We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
44
45
15
5
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
45
15
5
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 122 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was pretty empty yet the staff was not accommodating and the management seemed to not care about our comfort. We were stuck in one of the small bungalow rooms and we were not aware they had no fridge (so if you have perishables or travel with a baby this room is not for you). I asked to be moved to a bigger room (and of course I had to pay a big difference) and they demanded that I go all the way to my room, get everything out and come back to the lobby to get the key... please keep in mind the new room was accross the old room so it made to sense to make so many trips.

The restuarant closed at 7pm which meant we had to drive to the local town everyday for dinner which was an inconvenience since we wanted to relax, not drive around. Also keep in mind no one told us of this during our check in, so we found out during our first night when we went to the restaurant.

I was charged a $100 dollar fee for having a cigarette inside the villa yet they had an ashtray inside and they did not have a no smoking sign inside the villa, only outside in the common areas which makes perfrct sense. Their reasoning was that a few weeks back a canadian couple asked for an ashtray and they gave them one but that it was a non smoking room. So I was forced to pay a fee due to to the Canadian's couple request of an ashtray and out of the hotel management's lack of control when it comes to what is handed to guests and how well they clean the rooms.

Finally, the hotel's manager (Linds) was beyond rude when we were checking out. Perhaps it was the fact that we went during a low season because it almost seemed we were annoying the staff everywhere we went.

I will not stay there ever again nor will I recomment this hotel to anyone. You should treat all guests equally and if you can not do so please get out of the travel and HOSPITALITY line of business. Be smart, you have no idea how much business you can loose over one disgruntled guest when this guest knows how to use properly use social media.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pablo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017

If you want a relaxing vacation away from the hustle and bustle of mass tourism Honduras Shores Plantation is the spot. The hotel is quite during the week but can be busy on the weekends. The beach is amazing especially if you like long walks. Take the boat trip to Punta Sal! Totally worth it :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njhelgason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

This review is only about the beach-side restaurant. The seafood my wife and daughter ordered was actually fine, but I made the mistake of ordering a hamburger. For around $11, you would think you would get real meat, but my 'hamburger' was made from that over-processed crud with no meat consistency. The meat tasted raw, but you could not tell by looking at it. It was all a consistent grey. And the consistency was of over-cooked oatmeal. For that amount of money, I at least would expect real meat. This is an easy fix if you want to keep patrons.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antalborcsok, Owner at Honduras Shores Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

We have looked into this issue and would like to offer our apologies. We have taken measures to insure this never happens again. We would love to have you back at any time on any given day so you can re-order your burger and give us your honest opinion. When you have finished your meal let us know how we can continue to improve. Obviously we would like to pay for your meal and thank you for your valuable input.

Antal Borcosk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

As CLIENTS we were deeply offended by how they treated us, threatening us first, by the security holding guns in they hands, when we were just trying to get some food and drinks services. They had internal miss communication and at the end the staff and the manager´s wife were simply extremely rude to all of us. Our "Just girls trip" was almost completely spoiled by their terrible service skills and we are 10 very very unsatisfied business women, we are never going back.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antalborcsok, Owner at Honduras Shores Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

We are terribly sorry for your experience, but rules and regulations are in place for a reason. Your "all girls" group seemed as a fun, happy and respectful bunch, but the club area is reserved for hotel guests only or clients that are willing to consume at the restaurant. We cannot and will not let outsiders come into our premises with coolers and alcoholic beverages while at the same time using all the services we provide. This would be unfair to paying customers. As we told you when you came to our office, what your group was doing would be the same as parking your car at a Mcdonald´s and taking out your cooler to picnic on their front garden. We were more than wiling to have you as clients as long as you would leave your beverages and cooler at the gate. Unfortunately this time your group was not willing to comply. We are still open to receiving you and your happy group as long as you comply with company rules and regulations.

Cheers from Tela :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

This has been a long time favorite for me for weekend and day trips. The cabins Honduras Shore Plantations offer are quaint and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet. The restaurant offers great local food, and the beach is clean! It is by no means a 5 star or all inclusive resort but a big step up from local hotels within and around Tela. Definitely a great local find that many tourists are unable to discover on their own!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ashleyjean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews