We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
271
308
75
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
308
75
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews candolim beach swimming pool the main road pool facing room off season north goa rooms are spacious pool attendant luxury room room service private beach great pool reception staff pleasant stay excellent resort breakfast spread visit goa
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 695 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We have just returned from a 7 day tour of Kerala and a 2 centre week in Goa.
I thought I would add my honest opinion of the property.
All staff were friendly and helpful and the bar service and food prices were good and comparable to local restaurants and beach shacks.

Area - In my opinion the beach here is nicer and quieter to the central area in Candolim, no hassle on the beach with a handful of shacks serving good food at good prices. The sunbeds were not crammed together which made for a pleasant beach experience.
However the trade off is that its about a 20 min or more walk to a good selection of bars and restaurants along a busy and mostly unpaved road.

Room - Hmmm well it was ok, In need of at least a soft furnish renovation.
The mattress was very hard and pillows hard and flat and very uncomfortable, these all need changing and would transform the sleeping experience.
The Air con in the room (room 203) was very loud and sounded like waves were crashing in the room with the noise a gale force wind blowing. We had no option as to keep it on as it was far too hot without it.
It would be very difficult for the less mobile to use the bath or shower as there was a large step up and then over into the bath. Ok getting in but you had to be very careful getting out and stepping down onto a slippery floor with wet feet.

Pool - Nice area but a bit shabby in areas with chipped tiles etc and the water itself was a bit greasy with a lot of sand in it.
Its also a sun trap with no breeze so the shade from umbrellas is very much needed, especially in April!!

We were lead to stay here by the good reviews on TA which in my opinion are a bit over rated for the reasons mentioned.
I know they do not pretend to be anything other than a 3 star property but I have stayed in much nicer 3 star properties and with a few changes the Sonesta Inn could easily change from an OK 3 star to a good 3 star.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but in hindsight we would of stayed somewhere a bit more central or skipped Candolim altogether.

Lee

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lsr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259jose, General Manager at Sonesta Inns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us know your views,the resort is going for an extensive renovation,and all these issues will be sorted out.
We hope to see you back
Jose De Souza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

This little boutique hotel is located at the very end of a main road hence you could face a trouble finding it. We stayed here for 4 nights in a suite room. The room is quite spacious as there is a separate living area where we had an extra bed placed.
Well, speaking of the cons first -
1) We were not very happy with the general upkeep of the room as, the furniture was quite old & has lived it's age by now. Even the reception area is quite dull & looks aged.
2) The headboard part of the double bed was full of black stains. So much so that for the entire stay I could not rest my back at it. We requested them to try and clean it but guess those marks maybe are permanent. But they're definitely a put off.
3) Bathroom is spacious but totally lacks lustre!! The bathtub/shower is at a height of 2 steps so you gotta be careful while getting in & out of bath. The entire corners are full of black mould & so is the roll up cover for window that overlooks the living room. Curtain looked unhygienic too.
4) There is no 24x7 room service option available. We were sad coz what's a holiday without a midnight dessert!! Guess that's why it's just a 3 star property. And guess what, they CHARGE FOR GREEN TEA. hotels around the world just keep it alongside the kettle but here I paid for a bag & a pot of hot water!!
5) Breakfast area is out in the open overlooking the lawns. It could be taxing if you don't get a shaded table. The buffet spread was ok keeping in mind their star category. The most unappealing sight was of black ants all over the breakfast tables & also around the food cauldrons of the main buffet table. This added to not so great breakfast mornings.
6) Wifi was the worst you could get as it just dropped by the minute and no... mobile network doesn't reach in most parts of the hotel.
Now , the pros -
1) beach can be accessed through the hotel garden and it's one of the most peaceful & cleanest beaches in Goa.
2) Balcony of our suite room overlooked the pool that's surrounded by lovely palm trees. Quite relaxing in the mornings & evenings.
3) Hotel is peaceful as it's tucked away from the main road & all the mayhem.
4) The restaurant & bar staff was ever smiling and did everything possible to please us.
5) A shout for MR.JUDAS the pool attendant. Hats off to his hard work in the sultry sun as he made sure we got best sunbeds with ample towels & he always had a big pleasant smile on his face.
6) Floyds beach shack located on the left once you hit the beach from hotel gardens is, superb to spend a relaxed day with good food and drinks. Sending Love & thanks to our boy RAHUL who took great care of us on all the days. Hope he reads this.

All in all we had a good time except for the cleanliness issues as , work makes us stay at hotels all around the world and hence we have a sharp eye for such details. Here they were quite copious though. We Tried this 3 star accommodation based on reviews. This hotel is going in for renovations so, hopefully the highlighted issues would be looked after.
Thanks :)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank travel09love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259jose, General Manager at Sonesta Inns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your pros and cons,and we do agree with you that the resort to a certain extend is ageing,hence the Management has taken a decision to refurbish the whole resort,so that the guests can enjoy the new look,with better facilities
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused,and look forward to see you,and enjoy the new looks,and enhanced facilities at sonesta Inns
With best wishes
Jose De Souza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2018

1st time in India .............had great experience, hotel can't be faulted. Didn't expect such high standard from a 3*,usually do 5* all inclusive in Turkey/Egypt. Thought was taking a gamble on 3* B&B in India. We were pleasantly surprised when Sonesta exceeded all expectations. Every aspect of the hotel (except the WiFi) was bob on. In fact we have just re-booked for next year. From the reception staff to the waiters and especially Jude on the pool nothing is to much trouble. Had great camaraderie with other guests weather great food (in and out of hotel) was amazing and everything so cheap...bottle of gin £4 meal for 2 £5-£12. check out Hollywood Fashions for tailor made shirts suits and anything you want copying. Red lobster shack on the beach for fresh fish platter, Alex's bar for the best full English breakfast ever. Regular taxi/drivers outside resort will take you anywhere air conditioned (full day sightseeing £15-£20). If you get chance the overnight trip on the boat is the best thing don't miss it, its phenomenal.Well worth the money. Only tiniest of gripes was the wifi wasn't consisted. however in the big picture wasn't really a problem. hopefully will be better next year.....but wont put us off if not. Well done Sonesta see you next year.

Room Tip: We had room 109 overlooking pool.... but all rooms seemed good everyone gave good report.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cazzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259jose, General Manager at Sonesta Inns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us serve you on your maiden trip to Goa,and are happy to note that we have met all your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.

With best wishes
Jose De Souza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Just back from a 2 week holiday in the Sonesta. Had a great time, hotel top notch. Spotless and fantastic pool.
Thanks to Jude at the pool for all his hard work keeping the pool tip top and making sure all the guests are looked after.
Can also recommend the tailor, I had 5 shirts made to perfection.
Frank - Scotland.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank SharonBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259jose, General Manager at Sonesta Inns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your beautiful review,and look forward to see you soon.
We also have a new resort already commissioned known under the banner andoresresortandspa
With best wishes
Jose De Souza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Like others I hesitate to talk about how lovely this hotel is, but it just wouldn't be fair to not share.
I traveled w/friends on a tour of India which we ended by spending 6 days in Goa at the Sonesta. Our time there couldn't have been any better. The rooms are large, airy, with private balconies - very comfortable. The property is pretty, with morning and evening outdoor dining. Best of all, the beach is only a short walk behind the Hotel.

There are a choice of shacks and beach grass shelters to linger under. We patronized Floyds, whose staff was great. The WiFi is free. The food and drinks are good and ridiculously inexpensive. The hotel is a short walk from the main drag but you feel a million miles away while there. A 5 star experience and great end to a wonderful Indian adventure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank theworldkeepsturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259jose, General Manager at Sonesta Inns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you,and are happy to note that you are one of our most satisfied guests
We look forward to see you soon.
With best wishes
Jose De Souza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews