We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel York

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel York
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
kolkata
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nightmare Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is my first review about any hotel in Tripadvisor, as because i was provoked to write this keeping in mind that no other traveller should be in trouble like me by choosing "YORK HOTEL' in Srinagar.It all begun when i checked into a so called "Deluxe Double Bed" room on 16.11.11 for two nights.The hotel is having a good exterior and a well maintained website.i Checked in at around 13.00 hrs and upon entering the room i found there is no power.Great!! The explanation was DG back up is only at night contrarory to the fact that in the website it has been claimed as "24 hours Power Supply". Next Shock..there is no arrangement for room Heating or Electric Blanket in this so called "Deluxe Room". My Best wishes are there for people staying in Standard Rooms. It has been claimed in website that the rooms are well ventilated. I fully agree to this fact because none of the windows close fully leaving enough gaps for pasage of chilling winds throughout the day. There was an wonderful Gyser in the toilet which works or not works is the biggest mystery of the earth. I mean you may get a little warm water only for some one or two hours in the morning. You have to be happy with that. Now come the room Service....you have to be very prdictive about your needs like water etc....because it takes at least three to four reminders for every request. Lastly even you have decided to stay there i plead that don't dare to have the food out there.....it contains enough oil to cook food for at least one week in your house......finally this review is mainly because Mr Asif reacted by mentioning that it doesn't matter if i write the facts here....because he is having enough fool customers it seems.....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ayon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asif_sidiqee, Owner at Hotel York, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
well mr nag...if u were not happy with services and hotel in the first instance only u could hav changed the accommodation we din't forced u to stay or u hav to pay for all the days that u booked for...and rather than writing complaint u hav used ur good vocabulary in criticizing..i might hav replied to ur review earlier but i waited till other satisfied customers posted their reviews....and i,m very grateful to them.....i dun knw what picture u had in mind when u booked its a budget class deluxe hotel..let me inform u that no hotel in kashmir is classified in star category...all hotels are termed and recognized by dept. of tourism jammu and kashmir into A, B and C..we are in "A" category...there can be technical problems but that doesn't mean we fool our esteemed guests....hotel york was established in the year 1972 and since then we have been serving our guests..and they have been coming since then and recommending their nears and dears...my friend this is service industry u cannot survive for 40 years by fooling ur customers....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
25
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I visited Kashmir with my family on LTC, stayed at Hotel york for 7 days. Had a very nice experience as it was up to my expectations, people coming on LTC or personal tour could consider to stay in the hotel.

Would like to highlight certain things that i liked about the Hotel:

Good rooms(Clean) at reasonable prices along with all the facilities( 'A' category listed hotel).
Service management quite effective.
Quality of food amazing,really loved the Kadai Paneer and Dal( Punjabi's Style food).
Well Maintained Gardens full of flowers and greenery, where you can relax.
Quite near to Dal Lake(centrally located) , enjoy the shikara ride and the Nearby Market.
Peaceful place to live in.
Courteous people in the management always ready to help, good job being done by Mr. Manzoor ji, Farooq and Asif and the other hotel staff.

Apart from booking they also managed to provide a taxi based on our requirement, prepare an itinerary of our tour.

Hotels In Srinagar face a problem of shortage in voltage due to which they are misconceived for not providing Hot water but thankfully they are able to manage the situation quite well.


I would personally recommend the tourists to enjoy the stay ay Hotel York or Hotel Oman.

Enjoy your trip, wish you luck.

Room Tip: You can easily get the rooms as per your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank manujverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I traveled all the way from Germany and stayed at York as it was recomended by a friend. It was a very nice experience. It's a huge building with many rooms in western standard. The rooms are big and clean ( some of them were even renovated when i was there in june 2011) The staff is attentiv but not intrusiv what makes your stay confortable.
It is located central and close to a main road. If you enter the hotel area, it's calm and peaceful. We could sit outside and enjoy in the fresh and clean air and the amazing star sky. i would highly recomend it for families with children, because i didn't find any safety issues and it is fenced and has a big entrance gate. Everything is well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank luna123467luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirupati
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

About 150 of us on a package tour stayed in hotel york in July2011 and had bitter experience. There was no hot water and no extra beds. We were forcibly vacated and our luggage was thrown out into the portico and we were made to stand in the hot sun for about eight hours until our tour organiser, who was held up in Amarnath, returned. We, although decently placed in the society, were herded like sheep. Why talk of courtesy when there is absolute lack of human sympathy. Is there any underhand dealing between the hotel and the tour organiser as I find those who come in numbers are treated with disdain. The owner of the hotel took personal interest in evicting us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank adityaTirupati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asif_sidiqee, Owner at Hotel York, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
i would like to inform u that..there was a miss communication between ur tour leader and group..because she was in baltal and moreover u came 1 day prior to the scheduled date of check in and we had already rooms packed that day..how can i drag the customer already sitting in
the room and tell him to check out when he has already paid for the same date.. ...and when your tour leader arrived then we accommodated u in other hotels ..even if u dont remember i gave my personal car to accommodate and shift ur group in other hotels..ur group had 33 rooms and we had only 7 rooms vacant..so we accommodated senior citizens in ur group the time they checked in the hotel..so plz first seek the whole story then post a comment..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

From the begining to end, there was continuous support provided by Mr. Asif for planning the locations, room bookings, car & other arrangements . I stayed on 28th & 29th April 2011 with best tariff & It was wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Single point contact for all arrangements i.e YORK
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KALIDASANB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#50 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Akbar
Hotel Akbar
#22 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Residency Hotel
The Residency Hotel
#111 of 129 in Srinagar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel York

Property: Hotel York
Address: Dal Gate, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel York 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Hotel York Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing