We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
32
40
30
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
40
30
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget hotel major attractions non ac hotel staff hot water walkable distance hotel is located aberdeen bazaar island market mr portblair jan km pros cons
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 144 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018

I have travelled all over Asia and this place is a shocker, heard that the basement rooms were pretty bad, so requested (months in advance in capitals), that we wanted an upper room NOT A BASEMENT ROOM!
When we arrived we were sent to the basement, the manager saying upper rooms full. He was uninterested, removed and unhelpful. After terse words we called the manager who to his credit said an upper room would be provided that night. We had no wish to wait 4 hours for another poor quality room.
The hotel is run down and unkempt. All the rooms are old & shabby. The basement rooms smell and are pretty disgusting. Also do not believe the photos, they were probably taken years ago.
We left and found a better place up the road.

Room Tip: If you are crazy enough to stay here. DO NOT GO TO THE BASEMENT!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sscdjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This is a 2 star property but how they get it, or the basis of it, I don't know. Very ordinary hotel at good location. Staff are unfriendly, rooms are tiny and unclean with very limited facilities. Breakfast is also very limited, lunch and dinner have fixed time. Service is very poor, specially manager Arijit Mallick is not a trained person in hospitality sector. Ac are very old and problematic. Reception people are avoiding on issues raised by the guests. People should avoid if they are willing to stay longer, only short stay is recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ELINA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Checked into this hotel just to sleep at night as i reached late and had to leave early next morning. I was not dissapointed as thats what was the purpose of the stay at this hotel.. Check in.. Sleep and move on the next day. If this is what you want then its worth the cost. If you have to spend the entire day at Port blair then I wouldn't recomond this hotel unless you are looking to cut cost.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Subbaiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

I wish we had believed the few bad reviews, we stayed there for 2 nights. First night we were given a room where Bathroom commode seat was missing and room was unclean with stained walls and Blankets felt as if never washed (We were carrying our own so lived with it).

On return, this time Support staff was different and we were booked in AC room, though AC was not fuctional with a reason given that there is no power. 2 hrs into stay and it was still not working, on complaining he turned it on (Looked like a trick to save bills). 30 mins into it there was power cut (with No fan functional) and everything was working fine at reception, when us and other guests complained (They said they dont know, and they dont have backup) though it was there for reception. Moreover we were told to bug off and manage our business as if its a charity done here.

Calls to Owner were responded but he never turned up as promised. This was final nail for us to decide that we should do our best to inform guests why they should avoid this place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ritraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We checked in there on 11 Jan for 3 nights.
And let me quickly give you people my opinion below :

Pros :

1. Fantastic location. Bang on main road.
2. Easily accessible to major attractions. From this hotel you can take an Auto rickshaw for anywhere at a nominal price. Easiest way to commute in Port blair. The drivers are honest and genuine. They charge what is actually fixed... so don't negotiate.
3. Room service is average.
4. They have indoor sports for recreation like table tennis, Carrom etc.

Cons :

1. Breakfast options are very limited. We had to repeat same daily.
2. They only provide Machine tea and coffee.
3. There is a strict time limitation for lunch and dinner . Means if you don't order within the specified time you cannot have anything.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ankit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews