to another hotel in the capital.

Many restaurants a 15 minutes' walk away, in "The Strip", including a not too bad Patisserie.

The stunning beach is a 5 - 10 minutes' walk.

This hotel is superb value and for a 3 start it is underrated. I met lovely people there who stayed at the standard rooms (which look great by the way), and they all were complementary about their rooms and the hotel.

Strongly recommended, really great hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We wanted somewhere to stay in Kololi having stayed in the Djeliba next door last March 2016. This was similarly priced and recommended by someone last year. The room was clean and plenty of room. The bathroom was also clean and we had hot water every night - unlike the Djeliba. The beds were made every day with a fresh towel every day also. There is a tv in the room which works but the BBC world channel reception varied from day to day. All in all the room was what we expected and therefore no complaints with it at all.
The pool was big enough for the number of people who were using it and was very clean and warm but equally cool due to the temperatures in late Feb. (33 degrees Centigrade) Sunbeds were available with mattresses.2 pool bars also open.
The breakfasts were ok with a choice of fried eggs or omelettes, baked beans, sausages, juice, tea/coffee and toast with jam. Adequate for the hotel.
The country is stricken with poverty outside of Kololi and while there are hustlers outside trying to get you on a trip or excursion or give you advice, its because they need money to survive. A polite no thankyou is sufficient if you wish to walk alone. A selection of taxis outside and money changing facilities. It is a ten minute walk into the Senegambia strip and its worthwhile doing so in order to see a bit more of the area.
There are people trying to sell fruit, nuts, clothes and other items but again, this is their living and a few pounds goes a LONG WAY to helping them so don't be shy in spending just that. You'll be amazed by the response.
We used this hotel as a base as we were in the Gambia to help Sandy Sanyang and her team for charity. They help run a school, a clinic and a nursery in Somita, all of which are always looking or stationery and medical equipment. Should anyone want to explore the real Gambia away from the many arranged and "staged" trips on offer from other local companies, I'll be happy to recommend a local charity.
In summary, be prepared to see some real cases of poverty and destitute but also be prepared to see that the same people are extremely welcoming, very grateful and always smiling too.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 45AnJOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Nice, friendly, warm and welcoming hotel. Breakfast basic and consist of beans, fried egg if available, fresh fruit, bread/toast. The gardens are fantastic and plenty availabilities for sun lounge on request. All staff are pleasant, helpful, polite and friendly. The hotel room I stayed in was the newer building and even though the decor of the room felt authentic it was very basic. The bathroom is outdated and basic but I was traveling alone it was ok but if you were to bring children this would not be acceptable. The hotel generator had broken down on a few occasions and this is used as a back up as Gambia is known to have power cuts. But this impacted on me hugely as this continued to break down in the mornings, and it was a major part for the generator was hard to get which i was told. So I had to leave the hotel in the end to go to stay in another hotel which was next door. There is a guy on the hotel grounds that sells a huge collection of ornaments, figurines etc. He is expensive and can be very rude at times especially when he knows you are not going to buy so do not promise that you will buy and that is a rule to bear in mind for all people going to Gambia for their holidays.... I personally would go and visit the members of staff, have a drink/meal and hang out but I would not stay again!!
Also on site they have a spa which is fantastic, nice and cheap.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Lavern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

this hotel was not a hotel for a good night sleep as the local night club behind hotel went on till 6.30 am 3 days a week.
also the rooms are in a courtyard with no privacy and guests do not respect others peace and quiet.
Breakfast was crap the same every day and the queue for eggs was ridiculously slow.

Room Tip: good location but all rooms are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We were here 11th jan to 18th.Myself and Marta had a most enjoyable stay here in one of the bungalows with fridge and aircon.we didnt bother with a safe as I've been to the gambia 10 times now and never had a problem with theft from any of the Hotels visited in the past.The staff were excellent and very helpful at breakfast time.We even hunted down a egg scoop for the staff as they use something resembling a knife to fry eggs with.Rooms kept clean and tidy always.A problem with door hinge was sorted immediately unlike other hotels done in Gambian time.Possibly needs more sunbeds as there arent enough around the pool which is always kept clean and sparkly.A lot of Dutch at the hotel which was ok as they speak great English.Will definitely stay here again unlike the Djeliba next door i stayed there last year for 2 weeks and wasnt happy about the hotel at all.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank micky1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

A very basic hotel however has everything needed for a great a holiday. Great location, clean rooms, air conditioner in rooms, friendly staff. Will use this hotel from now on when visiting The Gambia.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Surrey_UKSca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Just got back from an 11 night stay in this hotel and was glad to do so. I have been to Gambia on several occasions so fully appreciate that the standard of accommodation is different to that in Asia.
There is no fridge, safe deposit box or air con as standard as they had to be paid for on arrival which cost £140 for the period of our stay.
The room itself was very dark and was in need of a facelift.
The breakfast consists of eggs and more eggs.
On the upside the pool was very well looked after but was very small.
The grounds were also a credit to the staff who worked hard on them everyday.
The frequent power cuts were made all the worse on our day of departure because the hotel backup generator broke at 2am and was still not up and running at 11am so We missed our eggs that morning and were unable to shower for the trip home.
This is not a 3* hotel by any standard and I will be contacting my tour operator to express my concerns at how they can sell this hotel to patrons who use their service On a regular basis.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Syeturner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.6 km away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Serekunda
1,319 reviews
8.6 km away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Seaview Gardens Hotel
#8 of 10 in Kololi
185 reviews
2.4 km away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
790 reviews
1.1 km away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Kololi
165 reviews
1.9 km away
Badala Park
Badala Park
#6 of 6 in Kotu
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Garden Hotel

Address: | Off Bertil Harding’s Highway Duplex Complex Center, Kololi, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kololi
Price Range: C$58 - C$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Garden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bamboo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Garden Hotel Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing