We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
85
36
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
36
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge terrace alternate nights room amenities are main market great base to explore ice hockey visiting leh senior citizens very nice stay an awesome view excellent hotel common areas the owner walking distance from the market plenty of hot water great hospitality stok kangri
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 135 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

Middle class Hotel, solid but still improvable service, poor breakfast buffet and very day same type of indian menu. No credit card to apply. The hotel had a great location with it's unblocked view from the terrace to the Stok Range, but is run with unprofessional staff. Don't get booked in Room 106/107 to stare at a brick wall.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Club F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGVLEH, Manager at Hotel Glacier View, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Dear Sir,
We are really sorry for the issues faced by you but in all fairness we are a deluxe a+ hotel and in accordance with that we do try our very best to accomodate the taste of all our guests.as for the breakfast buffet you might go through the other reviews here we havent recieved any complaints about it so far but since you felt it was monotonous we will try and bring some more changes to it.and im extremely sorry if any of our staff members was rude to you i will personally speak to them ensure such an incident doesnt occur again.
i realy do hope you can find it in yourself to give us one more chance to serve you .
Regards
diskit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

It was three nights professional group program of 30. Reception was receptive. Traveling around Leh is as per laid down tariff​ and hotel can arrange for vehicle if you want. Location is excellent. Airport by road is 15 min. It has market, bike hire places in walking distance.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious. Of course the towels were dirty and full of insects. Demanded change which was done promptly and rest of the days had good clean towels and linen. View was excellent, snow capped mountains. Mosquitoes and insect were in room but especially if you keep windows open for a while. They will spray with insect killers if you request.
Breakfast has good. Vegetarians will be happy. For non-vegetarian only boiled eggs and omelets. Lunch had chicken and dinner lamb. They serve beer. I am doubtful of wine and hard drinks. We carried our own.
They organized conference for our group by converting the dinning space into conf hall. The audio-visual were hired. Please carry you laptop and all cords. Though hotel was helpful but compromised for such events.
The only thing which upset me was hot water. In mountain area one needs hot water in bathrooms morning and evening at least. Inspite of repeated requests we got cold water in our taps. The management kept on saying they have arranged for hot water by high capacity fuel boilers. But ground reality was we got cold water. This was a common complaint from the group. Management said foreign tourists are not complaining why are you?
On show of serious dissatisfaction by our group on the night before we were to leave suddenly plenty of hot water was available the day we were leaving.
After getting ready I went to the terrace to take some last minute shots and to my surprise I found three fuel based water boilers and they were connected by separate pipes with valves for literally each room. That means they have a system in place but not using it properly. They are biased. That's the reason we were getting cold water Inspite of paying for the room and good reviews from favored ones. That's my impression as I can't find any reason for having cold water for three days and hot water on fourth day.
One can opt for this hotel but request for front rooms. Don't keep quite. They will provide clean towels and linen and hot water too. Now that you have the inside information.
Enjoy Leh Ladakh. Worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vramteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGVLEH, Owner at Hotel Glacier View, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and know that we take all the feedbacks with open minds.to address a few things that you have mentioned in your review the primary one being the insect issue ,im not sure if you are aware of this or not but this season for the poplar tree insects and we have tried putting meshes also on the windows but it doesnt keep the insects out so there was not much that we could do except for spraying the insect killer which of course is a very temporary solution so we are sorry for the inconvinience you faced but the issue is prevalent throught out ladakh .And as for the cold water issue we have electronic boilers which we switch on at 5 am in the morning and at 6 in the evening everyday along with solar panels which provide hot water in the day time ,the pipeline are all interconnected so there is no way we can cut off supply to certain rooms ,yes i agree it takes some time for the hot water to come through and usually you have to discard 2 buckets of water before you get the hot water but if you were still facing a problem the you could have called our reception and we would have either tried to address your issue or provided you with hot water buckets,we always have done our best to make our guests feel at home even if it requires us going out of the way sometimes .Lastly as for the dining hall being converted into a confrence hall we specifically told your agent that we dont have the provision for a confrence hall and he gave us the go ahead to convert the dining space into a confrence room,infact we went out of our way to accomodate your group ,as you saw the emails exchanged between us and your agent there was no mention of a projector but we still provided you with one.
i do hope that you take this response as a way for us to clarify our side of the story .
other than that it was a pleasure hosting your group and i hope you have a wonderful year ahead.Thank you for staying with us and i do hope that inspite of the few issues you did enjoy staying with us.
Regards
Diskit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

The stay was excellent. The staff were all very warm and welcoming. Food was great too. Rooms were exceedingly comfortable, and very reasonably priced. In winters, the pond in front of the hotel freezes over so that is then used for ice skeeing and other sports. You also get a great view. Overall, a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarshalM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGVLEH, Owner at Hotel Glacier View, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking out the time to review us on trip advisor.We appreciate your feedback and are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.Do give us the opportunity to serve you again if you ever visit leh.
Have a wonderful day
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

The stay was really wonderful with an amazing view. The receptionist (Dastak i guess) and the staff were really helpful . The only downside is that there were no lifts at this place. We got the room at the 3rd floor . It has good dining/relaxing areas with chair.

Room Tip: Rooms which faces the front side of the hotel has awesome views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank shify07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGVLEH, Manager at Hotel Glacier View, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking out the time to review us on trip advisor.We appreciate your feedback and are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.Do give us the opportunity to serve you again if you ever visit leh.
Have a wonderful day
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

I only stayed at the Glacier View for one night as my usual hotel in Leh didn’t have any rooms available. I am glad I didn’t have to stay any longer as the room was definitely not comfortable. I didn’t even expect a “view” as the name suggests, but did expect that the room would have a window to the outside in order to let some fresh air in. This was however not the case, the window was towards the main staircase inside the hotel with no fresh air. As a result, the room was sticky and there was hardly any daylight. Not very comfortable!
Service was not overly friendly, in fact a lot of the staff were sitting around most of the day just outside my room chatting. Dinner was the average bland hotel food, nothing worth mentioning. Wifi only worked in the very early morning (around 6am). There are definitely better choices in Leh.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank d7ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NGVLEH, Manager at Hotel Glacier View, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Sir,
we are terribly sorry for the experience you had at our hotel.what you have mentioned about the room having no fresh air is completely true but the reason for the fabrication is that except fot the months of june july and august the rest of the months are vert chilly thats why we put the fabrication to provide some extra warmth but please dont take this as an excuse for the problem stated by you i completely get where youare coming from.As for the service i have to say that we have never recieved any negative feedback buti will make sure to talk to my staff again and see why things happened the way they did.as for the wifi problem mam we donot have a satellite connection and the only service provider is bsnl so there is not much we can do on that front becausemost of the time internet doesnt work in leh and when it does it isvery slow.All in all i would like to apologise for not being able to provide you with a comfortable stay .have a nic eday
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews