We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel not geared up for the cold!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Skycity Hotel
Ranked #19 of 229 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Munich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hotel not geared up for the cold!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here on my arrival in India and got a taxi there straight from Delhi airport.
The hotel offers free wifi. Unfortunately I nor the 'technical guy' in the hotel could get this working on my iphone. That was a bit of a disappointment. I stayed there in January when it was cold and my room was really cold...as were the communal parts of the hotel..the lobby the restaurant downstairs as the cold air comes straight in and the hotel is not heated.
When I rang reception to ask for a heater for my room as I was freezing a guy brought a fan heater with an extension cable with a dangerous loose connection which he took about 10 minutes to set up in the room. When it gave up the ghost he came back and repaired the plug which took another 10 minutes of him being in the room again to set up.
Breakfast OK. Room service OK but very small portion!!
2 gas masks provided next to the beds...just in case!! (Of what I'm not sure!!)
All in all OK but personally I'd look for different hotel in the same price category next time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaniemireille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest
Greetings and thank you for your candid feedback. Your feedback is very important to us, and are greatful to you for taking time off to write about them. Your comment on the power outage is well taken, and would like to appraise you that while we do face frequent power shut downs, we are on full power back up mode and it does take a few seconds to switch over. Thank you for your patience. With regards to your feedback on technical guy .we have submitted it to the higher management.
I do look forward to your visit in future, and hope that we will get a chance to serve you and redeem our faith in our hotel and our brand.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    84
    63
    14
    25
See reviews for
78
44
36
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We requested two rooms each with two beds.
Though they offered to pick us up from the airport, there was no driver waiting at the airport. We called and they said if we paid for a cab, they'd re-imburse us. The night manager was all apologies, "Oh our fault, our fault. This will be offered at check out."
The next day, the day manager decided not to honor the night manager (who was no longer in house) since we couldn't provide the email stating our time of arrival that was sent to the hotel.
The power went out in one of our rooms. The girls couldn't get ready and couldn't see in the dark and ended up putting their makeup on at the bar. No compensation was offered.
Of course one of the rooms had a king (two twins pushed together) and after 5 phone calls to the front desk (and one guy saying they couldn't fix it), they finally (reluctantly) changed it.
The rooms smell like mildew and smoke from outside.
They tried to say we drank beer from the (Hot) mini-bar. Had to argue the truth that we didn't.
Only perk was super hot water and service at the bar.
Worst customer service. Crappy dingy area. Would NEVER come back.

Room Tip: Avoid floors 6-8. You can hear the bar music on the 8th floor thumping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest
Greetings and thank you for your candid feedback. Your feedback is very important to us, and are greatful to you for taking time off to write about them. Your comment on the power outage is well taken, and would like to appraise you that while we do face frequent power shut downs, we are on full power back up mode and it does take a few seconds to switch over. Thank you for your patience. With regards to your feedback on the transport cost, our concierge is well trained to offer all options.
I do look forward to your visit in future, and hope that we will get a chance to serve you and redeem our faith in our hotel and our brand.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

So I recently visited the Skycity on a short trip to Delhi, rather Gurgaon(it does have its own identity and character). Having occasionally stayed in Best Western hotels in the US, I was expecting a comfortable stay but nothing too fab. Well, I was to be pleasantly surprised.
The interiors and the decor in general were pretty contemporary and chique, contrary to my expectation. The room was an extension of what I saw downstairs, plush and comfortable, so the beauty wasn't just skin deep. The free WiFi definitely added to the feel good. The staff was pretty courteous and prompt.
Try the Skybar on one of the higher floors if you get a chance, it will be worth the hike. I could probably go there on a regular evening to get a drink if I was in the area.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings of the day !!!
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you found our product and services to your satisfaction.
We are pleased to know that our courteous staff members, impeccable service & excellent rooms have exceeded your expectation which makes you to stay in Skycity Hotel as a regular Customer.
We are elated that your stay would be wonderful at our property and look forward to welcome you again and again for yet another beautiful stay with us.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel room and restaurant. The food was good, including breakfast, and the room had everything we needed. My rating would be excellent except for the lack of taxis. I had confirmed airport pickup when we arrived in New Delhi but the person who was supposed to greet us with a sign from the Hotel was nowhere to be seen. We had to hire a cab to get to the hotel. When we mentioned this to the individual checking us in, he was on the defensive and said the driver had just called to say we were not there and he asked why we had not called the hotel to ask where the driver was. A pretty audacious response since their rate was double the regular cab fare for a pickup and they were not there at the appointed time. I am very grateful that previous comments from another reader had forwarned about this happening and we did not waste time waiting for the hotel pick-up. I had also read a manager comment on Trip Advisor that they had corrected the lack of transportation to go to the mall a few miles away by providing a shuttle service, which I thought was free. When I asked to use this shuttle service, they quoted me a 4 hour car and driver rate - completely ridiculous for a 4 killometer ride to a mall; apparently no shuttle exists. This is a beautiful modern hotel with excellent restaurant service. I truly do not understand why they do not provide reasonable taxi service for their hotel since it is in the middle of nowhere. I did not use their services to Agra because of my fear they would not pick us up on a timely basis. I also arranged for the excellent Company, Amin Tours who did provide a guide and driver in Agra, to take us to the airport when we left.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridasunshine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings of the day !!!
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Kindly accept our sincere apologize what had happened for the taxi services.
We are delighted to learn that you found our product and services to your satisfaction.
We are pleased to know that our courteous staff members, impeccable service & excellent rooms have exceeded your expectation which makes you to stay in Skycity Hotel as a regular Customer.
We are elated that your stay would be wonderful at our property and look forward to welcome you again and again for yet another beautiful stay with us.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very well furnished hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable, spacious and modern. The staff are efficient and friendly. The restaurant on the ground floor serves very tasty food at a decent price, and there is variety on the menu! There is a bar on the 8th floor, which boasts a panorama view of certain parts of Gurgaon, and in the evening it is a wonderful place to have a drink. All in all a very good experience and at an attractive price. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Go for the double occupancy rooms as they have more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings of the day !!!
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you found our product and services to your satisfaction.
We are pleased to know that our courteous staff members, impeccable service & excellent rooms have exceeded your expectation which makes you to stay in Skycity Hotel as a regular Customer.
We are elated that your stay would be wonderful at our property and look forward to welcome you again and again for yet another beautiful stay with us.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

For all it's worth, the customer service was brilliant. It's location however is a complete inconvenience. The view from the window is not breathtaking to say the least. The hotel is nestled quite a distance to local food shops, convenience stores, etc. This translates to having to hire a transport to get you elsewhere. The room's quite alright especially if you're into classic traditional feel. But if you like shops & stores within easy reach, this is not the place for you darling.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaydelgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings of the day !!!
Thank you very much for share your experience on Trip Advisor for the inconvenience to reach to hotel.such gracious feedback for the glitches which can be taken care in near future by sending the cabs for pickup.Every Feedback is taken as positively
We are delighted to learn that you found our product and services to your satisfaction.
We are pleased to know that our courteous staff members, impeccable service & excellent rooms have exceeded your expectation which makes you to stay in Skycity Hotel as a regular Customer.
We are elated that your stay would be wonderful at our property and look forward to welcome you again and again for yet another beautiful stay with us.
Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here on a business trip for 2 periods of 2 nights each. There was rarely any HOT water for the showers, whcih were luke warm. They put me in the smallest room in one each floor for both stays, (the ones next to the lift) and after complaining on the 2nd visit I was moved to a larger room. the food was very dissapointing as the range was not that great. the Sky bar on the top floor whgich was advertised as a 2nd restaurant and bar was always closed to private functions or when they were not on they were planning for the next one, so you were stuck with 1 restaurant for the food. the br eakfast was the most dissapointing of the meals, very poor for a surposed "international" hotel. We also hired a car for the day to do some sightseeing in Delhi on our day off but because the was dropping us off at the airport om the way back to the hotel, we were charged the hotel rate (in addition) for an "airport drop off" which doubled the cost. even thoguht we had thr driver and car at our disposal for the day..the fact that is was only an additional INR 1200 was not the point, he was driving past the airport!!!

The is really a domestic Hotel as it was very dated and iwould nOT call it international! frequent power custs (generator did kick in quite quickly) and at least the WiFi was complimentary!

I would not stay here again, I would rather pay little more and stay at a proper International hotel.

Room Tip: do NOt have a room next to the lift as these have most of the bathroom taking up the room space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkycityHotel, General Manager at Best Western Skycity Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings of the day !!!
Thank you very much for sparing your precious time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you found our product and services to your satisfaction. Thank you indeed for such gracious feedback for the glitches which can be taken care in near future.Every Feedback is taken as positively for the power cuts and hot water.
We are pleased to know that our courteous staff members, impeccable service & excellent rooms have exceeded your expectation which makes you to stay in Skycity Hotel as a regular Customer.
We are elated that your stay would be wonderful at our property and look forward to welcome you again and again for yet another beautiful stay with us.

Regards,
Veena Koul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurugram (Gurgaon) hotels
9.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
#10 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.9 km away
The Acura BMK
The Acura BMK
#26 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
7.6 km away
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
#14 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Courtyard Gurugram Downtown
Courtyard Gurugram Downtown
#22 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.8 km away
Ramada Gurgaon Central
Ramada Gurgaon Central
#37 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gurgaon Baani Square India
Hilton Garden Inn Gurgaon Baani ...
#17 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Skycity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Skycity Hotel

Property: Best Western Skycity Hotel
Address: 1 Old Judicial Complex | Sector 15, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122001, India (Formerly Skycity Hotel)
Region: India > Haryana > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 229 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Skycity Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Skycity Hotel is a centrally located full service business hotel in millennium city of Gurgaon, a part of National Capital Region of Delhi (Delhi NCR). It is close to both international and domestic airports of New Delhi. The major business districts of DLF Cyber City, UdyogVihar, Sector 32 Industrial Area, Manesar which are the hub of major MNC`s & Indian Companies are within 5-15 minutes drive from the hotel. Major tourist attraction like QutubMinar, JantarMantar, India Gate, Red Fort, Humayun`s Tomb, Akshardham Temple all are within 15-45 minutes drive from the hotel, The Delhi Metro Rail connects to all major areas of Delhi. The shopping Malls at MG Road are within 5 minutes drive from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Skycity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing