We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Bourgainvillea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just spent 2 weeks over christmas with my girlfriend and my son at bougainvillea and we have to say that we loved it there, Lourenco and his team of lovely people were so friendly and helpful,we had breakfast there in the garden dining area every day,it was nice and quiet there, which was just what you wanted but still close enough to get to the centre of candolim on our hired scooters in a few minutes,also we have to commend Lourenco and his staff for how spotless they keep the whole place and would recommend it to anyone in the future. big thanks to Lourenco and the gang.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 3 weeks stay at The Bougainvillea over Christmas and New Year.
The Sunburn Festival was on for 3 days and Candolim was very very busy up to New years Eve, it was a relief to get back to the tranquil well kept garden at the Bougainvillea to escape all the mayhem on the main roads.
We where staying in the penthouse suite and actually left the beach before midnight and spent the rest of the night on the large private terrace watching the firework displays over the beach sharing a bottle of chilled champagne, heaven !
We fail to see how anybody could say anything negative about their stay here as nothing is to much trouble for any of the team.
Mr Lourenco was even there to greet us as we arrived at 0330hrs on an early flight to welcome us, we know from previous visits to Goa that most hotels will just leave you outside till your room is ready in the afternoon.
Mr Lourencos wife Annie came to greet us at breakfast time and Freddie in the restaurant I think was trying to fatten us up , always wanting to give us more tea and toast.
We felt more like part of the family by the end of our stay and a big mention to Mario and Peter the taxi drivers who were always on call if you didnt feel like walking into town.
The building and all the rooms are all spotless and I think Lourenco also washes his trees haha.
Here you certainly get the personal touch that is sadly missing in most Hotels,
We would like to thank all the team for looking after us during a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotlessly clean with Flatscreen TV and A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This place was by far the nicest place we stayed at in India. It is spotless, has beautiful rooms and gardens, is looked after by incredibly helpful staff and has all the amenities you need including wifi, hot water and cable TV. The breakfast is really good, too. The location is nice although you have to walk for about 20 minutes to get to the beach/town. However, Lourenco and Mario are normally around to give you a lift if you need one. You pay more than at a lot of places but it is well worth it. If there were any slight issues they were that the neighbours on one side are a little noisy at times (although compared to over parts of India it is really quiet), sometimes the power goes out (but they have a generator for lights and this happens in India) and I would have liked it if smoking was banned during breakfast times at the eating area. Overall though, highly recommended...

Room Tip: The bottom floor has a hammock which is really nice but the room we stayed in on the 2nd floor had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCharlesJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

There is no doubt about why Bougainvillea Guesthouse has earned a #1 rating here. It is beautifully maintained in a quiet end of Candolim with flawless hospitality. As it is most fun, and in many cases necessary, to get around the Candolim area on motorbikes, the location of the guesthouse at the very north end of Candolim is a bonus. It gives you an opportunity to escape the hoards of tourists every evening. Our room was huge - 2 large rooms with 2 balconies, a fridge, and a sizeable bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served in the small Goan style restaurant in the garden and dinner can be ordered at breakfast time - Ingredients are bought fresh daily! Lourenco, Annie, Freddie and the entire staff are so welcoming and accommodating. (Thanks again for the birthday cake and song!) The grounds are beautifully landscaped. If felt like we were returning to our own little oasis every evening. This is a special place in the middle of so many run of the mill hotels and other guesthouses. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and the stay was very comfortable. Guest house is very nicely maintained, service is quick, staff is very helpful. However location is little interior but not a problem when you have a vehicle with you.

What I like most about this place is calm and beautiful surrounding. No disturbance at all. I will definitely come again to Bougainvillea in my next trip.

Room Tip: Penthouse is a good choice but there are no lifts, so could be problematic with elderly people and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I actually have a handicap doing this review because I have not stayed in many guesthouses to compare with others. Infact because I stayed in hotels and mostly luxury ones I found this place definitely not meeting those standards... actually missing by a mile.

So I assume that given that everybody else has written good reviews, this is how guest houses are supposed to be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bougainvilleaGoa, Owner at Bougainvillea Guest House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

I really appriciate your review and thankyou Mr Sharma.

Its a pity that you don't know the difference between Guest House/ Home stay and a 5 star delux hotels . Inspite of all my efforts to accomodate you when you walk in client ,all though we had a full occupancy I really don't understand your review what you mean and why you left the 5 star hotel and came and stayed for only one night at Bougainvillea Guest house.

(1) In your rating you gave a average points for our pent house which has a large seating room with flat screen TV, a large bed room, big bath room with a bath tub, and a sun terrace with sun beds which is not even 10% the cost of a standard room rate of a 5 star delux hotel were you stayed before arriving at Bougainvillea
(2) Our bed size is 6 feet x 6.5 feet its a king size bed ment for 2 persons with a 12 inch good quality reputed companys mattress ,
If you add a third person , it definetely reduce the sleep quality.

We are not perfect but we are confident the good services we provide, the proof of which is in the other reviews

My advise please stay at 5 stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just returned from 12 days holiday. Laurenco, Annie, Freddie and all the staff do everything possible to make your holiday special. Fresh Flowers, spotlessly clean rooms, air conditioning. Everything you require, they will make it happen! We want to mention the restaurant
Santa Lucia in Candolim which is owned by Laurenco's brother in law, , it had excellent food and also arranged a car to take us home, what a service! We never felt unhappy at night. People were all very friendly. We will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bonnyscot10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
2.2 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 69 in Candolim
275 reviews
1.2 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 69 in Candolim
1,754 reviews
2.1 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 69 in Candolim
1,663 reviews
1.8 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#6 of 69 in Candolim
601 reviews
1.6 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Guest House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Guest House Goa

Address: 83C Sinquerim Bardez, Candolim, Bardez 403519, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#2 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $70 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillea Guest House Goa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa is built with a Portuguese colonial mansion in mind, the perfect luxury for your holiday. This idyllic location is one of North Goa's very much sought after holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bougainvillea Guest House Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Hotel Candolim
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing