We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in all departments.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golkonda Hyderabad
Ranked #33 of 330 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a really nice hotel where the staff attitude and service is excellent..This is not always the case,even in an Indian star hotel.I cannot fault this hotel.Everything was excellent and it was a nice treat for me to stay here,having not enjoyed my stay at a cheaper hotel in Hyderabad.
All roo facilities worked.
You'll get a good night's sleep.
Nice bathrooms.
My first experience of a laundry service that individually wrapped each ironed shirt,including crepe paper inside the shirt..great for traveling.
Excellent breakfast etc..

Room Tip: Just enjoy it.Suspect the big brand hotels such as The Marriott are more expensive ??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Overall this hotel is good and very good in comparison to other hotels in the area. The rooms are brightly lit and clean, the food was ample and nice but there were some issues with service. The staff were often inept and disinterested. When room service was ordered the order was mostly incorrect for example we ordere fries and a veggie burger and asked for extra fries as their normal portions were small instead we got a double veggie burger and less fries than normal! On another occasion we asked to be directed to a good beauty salon, we were led by three different men to a dodgy part of town to a dirty salon. These men worked for the hotel and were obviously involved in a personal scam with the salon. We complained on our return but to no avail. On another occasion our room needed to be cleaned and after a record 5 phone calls staff finally arrived 6 hours after our initial call. The taxi service that the hotel provides is also ridiculously expensive by Indian standards as is their laundry charges. We were lucky in that we were visiting locals and therefore were less susceptible to being ripped off.
The hotel is nice, the rooms are nice but the service provided lets the whole place down and adds a farcical, fawlty towers feel to the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't facing the main road as it can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aine1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Greetings!
At the outset we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at our hotel. At the same time we are extremely disheartened to learn about your dissatisfaction.
Guest feedbacks are taken very seriously by our team and corrective actions are incorporated in our constant effort to improve the standards of our service.
We have noted your concerns and would like to assure you that the matter will investigated and addressed effectively. We humbly request you to try our hotel and our services one more time. We are confident that you will be pleased
I look forward to meet you personally.
Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location is convenient for airport and city centre. Staff are always friendly and usually helpful. Rooms are modern, well-appointed and generally well maintained. Breakfast is self-service buffet, so guests who don't serve themselves but try to give orders to staff are often disappointed. Nizam Restaurant is good for feasting. Occassionally the staff get overstretched by conferences, etc. Or the cleaners have a bad day. But everything gets sorted out in the end and the hotel is undoubtedly the best in its price bracket in downtown Hyderabad.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I am a 43 year old professor. I have visited India many times. After a long 2 week trip to India, I stayed at Golkonda on my last night in India. It was amazing. Yes, other 5 stars are larger or more elegant, etc., but you also pay $200-$300/night for them. I paid $100 USD for my stay at Golkonda, and the room felt like a 5-star. The bathroom alone was beautiful and immaculate. Beyond the room, the restaurant food at this place was spectacular, both the Western-type food as well as the Indian food. At the lobby restaurant, try the hummus, or the garlic pasta, or the tomato soup!

The Golkonda is not in a beautiful location but I'm told is in the center of town and an easy walk to everything. However, it is super convenient from the airport, right off of the new expressway. If you're flying in or out of India, this is a great option. Without any doubt, when I fly into Hyderabad next time, I'm staying here. It's worth it for the nice room, convenience to the airport (about 20 min away but easy) and the awesome, safe food.

Also the Internet was free and fast. All of the staff were super friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The hotel is quite comfortable with all necessary facilities. The rooms facing highway are good and provide information about active life in Hyderabad. The Breakfast has excellant limited choice and was well laid. The staff in the hotel including restaurant are well mannered. The dinner, buffet, offers good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road/ highway seems to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great hotel. Lovely restaurants that are reasonably priced, but avoid using the hotel taxi. I got charged 500 rupees for a journey that cost 35 in an auto rickshaw!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scubadoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This really is a wonderful hotel if you are planning a trip to Hyderabad. It is located in the heart of the city so all the sights are just a short auto ride or even walk away if you prefer. Most trips will cost about 100rps. It is clean and modern but the entrance is only 50 yards away from the busy streets but traffic noise is not a problem. We never noticed it. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds very comfy and I can recommend the laundry service. Front desk staff are always available and helpful.
There is an ultra modern bar upstairs. Breakfast is buffet style and caters for most tastes. The restaurant service though leaves a lot to be desired. Service is slow and there are many people milling around unsure of what they are supposed to be doing. Tables are cleared quickly at breakfast but then not re-laid. You will often have to make the same request several times.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#27 of 330 in Hyderabad
860 reviews
The Park Hyderabad
#24 of 330 in Hyderabad
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abids
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#29 of 330 in Hyderabad
596 reviews
Best Western Ashoka
#47 of 330 in Hyderabad
319 reviews
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Taj Deccan
Taj Deccan
#22 of 330 in Hyderabad
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Address: | Banjara Hills, Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing