We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but very pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Leela Palace Bengaluru
Ranked #11 of 665 Hotels in Bengaluru
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good but very pricey”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It's an out-and-out luxury hotel in a fairly decent part of Bangalore (Airport Road area). Some people perceive this as a "more than 5-star hotel". It certainly is very opulent with rich decor and furnishing whether at the lobby or in the rooms.
As one might expect, the prices are equally opulent - generally @ USD 350 per night (including taxes) for the basic room unless you've got a deal.
The service is largely excellent as one can and should expect from almost any 4-star-and-above hotel in India. Staff are friendly, coureteous and very eager to please.
Rooms are beautiful - with warm lighting and furnishing + a large, comfy bed. The bathroom is well equipped but maybe a little bit small for my taste.

Food is good but not quite excellent. The breakfast buffet is not too badly priced @ USD 20 per person considering the general trend in prices in India, quality of food, range of choice and the ambience. I did some a-la-carte stuff at the sit-out snack bar (attached to the restaurant) but the food was expensive and mediocre. Not too sure but I reckon a dosa + beer costs around USD 20.

Unfortunately, this was a very brief business trip so I couldn't really soak up the hotel i.e. check out everything that was on offer.
I can't make up my mind whether the facilities / service / ambience were truly worth the USD 350 per night. That's why the average rating. If it was in the ballpark of USD 200, that would've made it Excellent.
It is a truly special hotel though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freyr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,416
    385
    64
    25
    33
See reviews for
216
204
138
1,196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A magical experience that greatly exceeded even our already high expectations. The Leela Palace was booked for us by the friend we were coming to visit for our first time ever to India. Since he is a native and a long time resident of Bangalore, we overrode our travel agent's recommendation of the Oberoi (and surrendered a Multi-night discount). Subsequently we have stayed at 3 Oberois in Delhi, Agra and Ranthanbhore - all excellent to unbelievable experiences- and we still recall The Leela with affection and know we will return there when next we visit Bangalore.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel and facilities are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The rooms are beautiful and perhaps the best in bangalore. the service impeccable.

the restaurants have wide menus and he service is excellent.

the spa is amazing and the shopping arcade has many good shops.

go for it !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anirudhvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful service all the way around. I've stayed here twice while in Bangalore on business, and it's the only place I'd want to stay in Bangalore.

The interiors are beautiful, the rooms more than comfortable, the pool is a great retreat (large enough for lap swimming). The gym is great and the yoga classes out by the pool at 6 am are a treat. Taking yoga early in the morning and following that with their spectacular Indian breakfast (plus other cuisines) is a great way to start the day in Bangalore.

You'd have to work hard to be unhappy here, but don't because you'd spoil it for the rest of the guests who are loving this beautiful hotel with truly gracious and capable staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Ok so I only stay at two places in India and this is one of them, get the new wing on a high floor and your going to be happy, you might get lost but you will certainly be comfortable and well cared for. Rooms are great, beds are clean and nice to sleep in very luxurious. The little extras are also welcome the bottled water and fruits are great little snacks and very helpful...

Room Tip: Like I said get a room in the new wing and the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdkk_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel is literally an oasis in the middle of Bangalore with a central garden grassy courtyard. The hotel's lobby and ground floor are magnificent with marble and muted lighting with flowers aplenty. Staff is very attentive and the hotel restaurants are good, but the menus are a bit modest. The pool is very nice and while there are no lane-markers, you can swim laps easily. Likewise the gym is well appointed and there is a 6:30AM yoga class most mornings.

Overall excellent hotel. Travel time from the airport off-hours is 45-60 minutes; it could easily be much worse during the day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Definitely on the expensive side but the company was paying, so.....
The restaurants are fantastic especially Jamavar. The food is one of the best that i've ever had . That's something coming from an Indian reviewing Indian food. I had both south Indian & north Indian food. The meat dishes, the meat is so succulent with a rich spicy blend to it. The decorum is real cool, i definitively prefer the outside seating with all those fauna & foliage around you.
The bar, called the Library, is also very cosy, with deep leather seats that you can sink into. Lots of grandeur at the same time with a laid back look to it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Hendrian, General Manager at The Leela Palace Bengaluru, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It’s good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Leela Bangalore.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace Bangalore to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Andrew Hendrian
General Manager
The Leela Palace Bangalore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Ulsoor
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
The Oberoi, Bengaluru
#1 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,929 reviews
Richmond Town
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
The Ritz-Carlton, Bangalore
#10 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,222 reviews
The Taj West End
#13 of 665 in Bengaluru
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Town
JW Marriott Hotel Bengaluru
Vasanth Nagar
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
Shangri-La Hotel Bengaluru
#16 of 665 in Bengaluru
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Bengaluru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Bengaluru

Property: The Leela Palace Bengaluru
Address: #23 HAL Airport Road, Bengaluru 560008, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bangalore District > Bengaluru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bengaluru
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bengaluru
#8 Business Hotel in Bengaluru
#9 Family Hotel in Bengaluru
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Bengaluru 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Palace Bengaluru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Bangalore Hotel Bangalore
Leela Palace Bangalore
Hotel Leela Bangalore
Leela Palace Hotel Bangalore
Leela Hotel Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing