We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessionalism at its best”
Review of The O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The O Hotel
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We didn’t get a chance to stay at The O Hotel. But that wasn’t out of choice. We made a last-minute decision to head to Goa for the Republic Day weekend and landed there without any hotel bookings. However, we had spoken with Ravi, from reservations, at The O Hotel. And he promised us the world. We were told that we’d get a deluxe room at the price of their standard courtyard one, for 3 nights. And that he’d hold it for us till we got there. We didn’t have to give our credit card details over the phone and could just get there the next morning and pay at the time of check-in. Turns out, it didn’t just sound too good to be true. It was.

Once we got there, they were kind enough to show us one of the deluxe rooms, which was alright with all the usual comforts thrown in. Nothing spectacular, but we’d take it for the price promised to us. (Plus, we didn’t have much of a choice given everything else was fully booked.) But when we went back to the reception, Ravi seemed to be fumbling and wanted to reconfirm the price he had promised. Then he disappeared for a few minutes and returned to inform us that all the rooms were actually booked. We asked if it was a question of the room rate being hiked and that we’d be willing to pay. But he just shunted us away.

If this is how the management treats potential guests, I wouldn’t like to imagine their attitude towards those who have already paid and are living there. But to be objective, the property is decent and very well located. Just make sure you book through any reputed travel website, not via the hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank VagabondOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Rebekah

Having read a review on tripadvisor before we left for Goa and after booking our stay at the O Hotel, my boyfriend & I didn't know what to expect - as far as this particular person was concerned, the hotel was basic, the food was average & the staff were appalling, slow & miserable. WELL - they couldn't have mis-judged it more. My boyfriend & I found the hotel beautiful (maybe a lick of paint would help?) but nothing more than that, the room was clean and quirky and very 'buddha' - the food, especially in the evening at the restaurant in the gardens by the beach, was the best we had all holiday - & we ate at some lovely restaurants) and the staff MADE the holiday, without a doubt. They welcomed us down to breakfast every morning, went out of their way for us every single day, greeted us with a smile and yes ok - a little laid-back compared to what we might be used to on say, a European trip - but absolutely lovely people and couldn't do enough for us. I think what made it that way is that we smiled back at them every day - manners cost nothing as they say. We had an amazing holiday made better by the staff & although we wouldn't return to this part of Goa again (we found it a bit scruffy outside of the hotel) is was an unforgettable experience and we would recommend the O to anyone looking at Candolim. All I would advise is to have PATIENCE - you are on holiday and should let things go over your head and relax, not stress at a dish that's 10-15mins later to the table then you wanted!

I will also add that Republic of Noodles aside from the hotel restaurant, was extremely tasty & definitely worth a visit. It's a 5-10min walk from the O Hotel and worth every rupee!

Room Tip: If you have a little extra to splash out, get the private 'villa' room on the 1st floor. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I reached The O Resort in the afternoon. I was greeted with a garland made of shells. The hotel in in candolim starts from main road and extends all the way to the beach. it starts with the Casino, the a Oriental restaurant then a Open Bar then a small bridge extending into the multi-cuisine restaurant with had an adequate spread for breakfast satisfying both the Indian and western palate. then the Rooms are lined on either side with a flowing water landscape. In mid of the rooms is the Reception. Staff are courteous and helpful. beyond the rooms, is the crescent shaped crystal clear swimming pool. once you cross the pool, there is a big lawn leading to the beach with a grill restaurant placed at a bit higher level, where you can see the see. There is an awesome shack called calamari right at the exit of the hotel into the beach. The rooms were big with walk in bathrooms and glass separating the room and the bathroom. with showers having open to sky feel.
On the first day i came pretty late to the hotel. the restaurant was closed. but to my request the guys at the kitchen made me some delicious goan fish curry. Bikes and car were available right next door at the vic 3 shoppe.
There are water sports right behind the hotel. But you have bargain and ask half the price only. No rooms are sea facing.

Room Tip: courtyard is in the ground floor and deluxe is in the first floor . no rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajinikanth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have travelled to goa for the last 13 years always staying in appartments and this year me and my wife decided to treat ourself to some luxury. I am so glad i did not take any notice of some of the reveiws i read on trip adviser about this hotel. I have had the BEST 3 weeks in a hotel that offers everything from clean rooms excellent room service the staff are so polite and helpful NOTHING was a problem PLEASE PLEASE do not listen to the negative feedback this place puts the Taj in a corner and i shall be returning their next year god willing once again a big thankyou to the O hotel A Freidman room 702 01.01.12 to 22.01.12

Room Tip: first floor more peaceful i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Buddha hotel, good ambience, park your car and take a golf cart to reach the front desk. Clean and decent size rooms for family with one kid. You need to walk few meters for sea beach but is not advisable as the water is rough there.

Breakfast experience was average. Good bar with comfortable seating.

The location is good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB_11101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

first time in Goa so was very pleased with our choice of hotel such lovely staff clean rooms and a very good choice for anyone wanting to visit the area. I shall be returning to this hotel next year and hopefully for 3 weeks instead of two felt very secure and safe in the hotel as security was good.

Room Tip: i would defininately go back to this hotel and have the deluxe room as you had a small but adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmasib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here over christmas and new year. The hotel is quite pricey by Goan standards, but coming with that you get the reassurance of a more western quality of hotel. It's no Taj, but it's still of good quality. The rooms are modern style and a good size for two people.

The Hotel is located directly on the beach, access via a well-kept garden/lawn area. The position on the beach is good, it's the quieter end of Candolim (sinquerim Beach) which makes for a much nicer stay. Having said that, it’s an easy walk up the beach to be in the thick of things. The beach is well formed and has plenty of space for relaxing, great for swimming and some good shacks nearby. The pool and pool area doesn't look large, but it's definitely large enough to cool off and even at the height of the season there were always beds free and was possible to find a quiet spot to relax.

Similar can be said about its location on the main road, it's the south end of Candolim so the area is a little quieter but Candomlim isn't a large place and you can pretty much walk to anywhere within 15 minutes or take a Taxi for 100 INR. If you didn't want to walk, there's still plenty of bars/restaurants/shacks/shops within a stones throw of the hotel itself.

Breakfast was reasonable and covered all we really needed and would expect.

We only ate there one night (new years eve forced Gala dinner), the food was okay. Other people we talked to who went HB complained that it was repetitive buffet food. With an amazing amount of brilliant restaurants in the near vicinity where you can eat for a couple of pounds, I seriously wouldn't bother paying the prices in the hotel. The same applies to the bar, went once had a disappointing cocktail which took ages to come and then a very high bill as unlike most the bars/restaurants/shacks they add around 30% taxes; VAT, service taxes and then service charge (this isn't a surprise, it is in the small print that +taxes at the bottom of the menu).

No biggies, but some negatives;

The house keeping are okay but not brilliant. The two weeks we stayed there and none of the surfaces were cleaned down properly (water rings on the units, and toothpaste rings left in the bathroom from electric toothbrushes).

Wasn’t a problem for us, but if you are having 3 people in the room, then they just add a fold up bed into the same size room for 2 people. Where the room is a good size for 2, it’s not so good for 3.

The rooms had very little storage space. No drawers, little hanging space with only 5 hangers, just a few shelves to put everything on.

My biggest complaint would be the design on the hotel. Two parallel buildings with a walk way running in between them (think communal prison block from TV images) with the reception in the middle. This effectively means that at some point during the day, every person in the hotel has to walk past your room to get either to the restaurant at one end, the pool at the other or just exit the hotel – the staff also with their rattily wheeled service trolleys. You also find a lot of people congregate in the middle chatting at all times which is effectively in front of a lot of rooms. Very fortunately for us, our room was well located towards the pool end on the 2nd floor, but even then there’s quite a lot of noise from the corridor that’s create by the two buildings. So my room tip would be to try get 2nd floor rooms away from the centre (room 705-709).

Would I go back … quite probably. It was a good quality hotel that is well positioned just out of the main tourist zone but still with reasonable access to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chunkylover53__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.9 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.2 km away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#16 of 67 in Candolim
465 reviews
1.1 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 67 in Candolim
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#6 of 67 in Candolim
1,182 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#12 of 67 in Candolim
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The O Hotel

Address: S Dando No 114/1, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#12 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#13 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $118 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The O Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The o Hotel, Goa Hotel Candolim
The O Hotel Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing