We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
14
38
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
38
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portions are small hotel is located budget hotel main market excellent hotel hotel management visited daman sea beaches amenities housekeeping fort ambience operative
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

The rooms are ok. Not bad. Except that the towels stink, everything else was ok. The food in the restaurant downstairs is amazing. Not to miss the garlic butter prawns. Good food.
The staff is ok too. The hotel is in the main market and pretty close to one of the beaches. Very close to the fort too. The breakfast that they offer isn’t very lavish but ok. 3.5 stars out of 5

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sabrina18021988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

---------------------
Location : Good
---------------------
The hotel is located in the main market. It is also near Daman bus stand (but few people take buses from there, mostly Vapi bus stand is useful).

- There is a variety of shops around and some eating joints.
- China market is also nearby
- Dominos is at 10 minutes walk
- Sea is close by but it the worst managed sea side in the world I have seen.
Very dirty and ugly
- Devka beach etc are at some distance (auto recommended)

----------------------------------
Hotel amenities : Average
----------------------------------
- The hotel boasts a restaurant on the ground floor.
Most suited to non vegetarian people.
In case you are vegetarian, they would recommend you to take meal at their sister concern nearby (5-6 plots ahead)

- Parking is available.
Located on a wide road, easy access.
- Front desk is careless and could be more polite and helpful
- Staircase is shady, without proper light, and smelly (here's when you realize your mistake of choosing this hotel)
- Corridors are cramped and not so clean
- Ovearall, property is old and badly maintained

-----------------------------------
In-Room experience : Bad ⚠️
-----------------------------------
NOTE: I booked an Executive Double Room.
Stayed as a couple.

- Rooms have a pungent smell. Probably due to heavy smoking indoors and improper cleaning and ventilation.
- Bathroom is a mess.
There were small bugs in the bathroom and it was also emanating a bad odour
Shower was not working properly
Lighting is improper (Very low for shaving etc)
- The beds are okay. Saved me!
There were no bed bugs but bed linen was dirty and I got it changed asap.
Bed cushion and pillow cushion is alright
- In room entertainment consists of Television (small size)
There's an Ok range of channels on the Television provided by a local cable operator
- View from room is OK
The market street is visible from road facing rooms
- Room service was fine
I ordered few eatables and coffee tasted good.

----------------------------------
Conclusion : Avoidable
----------------------------------
Gurukripa did disappoint me.
The room charges are higher for the amenities and food rates are expensive by any standards.
I would not recommend couples or families to stay at this place.
At best people who are going to Daman for booze can stay here.

Thanks for your time in reading this review. I assure I am being 100% honest.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Desi-Jaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

Daman trip in monsoon is always a good option. Good crowd awesome weather. Hotel is quiet good and worth of money that they are Charing you.hotel service is good it's near by Daman taxi stand so travelling is not problem from here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ramang193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girish N, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gurukripa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you so much. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Please expect the same service or better that you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Good food great breakfast. Could be cleaner. Close to the beaches. We got checked in quite late due to the room not empty. Budget friendly hotel if you have lots of time need to relax and are on budget with need for good non vegetarian food then this is the place

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank pps2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girish N, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gurukripa, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

This place is very good. It offers all the modern amenities. The restaurant has nice ambience and a perfect place to spend weekend. The Hotel is well connected to the surrounding spots. The rooms are cozy, with a little fridge in it, so that you can chill your beer. The hotel also has a separate restaurant for the veggies.

Room Tip: Book in Advance as these rooms get booked early
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srinivas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews