We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments(Kololi)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
30
57
23
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
57
23
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bathroombuffet breakfastbeansten minute walkair conditioningthe wi fihot dog sausageshot waterpoco locohotel roomcleaned dailyweek stayfresh towelsfruit juicesenegambia stripafricalamp
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

Clean basic rooms. Shower a little difficult for some to get into. Beds really comfortable.Pillows a little too firm for my preference.Cleaned daily. Nothing is too much trouble for staff to help make your stay better.Mosquito nets fixed.Food cheaper than outside the hotel and good quality. Sunbeds need to be replaced by owner no fault of any staff. All staff very friendly. Washing and ironing available st a small fee.
Downside I went during off season no entertainment except on a Thursday for about 1-2 hrs of Jazz. There was a big problem with the generators which resulted in no aircon, water and electricity. As a result we were transferred to the sister hotel Seaview. There was no comparison in the sense of atmosphere at all or service. Much prefer Bamboo Hotel. It's very sad that the owner has spent such a lot on Seaview to a lot higher standard and yet both are 3 ☆ hotels. You would think they are in different class levels. Owner needs to invest in not only good generators, sun loungers but sheets, equipment for behind the bar too. Bring both up to same level. Then see which one is always full.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank kass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2017

Nice rooms, small bathroom, very good bed and no mosquitos on the room.
The beach is about five minutes walk.
On the road to the beach are several restaurants where you can eat and drink
At the end of the road is a nice restaurant Poco Loco.
Every night music with a DJ or an Band.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Lovely hotel, bright and clean. Breakfast ok by Gambian standards. We had apartment two and it was lovely. The staff were genuinely lovely. The hotel is in a good location close to the beach and a 10 min walk to the strip

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayHepburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We arrived at 08:00 am and our room wasn't ready so the manager upgraded us to an apartment, which was a great start! The apartment is very spacious: kitchen (with cooking facilities and fridge), living room area with 2 sofas and tv, big bedroom with a four poster bed and cupboards, and an en-suite shower and toilet room.

The wi-fi was excellent, the staff were SUPER friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, breakfast was great (a buffet with your choice of eggs, pancakes, cheese, several types of fruit, beans, sausages, fruit juices, tea, coffee, two types of bread, butter, jams, lots of food and one can eat as much as they want.

The hotel has a great bar scene and lively feel about it, especially when I compare it to another hotel in the capital.

Many restaurants a 15 minutes' walk away, in "The Strip", including a not too bad Patisserie.

The stunning beach is a 5 - 10 minutes' walk.

This hotel is superb value and for a 3 start it is underrated. I met lovely people there who stayed at the standard rooms (which look great by the way), and they all were complementary about their rooms and the hotel.

Strongly recommended, really great hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

We wanted somewhere to stay in Kololi having stayed in the Djeliba next door last March 2016. This was similarly priced and recommended by someone last year. The room was clean and plenty of room. The bathroom was also clean and we had hot water every night - unlike the Djeliba. The beds were made every day with a fresh towel every day also. There is a tv in the room which works but the BBC world channel reception varied from day to day. All in all the room was what we expected and therefore no complaints with it at all.
The pool was big enough for the number of people who were using it and was very clean and warm but equally cool due to the temperatures in late Feb. (33 degrees Centigrade) Sunbeds were available with mattresses.2 pool bars also open.
The breakfasts were ok with a choice of fried eggs or omelettes, baked beans, sausages, juice, tea/coffee and toast with jam. Adequate for the hotel.
The country is stricken with poverty outside of Kololi and while there are hustlers outside trying to get you on a trip or excursion or give you advice, its because they need money to survive. A polite no thankyou is sufficient if you wish to walk alone. A selection of taxis outside and money changing facilities. It is a ten minute walk into the Senegambia strip and its worthwhile doing so in order to see a bit more of the area.
There are people trying to sell fruit, nuts, clothes and other items but again, this is their living and a few pounds goes a LONG WAY to helping them so don't be shy in spending just that. You'll be amazed by the response.
We used this hotel as a base as we were in the Gambia to help Sandy Sanyang and her team for charity. They help run a school, a clinic and a nursery in Somita, all of which are always looking or stationery and medical equipment. Should anyone want to explore the real Gambia away from the many arranged and "staged" trips on offer from other local companies, I'll be happy to recommend a local charity.
In summary, be prepared to see some real cases of poverty and destitute but also be prepared to see that the same people are extremely welcoming, very grateful and always smiling too.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 45AnJOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews