We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Ranked #126 of 156 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Good location and well utilized space. Great service. Good rooms. The restaurant provides a wonderful buffet service with good menu options. The rooms are very well sized and make good utilization of space. Overall, its a very good business hotel at a reasonable price point.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirban77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    121
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
35
15
31
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed at the Sarovar Portico during my last business visit to Ahmedabad. The hotel is located in a supposedly not very safe area of Ahmedabad. The check-in formalities were smooth. Since I had arrived in an early morning flight, I wanted to check-in, freshen up, have breakfast and then leave for my work. Was told there is some construction going on so I would be given a temporary room and then shifted to a room they intend to give me. I proceeded for breakfast buffet which was rather crowded and most of the dishes were empty. Nibbled on whatever was available after I lodged my protest (and hence they did not bill me for the same). The room was comfortable but ended just before it began. I would rate the experience average if at all.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viv_Bim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you sharing your feedback with us.

At the onset we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced at our hotel. I am extremely disappointed to learn that your experience with us was unsatisfactory. We have noted your feedback and would take it up with the concerned team members. At Sarovar Hotels, it is always our constant endeavor to provide refreshing services to all our guests and it seems we missed this out during your visit.

I apologize once again for all the inconvenience caused to you.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahmedabad hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was my first stay with this group of hotels after several years. Though the rooms, ambience, breakfast (did not have any other meal there) and courtesy of the staff was good, there were a couple of instances where the front office especially was lacking in finesse and effectiveness.
1) I had to wait till the last moment to get a confirmation that I will be dropped to the airport. This also came through because they had to pick up a guest at the airport around the same time. They promised hotel pick up and drop to start with.
2) Due to my schedule, I checked out in the morning itself and had requested then for using their rooms for an hour in the evening for freshening up. However when I reached there in the late afternoon, I was sternly told by the front office person that their policy allowed only half an hour. I had sit down in the lobby for around 2 hours due to this. Ofcourse any offer for a cup of tea or a glass of water was not even forthcoming from the front office staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I invariably end up booking at the sarovar when in Ahmedabad. I always have had a decent experience with them. The front office though not polished completely, make up for it by their warmth and accommodating nature. They were fairly prompt in their service and I haven't had a missed booking yet for three stays with them over the last year.
They always ask after you're needs, offering to arrange transport and asking for feed back. The front desk went to the extent of bargaining with the private taxi for my airport drop and got me a discount of over twenty percent without me asking for the same.

The rooms are spacious, and breakfast is always included. Breakfast typically had around ten dishes to choose buffet style, so makes it worth while to eat in. Taste always leaves some thing to desire, but they do make it up with quantity and variety.

Please always ask for the higher floors as the rooms are newer and better appointed.


For a short budget business stay, probably one of the better places in Ahmedabad

Pros:

1. Airport pick up. Drop them an email and they arrange for their car to pick you up.
2. Speedy check in
3. Clean rooms, spacious with well appointed bathrooms.
4. Location is fairly in the centre of the city abs best to the commercial districts. On the river banks.

Cons:

1. The lower floors are not yet renovated. So all electronics are old.
2.room service is not really consistent. One day you may get large portions, the others you may not. Small potatoes, but annoying.
3. Food is definitely not their forte. Do not expect ground breaking culinary experiences. Slightly on the expensive side. Leaves you feeling under whelmed by the below par experience.
4. Location, surroundings are not really developed and the approach to the hotel is not always comfortable for evening walks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvibhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,



General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed for one night with family. Excellent service - right from the telephonic bookings to the pick up from station and drop to airport. Everything was prompt & on time. Good clean Rooms - breakfast quality and variety was very good - Enjoyed the stay .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsa2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is located at river bank of Sabarmati and when you eat break fast on the ground floor with a glass view of river your really enjoy a nice peaceful and warm stay at Ahmedabad. So do not forget to stay there. This hotel specially for Business center for corp orates.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vick1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

this is good 3 star hotel, on the bank of river, close to station. we had spacious river facing room. breakfast was good with good quality and variety.
negatives - bathrooms are small even for superdeluxe room, airport pick up wasnt arranged in time even after confirming and car was in bad shape. they didnt offer drop to station even though it is closer to hotel than airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mukundvarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 27 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.2 km away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#37 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 km away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#25 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.8 km away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#46 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
1.6 km away
Hotel Cosmopolitan
Hotel Cosmopolitan
#27 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Formule1 Ahmedabad
Hotel Formule1 Ahmedabad
#19 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Property: Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Address: Bhawan's College Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 156 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a cordial reception at Sarovar Portico as you are introduced to this property that promises you every possible comfort and a world-class luxury. The entrance lobby itself is inviting with its wooden feel and plush furnishings. All the rooms and suites come with all of the best luxuries and a dedicated staff ensures that you are attended to anytime during the day. Extra care is taken to provide you with things to pamper you and keep you refreshed throughout the day. The hotel ensures that its guests are always comfortable and well-connected. Business tourists are even provided with the best of business facilities. The hotel even has the capacity to organize business conferences and meetings in its well-equipped conference halls. Dining is a priority for Sarovar. It has an amazing multi-cuisine restaurant that allows guests to enjoy delicious meals as they enjoy a lovely view of the gardens and the Sabarmati River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing