We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
40
6
8
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
6
8
2
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 63 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We looked for a place to stay in Tela going around the town for about two hours. Hotel Capitan Beach seemed to be the best place for us and we were not disappointed. The owners of the hotel were fantastic! They did everything to make us feel welcome and enjoy ourselves. They suggested things to see and arranged transportation and even drove us to the bus stop when we left. The other staff members were great too!

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The ones on the upper levels have balconies with an ocean view. The wi-fi didn't work properly in our room but was fine on the restaurant and the pool area. The hotel pool is clean and good size.

The breakfast was included when we stayed and it was a good one. Julisa, the owner, even asked us when we arrived, if we had any needs according to breakfast. I'm allergic to wheat so they made me corn tortillas instead of bread every morning. I was so grateful! The food in the restaurant is really good! It was a bit pricey and if you stay longer you might get bored but there are great places to eat near by.

The location is great! It is a bit out of town but not too far away and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The beach is right there and if you are not travelling on Easter week, you'll probably find a secluded spot for yourself. We walked a bit further away from the town and spent a few hours there seeing only few people but lots of sheep. :)

Room Tip: Check the rooms in the third floor. They are the newest (two of them under construction when we stayed) and have the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Iira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

We visited Capitan Beach for easter holidays, nice view, poor attention, food was not worth the price, took over 2.5 hours to get served, went for at least 4 times to ask for our food and no one could give us an answer, no music in the pool area. I would say that during high seasons, I wouldnt go back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

We stumbled on to this hotel using Google Maps, didn't even realize that it was on Trip Advisor until we came back home.
What can I say?
The place was great! Perhaps a 100 yards from the ocean, and all 5 second story rooms having a balcony, it was great waking up and having a cup of coffee, while watching the ocean, and listening to the mesmerizing sound of the surf washing up on the sandy shore.
The staff and the owners were fantastic!
We arranged the transport from San Pedro Sula to Tela through the hotel, and on the way back, the owner accompanied us to make sure everything would be fine.
The owners also helped us book excursions, and even offered to personally take us to the botanical gardens... for FREE! How's that for going above and beyond great customer service?
If you're from the States, and are looking for a Hawaii experience for about a third of the cost, and about half the time on the plane to get there, then Tela is your place, and Hotel Capitan Beach is the place to stay!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SashaG166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Excellent place for relaxing and enjoying vacations with family.
Its restaurant has the policy of “slow food" which means that everything is cooked in the instant and the customers can enjoy its freshness especially in sea food.
Last but not least, it has a personalized garden that has the owners attention 24/7.
Fully recommended

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at Capitan Beach many times with friends and with family. Owners Hugo & Julissa are wonderful hosts! Their rooms are clean, comfortable, & affordable. Their pool and air conditioned rooms provide a refreshing break from the Caribbean heat! Their restaurant is spectacular! Their staff helpful and kind.
This year we took a group of 15 to Tela. Julissa, Hugo & staff worked with us to offer meals & transportation. Everyone enjoyed their stay.
Over the 3 years we have been staying at Capitan Beach several upgrades & improvements have been made to the hotel & it's rooms. It is obvious the owners enjoy people y providing quality service. I heartily recommend this gem & look forward to the next time I can return.
Oh did I mention that it sits on the ocean!?!?

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank undertheshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews