We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kashmir is truly a paradise on Earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Akbar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Akbar
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kashmir is truly a paradise on Earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a comfortable & memorable stay at Akbar Hotel.The staff of the hotel & Mr.zaffer were very kind & hospitable and took personal care of us.The hotel is situated on the banks of the Dal Lake and enjoys proximity to all shopping. My husband was sick on the morning we were to leave. and at 8.30 a.m,all the medical shops near the hotel were open which was a blessing!At night, we took walks around the lawns of the hotel itself.We had an unforgettable experience for 1 night at the Houseboat arranged by Mr.Zaffer.The drivers of the cars arranged for us were all very courteous, good guides & spoke good English.Thanks to ITDC & Mr.Zaffer,we had a safe & fantastic trip to Kashmir & back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Latha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    53
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
94
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My dream of visiting the Paradise on Earth has finally come true. Thanks to the excellent arrangements made by Mr.Zafar and his team of most kind and hospitable staff of Akbar Hotel. they made our stay extremely comfortable and it was a home away from home. My friends and I visited Kashmir for 7 days and 6 nights. We enjoyed the food here and they took so much care to see that we were also served our traditional cuisine as well.I also loved the Kahwa tea they served. In fact, when I made the bookings, I was not sure whether I would get rooms here and also the boat house for a night. But Mr.Zafar put in his best efforts and not only got us the rooms at the Akbar Hotel for all the days but also gave us the wonderful expereince of a night's stay at the Boat house which was really unforgetable. I would certainly recomment this hotel to all my friends who wants to visit Kashmir and I am sure that they will also have a most pleasurable experience with the best facilities.

Pramila Chidambaram, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Room Tip: Express you preference to the front desk so they could help you out the best they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pramila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Akbar Hotel is a nice suite for whom travailing to Kashmir. Good service very friendly and homely staff.
I Have booked total 06 night and 5 days tour from Hotel akabar .Situated at Dalgate1,View of Dallake from Hotel is very pleasant one can take shikara from hotel and enjoy the beauty of Dal lake.
Hotel is very good with Centrally situated Garden. In April one can enjoy blossom season at hotel garden with variety of flower.
I am little afraid as I am travailing along with my old age parents and little niece but ones I arrived at shrinager fear was almost vanish after meeting our pick up cab driver Ismaile.He is very friendly and had very good knowledge about culture and heritage of kashmir.
I am pleased by the hotel staff as they provided special shikara to my old age parents till hotel gate.
We provided a very good garden facing family room as we all want to stay together. Roomes are very spacious with 21” LCD TV.
Its a rainy day so temp. is bit low quite enough to shiver Mumbai people. Faruq a very friendly and helping staff member from hotel ,provided us hot Bages and hitter to make room warm .
From second day our actual tour is started hotel provided us a chevrolet Tavera vehical.Mr.Ashraf is our Guide and Driver a well educated and well behaved person I ever meet.End of the tour he became like a family for us.He take very personal care of my parents and introduce us with kashmiri cusine Gustaba take us to the most exotic destination like Pahlgam,Sonamarg and Gulmarg
Customer Service was excellent. Mr. Firoz,Rohit Reddy and Hasan at reception did whatever he could in order to make the stay pleasant.
I would definately recommend this to all types of travellers who visited shrinager. It has a friendly atmosphere, the breakfast,Dinner is really good, the staff are helpful and also the owner(Mr.Zaffer) is very down to earth .
Since I was travelling with Old age parents, they always helped and suggested the right places to go.My Parents and niece are to pleased by the staff that they still miss everybody.
I would definately return back to this hotel in the near future. Its a visting like second home in shrinager and will recommend all my friends to visit these hotels.

Room Tip: Garden Facing Roomes are Excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tarannum786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

we the people of chennai (group of seven) visited the Akbar hotel and stayed for 5 full days
since arrival we felt as though we have been received by the fairies in the paradise, such a cool
place, cool staff , no words to explain their welcoming tenor, i daresay i \we may not get it any
where in the corner of india or in a globe..For instance dinner time , the staff, i could say i do not
want to say naming them server, or anyother thing in the dictionary, simply home like treatment
in a nutshell, we all feel OH why we are leaving, . i personally feel that every year or an alternate
i could stay here a month taking no money from the owner of the hotel do service to the tourist
and learn the mannerism, verbal behaviour etc etc. LONG LIVE AKBAR HOLTEL, LONG LIVE STAFF, LONG LIVE KASHMIRIS.


S.HARI HARA KUMAR AND TROUP.

Room Tip: as mentioned above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalpana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was amazed and pleased as I came across the kind hospitality extended to me by Hotel Akbar
I was touched by the fact that the owner took personalized care to each and every customer who steps into the hospitality of Akbar.I booked a package with them for 5 nights & 6 days and during that period ( April 2012 ) I enjoyed the manner they perform there duty in keeping the things in stream line despite the fact that Kashmir was lagging tourism for last many years.The courage and determination displayed by the team in keeping there customers happy reflect great credit to the management

I Wish them best and it is my pleasure to submit the review so that the other travelers will be benefited

Room Tip: Book well in advance because hotel remains packed mostly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hiteshbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Hotel Akbar is situated at Dal Gate-1. It is about 150 m away from road. There is only a walk way from road with dangerous steps downwards to the hotel and no vehicle can go near it. For old people it is very dangerous. The hotel's back side is in a mahalla, where there is mosque with the loud speaker pointed towards the hotel. The kind of noise is enough to wake you up as early as 4 O'clock in the morning. It is situated, probably at the dirtiest portion of the Dal lake where it is like a nallah with stagnant water forming a breeding place for mosquitoes and insects. The standard rooms of the hotel are small ones with the gaudiest colored tiles. There is no carpet on the floor and very cold. The bathroom neither has a geyser nor a regular supply hot water. Luke warm water is supplied only in the morning from 6 am to 9 am. The bathroom is another display of dirtiness and giant spiders. Cleaning is at its minimum. The room has a 14'' color TV, which even the cheapest hotels don't keep these days. The corridor, where all the standard rooms are situated is also connected to the kitchen and you'll be greeted by all the smell/flavour/stink/fumes the moment you come out of the room or check in. The corridor has windows on the other side, but they are always kept closed, probably to avoid the huge mosquito breeding ground outside. In the night the corridor looks like a dark haunted place with lot of burning smell from the kitchen. In the morning you'll be woken up many times by the noise of the loud speakers, laundry, morning tea call etc, whether you ask for them or not; more or less like a Dharamshala. The breakfast served at the hotel is also very special: No fruits, no fruit juice, only Poha/Upma/Paratha, Omlette and raw bread/butter/jam. You'll get very smelly readymade tea or coffee. If you ask for toast, they will give you bread burnt on gas burner as they don't have a toaster. Items also vanish very fast and after long gaps fresh supply will be brought. If you are in hurry, you'll probably go without breakfast. Timings are strictly 7:30am-9:00 am. The buffet dinner is also quite similar, with lowest quality rotis, rice, dal, sabjee and sweet dish. The non-veg served is also not palatable. The food served here is more or less like a dhaba. The main takers of Hotel Akbar at Srinagar is probably Kesari Group and Indian Airlines. By including this hotel in the itinerary by these organizations is actually reducing the market credibility of the organizations themselves. Nobody should stay in this hotel if he has other options, as much better hotels are available at this cost. Not a value for your money. Think twice before booking. If you don't believe me, you'll probably write a review like this after you return from your trip.
Note: The hotel managers are sweet spoken with no positive results as the results are beyond their control.

Definitions of facilities by Hotel Akbar (if you don't believe me ask them):

Standard vehicle: Tata Sumo
Executive vehicle: Bolero
Standard room: Tiled floor, 8'X14', double bed, 14" TV, No geyser, No bath tub, Intercom.
Executive room: Carpetted floor, 10'X16', double bed, 14" TV, geyser, No bath tub, Intercom.
MAP: Minimum As Possible!!!!!!!!!! (at maximum cost)

Room Tip: Kindly avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GeorgeHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAkbarSrinagar, Owner at Hotel Akbar, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
With reference to feedback of our guest, we have taken note of the points raised by him in right earnest with our undying spirit to serve our guests better and better in the present as well as future. We will, of course, mobilize all our efforts and resources to immediately address the issues raised by our valued guest. However, we would like to clarify on some of the points raised in the feedback as follows:

(1) Our Hotel Akbar is located in the prime location on the Dal Lake, overlooking the serene waters and scenic beauty of the lake. Because of the geographical terrain and because of its nearness to Lake, it is a very little distance away from the road but the short walkway to our hotel amid the natural splendour is itself a very pleasant experience for the tourists of all ages with our people readily available to help them with their luggage etc.

(2) In view of the religio-cultural backdrop of the Kashmir valley and its humble people, you will find mosques all across the valley. Most of the tourists in fact like to enjoy and mingle with this religio-cultural atmosphere of the valley, its cuisine, lifestyle, etc. to enrich their experience. We are helplessly sorry if the guest took this experience otherwise.

(3) In fact, a clean canal with flowing water and not a nullah (as misunderstood by the guest) flows near our hotel, where (in view of flowing water) there is no possibility of it becoming the breeding ground of the mosquitoes, insects, etc as wrongly presumed by our valued guest. Also, the guest came to Kashmir in the month of April, which is quite a cold month in which the mosquitoes can’t breed. There is a line of other decent hotels also on the side of this canal. Because of our hotels proximity with the Dal Lake, most of our guests have given a good feedback on their experience of roaming around our hotel. Local Government authorities and hotel owners in the vicinity take special care to keep the Dal Lake and its surrounding clean for the ultimate benefit of the tourists.

(4) The rooms of our hotel are of standard size with aesthetic local-culture oriented colours of walls, tiles and fittings. Contradicting, the point about the carpets by our guest, we would like to state the fact that our hotel Akbar is spread in two wings. The old wing has carpet on the ground floor and wooden floor on the first floor. The new wing has tiled flooring, all designed and maintained as per the tastes of our majority of guests. We have adequate and efficient hot water system, through which the hot water is supplied in the rooms from 5 am to 9 am, which are the peak hours for tourists preparing to go their next destination. Further, as part of our constant efforts to make our guests feel at home, we keep hotel premises and all its rooms neat and clean throughout the day and we apologise to the guests who sometimes feel uncomfortable because of this. So far as service of TV in the rooms is concerned, we have taken note of the inconvenience of the guest and have decided to install flat widescreen TV sets in all our rooms to maximise the comfort of our guests.

(5) We have huge exhaust fans fitted in our kitchen and its surroundings to avoid any kind of smoke or fumes being emitted in the hotel premises and to avoid any kind of inconvenience to our guests. Of course, some times the flavours of traditional food prepared by us do escape in the atmosphere, which, as told by our other guests, actually stimulate the taste buds of our guests.

(6) We keep the corridor windows closed just to keep the place warm and maximise the comfort of our guest and with any other objective as wrongly perceived by this valuable guest.

(7) Morning hours are always the rush hours in Kashmir with tourists preparing for their day trips. As such to cater to the morning hour needs of our rushing guests, we do provide the essential services of laundry, morning tea, etc. These services are actually provided for the increased convenience of our guests. We are sorry if our valued guest got disturbed because of this. We have taken note of this and will devise a mechanism and system to avoid this in future.

(8) We are surprised to take note of the comments of the guest regarding the food served in our hotel, which, actually is generally widely appreciated by our guests. Our menu keeps on changing according to the weather to enhance and enrich the food experience of our guests. We do offer fruit juice in summers and the same was not provided to the guest as he visited in a cold month and that month demanded a different menu. We take extra care to provide high quality, delicious and standard vegetarian and non-vegetarian food in breakfast and dinner and these are always in ample supply according to the number of our guests, in spite of heavy rush of our guests ready to leave for their next destination in the morning hours. Breakfast timings have been kept from 7-9 am just to ensure that our guests leave for their next destination in time and spend maximum time in enjoying the beauty of Kashmir. We reiterate that we always ensure that all our guests have adequate breakfast before they leave for the day ahead.

(9) It is wrong to say that the main takers of our hotel is Kesari Group and Indian Airlines. Because of high recognition, reputation and brand of our hotel, it is recommended for stay by all the leading travel agents/organisations in India as well as abroad, particularly America, Europe, Middle East and South East countries.

However, we have taken note of all the points raised by our valued guest and promise to raise the level of our services further for the ultimate benefit of our guests. We cordially invite the guest to visit us once again to see the difference himself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our group of 8 persons went for a trip to Kashmir and stayed at Hotel Akbar as advised by some of our friends. Let me tell you that the services provided by Hotel Akbar were not only exceptional but beyond imagination, right from the owner, manager, kitchen staff & room service. The food provided was wonderful. All the employees of the hotel knew there job well and performed there task with thorough professionalism and of course with everlasting and corteous smile. Hats off to team Akbar. My advise to people willing to visit kashmir just give them a try.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the reception are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Apurv_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Akbar Inn
Hotel Akbar Inn
#29 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#58 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Hillscape Inn
Hillscape Inn
#26 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 km away
Batra Hotels and Residences
Batra Hotels and Residences
#18 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#110 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akbar

Property: Hotel Akbar
Address: Dalgate, Gate No. 1, Srinagar Kashmir, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akbar 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL AKBAR- the gateway of famous Dal Lake, situated actually inside the lake,that offers all modern comforts with its well attended elegantly decorated rooms & suites surrounded by water and spacious lush green rose garden and above all personalized hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Akbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Akbar Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing