We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed for eight nights at the end of June. The Bougainvillea was proudly displayiing its 2012 TripAdvisor Award and how richly deserved it was. I have nothing but praise for Lourenco, Freddie, Agnelo and the rest of the people at this lovely guesthouse. In comparison with this I think we have forgotten what politeness, courtesy and a genuine service ethic (not a fawning tip ethic) really is. Room, clean, tidy, perfect. Breakfast excellent in the garden, useful advice always forthcoming. I'll be going back again and cannot recommend it highly enough.
Patrick Claffey

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at the Bougainvillea Guest House during the monsoon season in Goa. Since we stayed in when it rained, it was nice to have a spacious, clean hotel room to stay in. We were provided with water and other beverages at very reasonable prices in our room, and the staff were very flexible in meeting our meal requests. The room was very nice, with a large bed, coffee table, two comfy chairs, television, and outdoor seating area. All of the furniture looked brand new, and the cleanliness was a welcome change from Delhi dust. The guest house is located a little ways from the nearest beach (probably a 15-20 min. walk), but the owner offered to drive us down the road when he was available, which was very appreciated. Overall, my stay at the guest house was quite pleasant!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauralcook12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was our first trip to Goa, and thanks to Trip Advisor, we chose a very good place to stay inGoa. Bougainvillea Guest house is pretty nice, located quite near to sinquerin/candolim beach (not on the beach), gives you a homely feeling. It is not like big flashy hotels, however its very relaxing, a bit small, like big home.. Lourenco (owner), his family and the staff, you guys are awesome, the special care which they take for each of their guests is commendable.. Rooms are very clean, garden is very nicely maintained, fresh flowers are on our sides every time... We would definitely come again..:)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dushyant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Been to Goa a million times - and absolutely looooved this place!!! Its everything - quaint, quiet, gorgeous ... !! Lourenco and his staff really know how to take care of their guests!! Its a must stay place!
Thank you Lourenco!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappyFeet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This place is great. It’s spotlessly clean, tranquil, and has the friendliest most helpful staff you could ever hope to find. The meals are fresh, delicious and are prepared and served with obvious care. But far and away the best thing about Bougainvillea is Lourenco-- from the very first moment you arrive to the very last moment before you leave he is friendly, attentive, warm and welcoming. It’s a rare thing in life to meet someone who is so gifted at what they do that you feel like they were born to do it. Lourenco it is definitely one of those people. I will definitely stay here again…

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Bougainvillea is a nice guest house just 500 meters from the beach. The a/c room I had is spacious, has a good bed and a little bathroom. The free internet connection is good. Lourenco and his wife and staff are very friendly. Both breakfast and dinner is good. You can find other restaurants and some shops on walking distance.
It will take you about an hour by car to go to the airport.
The room charges are very competitive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I visited Goa for our first time and how lucky we were to find Bougainvillegoa Guest House. This is the 'real deal' and run by Lourenco, Anne & Family. They could not have been more helpful and made our holiday something special and which has set the scene for our return to this fabulous destination. On our arrival into Goa, Laurenco arranged Mr Mario to pick us up and who became our private driver for the balance of our time there. On that score, we booked for 5 nights and stayed 9. This small hotel/guest house, with 8 rooms is just right and a short stroll to the beach or down to the village. With restaurants everywhere but difficult to not eat at Bougainville with Freddie looking after our every culinary wish. His breakfasts were incredible and his dinners specially prepared for us with fresh fish etc and cooked to absolute perfection.
We enjoyed afternoon drinks in the garden or in our suite and the best thing of all was the great value of everything with absolutely no worries about the usual rip off in some such exclusive hotels. Lourenco arranged many things for us including a lunch at Mama's Kitchen (fabulous) and another at our favourite Martin's Corner with Mr Mario looking after the transport. He also took us to local markets and the very interesting Spice Plantation. All in all, a wonderful experience and thank you Trip Advisor for putting us onto it, Laurenco for your fabulous hospitality and Freddie for feeding us like never before. We will be back! Oh, I forgot to thank Lourenco for booking us into the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai for the three nights after Bougainville and can say they truly had a hard act to follow!!

Room Tip: The penthouse is fabulous, but 301 is a great family room & 201 (ours) just right for a couple.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
2.2 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
259 reviews
1.2 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,708 reviews
8.0 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,575 reviews
1.6 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Guest House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Guest House Goa

Address: 83C Sinquerim Bardez, Candolim, Bardez 403519, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#1 Family Hotel in Candolim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $73 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillea Guest House Goa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa is built with a Portuguese colonial mansion in mind, the perfect luxury for your holiday. This idyllic location is one of North Goa's very much sought after holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bougainvillea Guest House Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Hotel Candolim
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing