We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but........”
Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

WHATS GOOD: Located 350m from a fab beach with loads of shacks where a curry is £1.50 and a beer a quid. Rooms big clean, free aircon, sheets changed every day, towels for pool. mini bar.

WHATS OK: Pool looks a bit murky (never see anyone swimming in it) and its not as big as it looks from the hotel website). The waiting on staff are quite simply miserable, getting tea and coffee off them for the average breakfast is a chore. Food in hotel no better then the shacks but more expensive. Better hotel than A la Goa hotel 300m away

THE BAD: The bar is unmanned half the time so difficult to get a drink. Signs up saying its unsafe to go on the beach after 8pm. (B**LOCKS!) Its just to get you to eat in the hotel. At £80 per night its a bit pricey for what is a basic hotel with no facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here fo 5 nights after travelling around Rajasthan for 3 weeks. It is close to the beach which is great. The food was excellent, drinks cheap. Lovely pool. Staff were fantastic.

Room Tip: Nut much around hotel except the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuartessaouira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed at Coconut Grove Resort on a Business Trip. Location of Resort is excellent and has nice lawns. Rooms as nice and clean. Beach was not at all crowded in morning and just a short walk away from Resort. But the key issue of Resort is it's Restaurant. I shockingly found a cockroach in my breakfast plate; With that one can gauge cleanliness in Restaurant. The Resort Manager apologized to me after Check-Out. Breakfast options were also limited.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niitin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A pretty good place, if you just want to unwind and relax. The beach is just a stone's throw away and is very serene. One can easily spend hours just walking along the sea for 2-3 kms in either directions, or even roam in the Suru trees along the beach.

The rooms are nice, and 1st floor rooms have a balcony - which is a nice place to relax, watching the sun go down. Great service, all staff were very helpful and prompt.

Things to look out for:
- Small swimming pool
- Be wary of the sight-seeing package. It promises quite a few things, but you will fall short of time if you start at 3pm. You must start around 11am to visit all places properly. The car however is quite comfy (a Innova) and drivers as well as Mr Mark the manager are helpful.
- No restaurants close by. Unfortunately, you are solely dependent on the in-house restaurant, which is not consistent - even with the buffet course changed! On our second day, the a la carte menu was not available because they had some big group booking!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms to not have balcony, but you can sit-out in the lawn enjoying the moonlight
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keep_r0lling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Had gone to this resort on recommendation of a friend. One of the finest resort i have seen in South Goa. It consists of individual studio rooms instead of a tall building. The beach is just a 5 minute walk at the back of the resort.

The food available for breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent. The silence was heavenly and the whole resort was maintained very well.

If you are going to stay in South Goa then this is the resort to be.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank namastecitytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I along with my 2 friends, planned for a re-union trip to Goa.We wanted a peaceful and relaxing vacation.After a lot of research we bumped into Coconut Groove thread on TA.We were surprised to see so many great reviews.We agreed to give it a try.The booking was not a problem.We did it online and immediately received an acknowledgement.Spoke to Avinash (Front Office) and things were fixed.We reached the resort on the stipulated day and our first reaction was 'WOW !!'.The place was indeed away from any commercial destination.Almost secluded on the betalbatim beach.The resort has a well maintained and beautiful garden in the middle and villa type rooms all around.The swimming pool is small yet very clean,There's a pool side bar 'Tequila' which serves chilled beer and all cocktails..The villas have room on the ground floor and the 1st floor.We were lucky to get a 1st floor room.It had a balcony.You can sit there for ages sipping onto you wine/beer/coffee.The rooms were large enough to accommodate 3 of us.Every room has AC,LCD TV,Fridge,Safe Locker...We were thrilled..

The resort is just 3 mins walk from the beach.The beach is surely one of the loveliest beach I have seen in Goa.I felt as if its my personal beach.Water is very clean and there's no one to disturb you.

The resort plays typical Goan music which adds on to your pleasant mood.The Staff is very very helpful and friendly.They will go out of their way to make you feel special.Terrific value for money.

I just loved this place.Will recommend everybody to visit this place if you are planing to have a relaxed vacation.Coconut Groove is surely one of the best resorts of goa.Will surely come back to this place..

PS 1. The resort is complete Wifi
2. Has an internet cafe
3. Have facilities for recreation
4. Served flavored Sheesha
5. Food served by the resort tastes good .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Amit_Mohanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed between 28th and 30th July 2011 at Coconut Beach Resort, Betalbatim, Goa.I The Resort Team is Hospitable. I interacted with
Mr Avinash, Ms Michielle, Ms Malika at the Resort. They are very hospitable.
Mr Mark, General Manager is very supportive and arranged vehicle as per my
convenience.

The resort room is quite good. Housekeeping staff is very hospitable.

I would love to convey my thanks to the `Cook' who made very tasty "Dal Tadka".
Continental breakfast is also really very good. My wife and daughter have
enjoyed the swimming pool as well.

In all it was superb experience.

Room Tip: Room I got is very spacious and super look.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hitender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
1.6 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
793 reviews
2.6 km away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#4 of 5 in Betalbatim
177 reviews
10.6 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Martin's Comfort
Martin's Comfort
#13 of 39 in Salcette
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Price Range: $55 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Goa/Salcette
Coconut Grove Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing