We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Horrible hospitality.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Ranked #4 of 127 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible hospitality.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I am staying at lalit right now and the staff is least bit cooperative. Was asked to come by 12 30 so that the room is ready by then. But they asked me to come back at 2. Anyways I would agree it takes time to clean the room. But seeing that it's been raining cats and dogs outside, still they asked me to go out and look around. There was not a sign of apology or courtesy for us.

I am highly disappointed with the response of the reception staff and will never recommend others to ever stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SalilGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    241
    59
    31
    30
See reviews for
452
198
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Lalit is an absolutely amazing hotel. The lawns are prettier than the famous baghs of Srinagar, the location is just on the Dal Lake, the facilities are awesome (tennis, cycling, table tennis, billiards, swimming pool etc etc), but the best thing is the service. From the time you enter, you are looked after really really well by the very well trained staff. I stayed with my wife and kids and all of us were delighted. Certainly one of the finest hotels to stay in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a lovely sit out area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Lalit is a good hotel good location, good food, decent rooms but the newlt built Taj is awesome in all comparisons, if offered at same price one should definitely opt for the Taj..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayeshmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
punjab
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were 15 people in a group including kids. The stay in Lalit was like living in a paradise on earth. The comfortable and cozy enviornment of hotel added flavour to the beauty of Kashmir.The beauty of Kashmir is beyond description and Hotel Lalit adds much more to it.The food and hospitality was very very good.
Dr. Inderjit Singh.
Dharamkot Punjab

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drinderjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is the former palace of the Maharajah of Kashmir and it makes you feel like you're in one every minute that you spend in it. The rooms are not spectacular, but, this place has a charm like none other. The mahogany, the smells and the carpets tell a story of the glorious past that this palace has experienced. The gardens and lawns are fit to suit a maharajah. The view from the verandah is of the dahl lake and the fort of srinagar since the hotel is on a hilltop over looking the two. The sunrise and sunset are a spectacle. If you go to Srinagar this is the ONLY place to stay. It has been one of my most memorable experiences. A note of caution though since this is a very upscale and popular hotel most of the VIP's stay here during their visits to Kashmir. This implies that since they are high value targets that you should be ready to be surrounded by gun wielding commandos. Personally, I felt much more secure with so many of them being around and it in no way overshadows the beauty of this hotel palace.

Room Tip: Practically all rooms have the same view. Upper floors slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Me and husband stayed at hotel for 4 nights in March 2012. The hotel has wonderful grounds and it has stunning views of the snow covered mountains and famous Dal Lake.

The location is perfect and is very safe. Before travelling, I read many reviews which stated that the main city, Lal Chowk is far away, It is not, its only about 10 minutes down the road and should cost less than INR 100 in the day for an auto rickshaw (that is if you want to travel like the locals). The hotel has a car service but the prices are expensive.

The hotel grounds are stunning, even if you went on holiday just to relax and spend time in the hotel and the area around it, you could do that.

The hotel gym, indoor heated swimming pool was working and so was the steam room. The staff at the reception desk, the Dal Bar and Aum shop were ever so helpful.

I fell ill and had food poisoning due to eating at Mughal Darbar, in Lal Chowk, the hotel staff were very helpful and offered to get me medicine etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

All of the staff members assigned to their own respective areas knew about the main tourist attractions, knew about getting out and about. The reason It is important for me to mention this is because when we stayed at the Lalit Hotel in Goa, the service of the staff was no way as excellant as it was here.

We booked a deluxe room on the ground level. The room was lovely, very well decorated and had all the usual amenties you expect like, tv, bathroom toiletries, hairdryer, tea coffee etc.

We ordered the room service food, which is very reasonably priced. I think we ordered a pasta for INR 500 and small pizza for INR 500. The food was delicious and we also ordered a children's meal, a burger and chips and the portion was adequate for an adult, we were impressed with the room service food and charges.

The only negative, I would say is that you have to pay for internet charges even if you want to use their business centre to check in online for your flight. I do think that online check in service should be made free as this can be deemed as a necessity to those who want to check in online.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamworldHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 793 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel is a very large colonial palace in need of some renovation. It sits on some stunning grounds with magnificent views over Dal Lake. Our room was very spacious and modern with all the right amenities. I couls really only find two faults, internet usage was billed and the small swimming pool was small and indoor when the summer weather was more than warm enough to enjoy an utdoor pool. We ate in the 2 restaurants (one buffet one a la carte) and the food was consistently good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
5.6 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
1.9 km away
Heevan Resort Srinagar
Heevan Resort Srinagar
#10 of 127 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
5.5 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
RK Sarovar Portico
RK Sarovar Portico
#24 of 127 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel JH Bazaz (Happy Cottage)
5.1 km away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#12 of 127 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar

Property: The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Address: Gupkar Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Srinagar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Srinagar
#3 Business Hotel in Srinagar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLit Grand Palace was originally built in 1901 for the royal family. It now provides luxurious rooms with views of Dal Lake and the beautiful gardens. An indoor pool, tennis courts and pampering spa treatments are also available.The tastefully designed rooms are modern with a touch of traditional charm. All have a satellite TV, minibar and free tea/coffee making facilities. It is 18 km from Srinagar Airport and 4 km from Lal Chowk city centre. Jammu Railway Station is 300 km away. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage at Rejuve Spa Health Club, practice yoga, or play golf. The hotel also has a gym and 24-hour business center. The Chinar Garden serves North Indian cuisine, while international buffet spreads are available at The Chinar – The All Day Coffee Shop. Other dining options include Dal Bar and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing