We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rough Diamond and The Best Hotel in Candolim!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alegria - The Goan Village
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was our first time in Goa, and it was a shock when we arrived at the airport. To be honest we didn't know what to expect and were alarmed at the way people drive and the state of the place, I think we were a little niave. Once we had settled in, the place is just brilliant and we'll be going back next year. The rooms are spacious and are cleaned daily.
Lounge, Bedroom and Wet Room/Toilet. You get aircon and a fan in each room at no extra charge and a Fridge with Pop/Beers/Water all charge at the standard rate for Pubs/restaurants. The staff are super friendly and couldn't do enough to help or advise on trips and places to visit. I must make special mention of the Head Barman, Bala. The breakfast is Traditional Goan or you can select from the usual Cereals/Toast/Omlettes etc...
They have a Bar and Restaurant on site which serve both all day from 7am to 11pm. You can order anytime and the food is really good with a good selection on the menu. They even have barbeque nights (Wed & Fri) and you can sit by the pool and watch them cook your selections of Fish or Meat.
It took us about 2/3 days to get used to the goan way of life, it's not like anywhere i've been before, but as i said earlier i can't wait to go back. Having spent some time wondering around Candolim and speaking to other hotel guests, it is without doubt the best hotel in Candolim. I recommend you use a local trip company(we used John's Boats) as our tour operator was charging twice the amount for the same trip and then subcontracting to a local company.
Anyway, i'm digressing here. Back to the hotel. It is Off the main road but about 200m with a path leading down to the beach approx 600m away. There is very little traffic noise from the main road as it faces inwards, it may be different if your appt faces the road, our's faced the pool. It has a decent sized pool, with recliners and is constantly in the sun, It rises and sets in the east, so remember to turn over at Half Time :-)
I could just keep going on, but i think you get the idea.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnandLaura2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Alegria - The Goan Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

Arrived back home last night.
The hotel is rated as a 3* and the apartment we had reflected this. It was cleaned every day but the shower would sometimes take a long time to heat up; the the tv reception was poor (although we don't usually stay in the room long enough to watch - the day I had 'Delhi Belly' I would have appreciated a good film).

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but the service was not good. By the time hot water arrived at our table we had eaten breakfast and were ready to leave. We were 'persuaded' by staff to attend a barbeque evening. suffice to say the food was that good that we had to visit an alternative restaurant straight after [I don't think they have a proper chef].

On more than one occassion we didn't get fresh towels; we had to call every time we wanted the fridge re-stocked. We took our own toilet paper (just in case) and the staff used those on the holders instead of their own.

We were also quite upset that when we were packing to leave the staff actually came in, not to help carry the cases, but to check the mini-bar hadn't been used after we had settled the bill! We felt un-trusted.

We had 'De-luxe' room - heaven knows how bad the ordinary rooms are!

On a positive note, prices are reasonable and the hotel is in a central location.

We ate out at various restaurants but after 10 days we were relieved to find a couple of places where we could get a more 'English' menu - i.e. more bland.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PeterRake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

i traveled alone on my trip through india, but as this was my last stop, i decided to upgrade from the hostels i'd spent my last month, to this nicer hotel that i found on agoda.com for a good deal.

i had a huge room with a bathroom and a balcony. the hotel had a pool, and if you walk down a windy path, you can make your way to the beach where all the fun is. filled with mostly russian tourists, the beach can get pretty crowded with few english speakers to chat with. but the guys who work at the beach hut were really friendly and fun. the girls that walk the beach selling goods became friends with me by the end of the trip, and each day i purchased a massage, a pedicure, or whatever else they were selling that day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I would not send my worst enemy to the rooms we were given. Arrived at 8:50 and although only 4 in our group and another couple we were made to wait while the only person on duty finished a lengthy private conversation with a colleague on our side of the counter. Checked us in with all the usual form filling and called the porter to show us to our rooms when there was a sudden commotion with them all speaking (shouting) at once. We were then informed our rooms were not yet ready but would be in 1 hour. Not a good start when you've just travelled for 20+ hours. I suggested that we wait in the restaraunt and could we have some breakfast, maybe tea & toast? "Certainly sir, but you will have to pay for it" was the persons response. At this point I asked for the mobile no of our rep. I was not able to get him initially but by this time our rooms were ready (30 minutes later rather than the 1 hour). We each entered our rooms which were adjacent to one another and within 20 seconds exited and informed reception that we were not accepting the rooms. We had booked de-luxe suites at the Sonesta Inns but due to them not having renewed the contract with our tour operator had been offered this as a fair and equal alternative. To say that the rooms were basic is a mammoth understatement. They were dirty in the extreme with grubby whitewashed walls, chipped plaster work throughout and very shabby paintwork They were depressing, the furniture appeared to have been salvaged from a council refuse site. After a nine hour battle we did get moved. Picture here are not a true representation,

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leeds12fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was at the Goan Village Resorts in December 2010 for a part of our multicity honeymoon trip. We were looking for a relaxing and refreshing holiday weekend and we got just that.

Staff at the property was very helpful and attentive. The pick up was there on time. We got a very warm welcome and the room was what we were told and saw online at http://www.goanvillage.com

Sushant, Director of the resort was very helpful in guiding us about how to get a transport, places to visit, things to do, etc. He was available whenever you need him. Just call him.

I had a great experience and so did my parents. They stayed at the resorts from 13th to the 17th of September 2011.

Sushant was nice enough and gave us a very good deal for our second time there. My parents came back happy and couldnt stop praising how good the staff was, how delicious the food was and how easy was for them to get a hold of someone at the hotel and ask for anything they need.

I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Goa to stay at the Goan Village Resorts. They handle it all for you.

Once again, thanks Sushant for making it so hassle free for us and my parents. I look forward to visit you again this December.


Manish S.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious, tidy and have everything to comfort you. But you may choose standard/delux b...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Very good location, nice staff but smelly rooms and didn't like the food at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandeepKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We availed Deluxe room package but were given a room below the standard room in the B building. Had to argue with the front desk to get what was promised. They haven't advertised any of those filthy congested room anywhere on their website. So please be careful while putting up here!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robinandy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
548 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#26 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.8 km away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#22 of 66 in Candolim
437 reviews
0.5 km away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria - The Goan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria - The Goan Village

Address: Next to Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Candolim
#11 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $54 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alegria - The Goan Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algeria - The Goan Village is a 3 star vibrant resort adorned with psychedelic paintings ideal for all sorts of holiday goers. The hotel offers all the luxuries and comforts of home facilitated with an efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Alegria - The Goan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria - The Goan Village Hotel Candolim
Alegria - The Goan Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing