We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The O Hotel(Candolim)
US$76
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casablanca(Candolim)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Lui Beach Resort(Candolim)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$20/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$91
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santana Beach Resort(Candolim)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
De Alturas Resort(Candolim)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
465
64
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
64
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis sonhis teamsinquerim beachhome away from homegarden restaurantstocked fridgesitting rooma wonderful stayclean roomsamazing hospitalitybeautiful propertyfort aguadacurryoff seasonthe main roadfreddielorenzo
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 537 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 3 weeks stay at The Bougainvillea over Christmas and New Year.
The Sunburn Festival was on for 3 days and Candolim was very very busy up to New years Eve, it was a relief to get back to the tranquil well kept garden at the Bougainvillea to escape all the mayhem on the main roads.
We where staying in the penthouse suite and actually left the beach before midnight and spent the rest of the night on the large private terrace watching the firework displays over the beach sharing a bottle of chilled champagne, heaven !
We fail to see how anybody could say anything negative about their stay here as nothing is to much trouble for any of the team.
Mr Lourenco was even there to greet us as we arrived at 0330hrs on an early flight to welcome us, we know from previous visits to Goa that most hotels will just leave you outside till your room is ready in the afternoon.
Mr Lourencos wife Annie came to greet us at breakfast time and Freddie in the restaurant I think was trying to fatten us up , always wanting to give us more tea and toast.
We felt more like part of the family by the end of our stay and a big mention to Mario and Peter the taxi drivers who were always on call if you didnt feel like walking into town.
The building and all the rooms are all spotless and I think Lourenco also washes his trees haha.
Here you certainly get the personal touch that is sadly missing in most Hotels,
We would like to thank all the team for looking after us during a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotlessly clean with Flatscreen TV and A/C
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place was by far the nicest place we stayed at in India. It is spotless, has beautiful rooms and gardens, is looked after by incredibly helpful staff and has all the amenities you need including wifi, hot water and cable TV. The breakfast is really good, too. The location is nice although you have to walk for about 20 minutes to get to the beach/town. However, Lourenco and Mario are normally around to give you a lift if you need one. You pay more than at a lot of places but it is well worth it. If there were any slight issues they were that the neighbours on one side are a little noisy at times (although compared to over parts of India it is really quiet), sometimes the power goes out (but they have a generator for lights and this happens in India) and I would have liked it if smoking was banned during breakfast times at the eating area. Overall though, highly recommended...

Room Tip: The bottom floor has a hammock which is really nice but the room we stayed in on the 2nd floor had a sunny balcony and big bath. The penthouse is normally used for long stay guests.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCharlesJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2011

There is no doubt about why Bougainvillea Guesthouse has earned a #1 rating here. It is beautifully maintained in a quiet end of Candolim with flawless hospitality. As it is most fun, and in many cases necessary, to get around the Candolim area on motorbikes, the location of the guesthouse at the very north end of Candolim is a bonus. It gives you an opportunity to escape the hoards of tourists every evening. Our room was huge - 2 large rooms with 2 balconies, a fridge, and a sizeable bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served in the small Goan style restaurant in the garden and dinner can be ordered at breakfast time - Ingredients are bought fresh daily! Lourenco, Annie, Freddie and the entire staff are so welcoming and accommodating. (Thanks again for the birthday cake and song!) The grounds are beautifully landscaped. If felt like we were returning to our own little oasis every evening. This is a special place in the middle of so many run of the mill hotels and other guesthouses. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and the stay was very comfortable. Guest house is very nicely maintained, service is quick, staff is very helpful. However location is little interior but not a problem when you have a vehicle with you.

What I like most about this place is calm and beautiful surrounding. No disturbance at all. I will definitely come again to Bougainvillea in my next trip.

Room Tip: Penthouse is a good choice but there are no lifts, so could be problematic with elderly people and with small kids. However its located just of third floor, not much of climbing.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I actually have a handicap doing this review because I have not stayed in many guesthouses to compare with others. Infact because I stayed in hotels and mostly luxury ones I found this place definitely not meeting those standards... actually missing by a mile.

So I assume that given that everybody else has written good reviews, this is how guest houses are supposed to be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bougainvilleaGoa, Owner at Bougainvillea Guest House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

I really appriciate your review and thankyou Mr Sharma.

Its a pity that you don't know the difference between Guest House/ Home stay and a 5 star delux hotels . Inspite of all my efforts to accomodate you when you walk in client ,all though we had a full occupancy I really don't understand your review what you mean and why you left the 5 star hotel and came and stayed for only one night at Bougainvillea Guest house.

(1) In your rating you gave a average points for our pent house which has a large seating room with flat screen TV, a large bed room, big bath room with a bath tub, and a sun terrace with sun beds which is not even 10% the cost of a standard room rate of a 5 star delux hotel were you stayed before arriving at Bougainvillea
(2) Our bed size is 6 feet x 6.5 feet its a king size bed ment for 2 persons with a 12 inch good quality reputed companys mattress ,
If you add a third person , it definetely reduce the sleep quality.

We are not perfect but we are confident the good services we provide, the proof of which is in the other reviews

My advise please stay at 5 stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews