We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very traveller and business friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very traveller and business friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed at this hotel for six days in November 2011 and throughly enjoyed our time there.Rooms were of very high standard and comfortable.Management and staff very helpful and accomodating.Have stayed here previously and will stay again on our next visit to Surat

Room Tip: Rooms with river view very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rameshchandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    265
    69
    11
    10
See reviews for
118
62
34
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

You have to always be on your guard here. I was twice seen naked by men who just walked in.The first time, which was about three months ago, a male employee opened the door to the sauna while I was undressed, and the second time, which was today, a male walked into the change area while I was naked. I immediately covered myself and asked who he was. In the meantime, the male receptionist and another male staff person came to the area and found out what had happened. Ten minutes later, as I approached the elevators, I saw the male receptionist as well as the female receptionist standing at the counter. Their faces looked like they were in shock. The manager, who was standing right next to them, was looking at some papers in her hands. When she saw that I was upset, she feigned ignorance and asked "Hello, Ms.__________. Is something the matter?" This took the cake, since I find it very hard to believe that her staff, who were standing right next to her, and one of whom had actually come in when he heard the commotion, did not inform her about what had happened. More importantly, I very loudly shared my experience with a gym staff person as I approached the elevators, and the area is small enough for all to have heard me. In fact, I would have expected her to approach me about the incident. Also, be prepared to have no slippers for almost 2 weeks,no soap in showers for 9 days straight so one is forced to use hand soap, and exercise equipment that stays out of order for months at a time. Staff watch you while you use the toilet with half transparent doors, and in fact refuse to go away even if you want your privacy. Unfortunately, the one toilet with a solid door did not help me at all since an employee barged in and I almost fell off the seat and almost broke my computer. After sharing this with the manager, she herself opened the door to the toilet while I was inside, and in fact did not knock to see if it was occupied. The water temperature can change drastically from hot to less than lukewarm, and yet when you ask for help, the manager questions your judgement. The sauna has been cold quite a few times even if you give at least a half hour notice to start it. A massage therapist is usually unavailable even if you call a few hours ahead of time and are willing to pay more than you would in Canada. Unfortunately, this review comes after a 4 month stay at this hotel during which time I have continuous feedback in order to create an opportunity for things to improve.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mittens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Great property right at Surat city. Big property with good rooms, nice decors. Restaurant is a big attraction though closes quite early. Lobby and hotel approach is impressive, being large and spacious. Real value for money. Impressed with the maintenance and upkeep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Went on a business trip to Surat recently - was there for two weeks. This hotel is centrally located and has two very nice restaurants. Every thursday the chef sends across a cake in the evening to all the rooms. All rooms have an ipod dock and quality service! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ban123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at The Taj Gateway Hotel in Surat / Hazira for 5 nights, on business, and found the place to be extremely well run and maintained. The staff are very hospitable and helpful, the food is good with a large selection for each meal and the rooms are clean, airy and very nicely decorated. Apparently the hotel was part of the Holiday Inn Group, some years ago, but has been bought by the Taj Group who have done an excellent job. At the time of our visit the pool was undergoing renovation and a few of the amenities were not available due to the renovations. The hotel has wifi (at a price) and a souvenir shop. It could do with a shop selling basics, such as, toothpaste and toiletries, etc. There is a liquor store in the hotel but this was closed during our stay. It should be borne in mind that the state is ‘Dry’ and that the hotel has no bar but nor do any of the other hotels in the area. The two restaurants have a good and plentiful selection of dishes for all tastes and the local dishes are very good although mainly veggie. All in all or stay was very pleasant and an oasis in an extremely busy city and will be my first choice should I return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask fcor a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Well the hotel i am talking about doesn't need any review or recommendation. But i would still write about it. Situated in the most happening part of the city is a very good option to stay in surat. The biggest plus point is the quality and variety of food they have. Tariff is also pretty much reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose river view side rooms instead of city view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nisarg_upadgyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Well I have stayed many time.. U love this property.. Location is in the heart of city.. Foods is very very good. Hotel staff is very cooperative .. I would suggestbu guys to take a room os sea facing.. Full value for money..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat hotels
6.0 km away
The Grand Bhagwati
The Grand Bhagwati
#4 of 32 in Surat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.3 km away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 32 in Surat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.8 km away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#3 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sifat International
5.9 km away
Hotel Central Excellency
Hotel Central Excellency
#10 of 32 in Surat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Property: The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Address: Ambika Niketan, Athwa Lines | Dumas Road, Surat 395007, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing